Street-Art in La Paz, Mexico - Murals and Sculptures

Street-Art in La Paz, Mexiko - Murals und Skulpturen vom Feinsten.
Street-Art in La Paz, Mexico - Murals and Sculptures. "Cambiando" from Hellcat

Mexico. The colourful city of La Paz in Mexico invites you to explore. One of them starts directly at the Malecón, the magnificent waterfront promenade. A tour that holds some surprises in store: Street-art at its best. Murals and sculptures of whales, sharks and sea lions, a mermaid, the famous oceanographer Jacques Yves Cousteau and much more. They remind you of the history of the city and want to open your eyes for the beauty of the nature of Baja California. And they call for the protection of the seas. In my following article you will learn more about street art in La Paz, Mexico. You will get to know some of my favorite murals and sculptures and learn where you can discover them.


Nature connects

I knew the Baja California was famous for whale watching. But the fact that I got to see a blue whale took me by surprise. I have trouble capturing this huge animal with my camera. Luckily he holds still and I have a second try. Just in time I press the shutter release, then a red car slides between my camera and the whale.

The artist Dagos Art incorporates in his work elements such as flora, fauna and traditions characteristic of La Paz. He depicts these in ornaments inside the whale. He also divides the mural into two parts, the visible and invisible under water.

There are more whales in La Paz. They are joined by sea lions, sharks, dolphins and coyotes. The murals bring the fauna and flora of Baja California to the city. They want to connect people - among each other and with nature. They also want to shake people up, point out grievances and motivate them to be more environmentally aware.

A City becomes colorful - the Beginnings of Street Art in La Paz

It all began in 2013 in the Ignacio Zaragoza around the Big Sur Café. This is where the first murals of La Paz, Mexico, were created. An artist from Mexico City called the first street art competition. Thereupon several paintings were created in the Ignacio Zaragoza. In some of them several artists worked together. So it happens that some murals combine different styles.

This is where it all began. On the walls of the Big Sur Café in Ignacio Zaragoza a painting of an old woman's face with a hat was created in 2013. It was a joint project of several artists.

This elephant in the Ignacio Zaragoza was also created as a joint project. If you take a closer look, you will discover several faces, eyes and even a pregnant woman lying down in the elephant. In addition, the elephant holds a brush with its trunk. It is almost as if he had painted with it himself.

The Street-Art Project "Mural City La Paz"

In 2017 the artist collective Tomato Collective launched the project "Mural City La Paz". The historical center of La Paz became colorful. Inspired by the nature of the Baja California, 26 works of art were created. Artists and the people who live here painted together and created creative messages that call the value of nature to mind.

  • 26 Artists
  • 20 Volunteers
  • 5 Workshops
  • 26 Families
  • 26 Murals
  • 1350 Square Meters
    Source: colectivo tomate

You can see about 50 murals in the city centre alone. Many works of art can be found in the streets Ignacio Zaragoza, A. Mijares, Melchor Ocampo, Mutualismo. On some murals there are even small signs with the name of the artist, the painting and a short description. You can discover the murals in La Paz on your own. But I liked a guided tour much better. By this way, one gets to know the most about the paintings and the interesting stories they tell.

Street-Art in the Street A. Mijares, La Paz

The mural "Convergencia Armonica" by Dherzu Uzala is inspired by the flora and fauna of La Palz. It shows the contrast that nature unites in one place: the desert and the sea. For Dherzu Uzala, the whale represents a peaceful, noble and magical being. At the same time, however, it is powerful and imposing. These characteristics describe the personality of the inhabitants of la Paz.

Beach, turquoise water, sea lions, birds and the sunsets over the bay of La Paz inspired Fando Criez to create this mural.

The painting by Eva Bracamonts shows two children in the centre of the picture. They hold a baby sea lion in their arms and a pearl shell in their hands. The fauna and flora of the Baja California grows around them. Everything is carried by a large turtle. In her work, the artist emphasizes the need to protect and preserve nature. Among other things, reference is made to the campaign for the protection of parrotfish, which was running at the time.

In the centre of the painting "The hook of yesterday and today" there is a fish, two hands and a hook. The fish represents the importance of fishing. The hook combines the left and the right side, representing the local and Iberian culture respectively. In the background you can see the fauna of Baja Califonia.

Street-Art in the Street Mutualismo, La Paz

The fishing is a basic activity of the inhabitants of La Paz. It does not only provide the people with food but it determines the whole economy and culture. The artist shows in her painting the "Reconcilacion", which means the reconciliation of the fishermen with the sea. Because they have learned to live in harmony with each other. The woman depicts the sea, her hair floating as if in the water. The water and dolphins are reflected on her skin. In the background you can see the architecture of La Paz.

"A good fisherman's conscience" is about fishing and living. In the past, the fishermen of the Manglito community benefited from poaching. However, through better communication and organization of the fishery, an awareness for the protection of species developed. A candle of recognition shines on the fisherman's baseball cap. He recognizes the threat to nature and denounces the pearl fishermen. The blue ribbon around his neck is holding one of the fishing boats, because he wants to prevent all boats from leaving. The white figures at the bottom of the picture were painted by children.

The mural is inspired by the flora and fauna and the beauty of a region threatened by poaching. The hammerhead shark and the parrotfish, two species threatened by man, are representative. The parrotfish carries a pearl in its beak. Both animals remind us that many species are threatened with extinction and must be protected.

Hellcat shows the beauty of small details in several smaller works.

Street-Art in the Street Lerdo de Tejada, La Paz

The painting "One with the Sea" focuses on the natives of Baja California, the Pericue and Guaycura ethnic groups. It shows the bond, love and respect between the Native Americans and the sea. This is shown by the pearl bracelet and the orange "heart fish" that swims towards the protectively folded hands.

In his painting, Amyra Morales represents the surprise and fascination that one experiences by diving into the wonderful underwater world of La Paz.

A tropical-looking painting in which the heads of the fishermen become fruits. Among other things, the painting tells the anecdote of the pitaya (dragon fruit). Once the seeds have passed through the digestive tract, they are used to make a paste that is the basis for a traditional drink.

The artist Argeo shows in his painting La Pesca a chaotic world that is out of balance.

Street-Art in other Streets in La Paz

Values, community and family strengthen the peaceful community in La Paz. Driven by concern over the loss of values and thus identity, Leo Monzoy emphasizes the importance of each family member: the father with his lance as the provider of the family, the mother who maintains the family bond and the child as the representative of future generations. What I find remarkable about this image is that the child alone has opened the eyes.

The painting of Uli Martínez is inspired by the flora and fauna of Baja California, the desert, the Sea of Cortez and traditional rancherias. Coyote Mágico shows the relationship between the environment and its inhabitants.

Sculptures at the Malecón in La Paz, Mexico

The Malecòn is popular with locals and tourists alike. On the approximately five kilometres long boardwalk, people jog, chat and take pictures. The probably most popular photo motive is the colourful writing "La Paz", in English "peace".

Approximately every 100 meters the Malecón widens up to small places. They are decorated with sculptures. Many of them are dedicated to the sea or tell the history of the city, like the huge pearl shell next to the Muelle Fiscal.

The famous French marine explorer Jacques Yves Cousteau is also a frequent visitor. Equipped with a diving mask, bottle and camera, he has been sitting on the shore looking out to sea since 2012. He is probably on the lookout for grey whales. They come to the Baja California every year to give birth to their young. But today he sees only five oil tankers anchored in the bay of La Paz. For many years Cousteau researched and documented the Sea of Cortez and called it the "aquarium of the world".

In the following you can see a small selection of the statues at the Malecón. There are many more to discover.


Have you ever been to La Paz? Which artwork do you like best? I am happy about your comments.


Recommendations for further Reading

Streetart in Kiew

Do you love street art as much as I do? Then take a look at Street Art in Kiev .

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Street-Art in La Paz, Mexiko – Murals und Skulpturen vom Feinsten

Street-Art in La Paz, Mexiko - Murals und Skulpturen vom Feinsten.
Street-Art in La Paz, Mexiko - Murals und Skulpturen vom Feinsten. "Cambiando" von Hellcat

Mexiko. Die bunte Stadt La Paz in Mexiko läd zu Entdeckungstouren ein. Eine davon beginnt direkt am Malecón, der prachtvollen Uferpromenade. Eine Tour, die einige Überaschungen bereit hält: Street-Art vom Feinsten. Murals und Skulpturen von Walen, Haien und Seelöwen, einer Meerjungfrau, dem berühmten Meeresforscher Jacques Yves Cousteau und vielem mehr. Sie erinnern an die Geschichte der Stadt und wollen die Augen öffnen für die Schönheit der Natur der Baja California. Und sie rufen zum Schutz der Meere auf. In meinem folgenden Artikel erfahrt ihr mehr über die Street-Art in La Paz, Mexiko. Ihr lernt ein paar von meinen liebsten Murals und Skulpturen kennen und erfahrt, wo ihr diese entdecken könnt.


Natur verbindet

Dass die Baja California berühmt ist für Whale-Watching, wusste ich. Aber dass ich einen Blauwal zu sehen bekomme, hat mich doch überrascht. Ich habe Mühe, das riesige Tier mit meiner Kamera einzufangen. Zum Glück hält er still und ich habe noch einen zweiten Versuch. Grade noch rechtzeitig drücke ich auf den Auslöser, dann schiebt sich ein rotes Auto zwischen meine Kamera und den Wal.

Der Künstler Dagos Art bezieht in seine Arbeit Elemente wie Flora, Fauna sowie für La Paz charakteristische Traditionen ein. Diese stellt er in Ornamenten im Innerern des Wals dar. Außerdem teilt er das Wandgemälde ein zwei Teile, nämlich das Sichtbare und Unsichtbare unter Wasser.

Es gibt noch mehr Wale in La Paz. Dazu gesellen sich Seelöwen, Haie, Delphine und Kojoten. Die Wandgemälde bringen Fauna und Flora der Baja California in die Stadt. Sie wollen die Menschen verbinden – untereinander und mit der Natur. Außerdem wollen sie wachrütteln, Mißstände aufzeugen und zu mehr Umweltbewußtsein motivieren.

Eine Stadt wird bunt – Anfänge der Street-Art in La Paz

Alles fing im Jahr 2013 in der Ignacio Zaragoza rund um das Big Sur Café an. Hier entstanden die ersten Murals von La Paz, Mexiko. Ein Künstler aus Mexiko-Stadt rief den ersten Street-Art Wettbewerb aus. Daraufhin entstanden mehrere Gemälde in der Ignacio Zaragoza. An manchen arbeiteten mehrere Künstler zusammen. So kommt es, dass manche Murals verschiedene Stile in sich vereinen.

Hier begann alles. An den Wänden des Big Sur Café in der Ignacio Zaragoza entstand 2013 das Gemälde vom Gesicht einer alten Frau mit Hut. Es war ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt mehrerer Künstler.

Auch dieser Elefant in der Ignacio Zaragoza ist als Gemeinschaftsprojekt entstanden. Wenn ihr genauer hin seht, entdeckt ihr in dem Elefanten mehrere Gesichter, Augen und sogar eine liegende schwangere Frau. Außerdem hält der Elefant mit seinem Rüssel einen Pinsel. Fast so, als hätte er selber mit gemalt.

Das Street-Art Projekt „Mural City La Paz“

Im Jahr 2017 startete schließlich das Künstlerkollektiv Tomato Collective das Projekt „Mural City La Paz“. Das historische Zentrum von La Paz wurde bunt. Inspiriert von der Natur der Baja California entstanden 26 Kunstwerke. Künstler und die Menschen, die hier leben, malten zusammen und erschufen kreative Botschaften, die den Wert der Natur vor Augen rufen.

  • 26 Künstlerinnen und Künstler
  • 20 Volunteure
  • 5 Workshops
  • 26 Familien
  • 26 Murals
  • 1350 Quadratmeter
    Quelle: colectivo tomate

Ihr könnt etwa 50 Murals alleine in der Innenstadt ansehen. Viele Kunstwerke findet ihr in den Straßen Ignacio Zaragoza, A. Mijares, Melchor Ocampo, Mutualismo An manchen Murals hängen sogar kleine Schilder mit dem Namen des Künstlers, des Gemäldes sowie einer kurzen Beschreibung. Ihr könnt die Murals in La Paz auf eigene Faust entdecken. Viel besser fand ich aber eine geführte Tour. Denn so erfährt man am meisten über die Gemälde und die interessanten Geschichten, die sie erzählen.

Street-Art in der Straße A. Mijares, La Paz

Das Gemälde Convergencia Armonica von Dherzu Uzala ist von der Flora und Fauna von La Palz inspiriert. Es zeigt den Kontrast, den die Natur an einem Ort vereint: die Wüste und das Meer. Für Dherzu Uzala stellt der Wal ein friedliches, edles und magisches Wesen dar. Gleichzeitig ist er jedoch kraftvoll und imposant. Diese Eigenschaften beschreiben die Persönlichkeit der Bewohner von la Paz.

Strand, türkisfarbenes Wasser, Seelöwen, Vögel sowie die Sonnenuntergänge über der Bucht von La Paz inspirierten Fando Criez zu diesem Mural.

Das Gemälde von Eva Bracamonts zeigt zwei Kinder im Mittelpunkt des Bildes. Sie halten ein Seelöwenbaby im Arm und eine Perlenmuschel in der Hand. Um sie herum wächst die Fauna und Flora der Baja California. Getragen wird alles von einer großen Schildkröte. Die Künstlerin betont in ihrem Werk die Notwendigkeit, die Natur zu schützen und zu erhalten. Unter anderem wird auf die damals laufende Kampagne zum Schutz der Papageienfische Bezug genommen.

In dem Zentrum des Gemäldes „Der Haken von gestern und heute“ stehen ein Fisch, zwei Hände und ein Haken. Der Fisch stellt die Bedeutung der Fischerei dar. Der Haken vereint die linke und die rechte Seite, welche die einheimische bzw. die iberische Kultur repräsentieren. Im Hintergrund ist die Fauna der Baja Califonia zu erkennen.

Street-Art in der Straße Mutualismo, La Paz

Der Fischfang ist eine grundlegende Tätigkeit der Einwohner von La Paz. Er versorgt die Menschen nicht nur mit Nahrung sondern er bestimmt die gesamte Wirtschaft und Kultur. Die Künstlerin zeigt in ihrem Gemälde die „Reconcilacion“, also die Versöhnung Versöhnung der Fischer mit dem Meer. Denn sie haben gelernt, in Harmonie miteinander zu lenben. Die Frau stellt das Meer dar, ihre Haare schweben, als wären sie im Wasser. Auf ihrer Haut spiegeln sich das Wasser und Delfine. Im Hintergrund ist die Architektur von La Paz zu erkennen.

„Das Gewissen eines guten Fischers“ handelt vom Fischfang und Leben. Früher haben die Fischer der Manglito-Gemeinde von der Wilderei profitiert. Durch bessere Kommunikation und Organisation der Fischerei entwickelte sich jedoch ein Bewusstsein für den Artenschutz. Auf dem Basecap des Fischers leuchtet eine Kerze des Erkennens. Er erkennt die Bedrohung der Natur und prangert die Perlenfischer an. Das blaue Band um seinen Hals hält eines der Fischerboote fest, denn er will verhindern, dass alle Boote auslaufen. Die weißen Figuren am unteren Rand des Bildes haben Kinder gemalt.

Das Wandgemälde ist inspiriert von der Flora und Fauna sowie von der Schönheit einer Region, die durch Wilderei bedroht ist. Stellvertretend stehen der Hammerhai und der Papageienfisch, zwei Arten, die durch den Menschen gefährdet sind. Der Papageienfisch trägt eine Perle im Schnabel. Beide Tiere erinnern daran, dass viele Arten vom Aussterben bedroht sind und geschützt werden müssen.

Hellcat zeigt in mehreren kleineren Werken die Schönheit der kleinen Details.

Street-Art in der Straße Lerdo de Tejada, La Paz

Das Gemälde „Einer mit dem Meer“ stellt die Ureinwohner der Baja California in den Mittelpunkt, die Pericue- und Guaycura-Ethnien. Es zeigt die Verbundenheit, Liebe und Respekt zwischen den Ureinwohnern und dem Meer. Dies wird durch das Perlenarmband und den orangefarbenen „Herzfisch“ gezeigt, der auf die schützend gefalteten Hände zuschwimmt.

Amyra Morales stellt in seinem Bild die Überraschung und Faszination dar, die man beim Eintauchen in die wunderbare Unterwasserwelt von La Paz erlebt.

Ein tropisch wirkendes Gemälde, in dem die Köpfe der Fischer zu Früchten werden. Das Bild erzählt unter anderem die Anekdote der Pitaya Fucht (Drachenfrucht). Sobald die Samen den Verdauungstrakt durchlaufen haben, wird aus ihnen eine Paste hergestellt, die Grundlage für ein traditionelles Getränk ist.

Der Künstler Argeo zeigt in seinem Bild La Pesca eine chaotische Welt, die ausser Balance ist.

Street-Art in weiteren Straßen in La Paz

Werte, Gemeinschaft und Familie stärken die friedliche Gemeinschaft in La Paz dar. Veranlasst durch die Sorge über den Verlust von Werten und damit von Identität, hebt Leo Monzoy die Bedeutung jedes einzelnen Familienmitglieds hervor: den Vater mit seiner Lanze als Versorger der Familie, die Mutter, die den Familienverband aufrecht hält und das Kind als Vertreter der zukünftigen Generationen. Bemerkenswert an diesem Bild finde ich, dass alleine das Kind die Augen geöffnet hat.

Das Gemälde von Uli Martínez ist inspiriert von der Flora und Fauna der Baja California, der Wüste, der Sea of Cortez und den traditionellen Rancherias. Coyote Mágico zeigt die Beziehung zwischen der Umwelt und seinen Bewohnern.

Skulpturen am Malecón in La Paz, Mexiko

Der Malecòn ist bei Einheimischen und Touristen gleichermaßen beliebt. Auf der etwa fünf Kilometer langen Uferpromenade wird gejoggt, gequatscht und fotografiert. Das wohl beliebteste Fotomotiv ist der bunte Schriftzug „La Paz“, zu deutsch „der Frieden“.

Etwa alle 100 Meter weitet sich der Malecón zu kleinen Plätzen auf. Sie sind mit Skulpturen geschmückt. Viele von ihnen sind dem Meer gewidmet oder erzählen die Geschichte der Stadt, wie beispielsweise die riesige Perlenmuschel neben der Muelle Fiscal.

Häufig besucht wird auch der berühmte französische Meeresforscher Jacques Yves Cousteau. Ausgerüstet mit Tauchermaske, -flasche und Kamera sitzt er seit 2012 am Ufer und schaut aufs Meer hinaus. Womöglich hält er nach Grauwalen Ausschau. Diese kommen jedes Jahr in die Baja California, um ihre Jungen zu gebären. Doch heute sieht er nur fünf Öltanker, die in der Bucht von La Paz vor Anker liegen. Cousteau erforschte und dokumentierte viele Jahre lang die Sea of Cortez und nannte sie das „Aquarium der Welt“.

Im Folgenden seht ihr eine kleine Auswahl der Statuen am Malecón. Es gibt noch viele mehr zu entdecken.


Wart ihr schon einmal in La Paz? Welche Kunstwerke gefallen euch am besten? Ich freue mich über eure Kommentare.


Empfehlungen zum Weiterlesen

Streetart in Kiew

Liebt ihr Street-Art genauso sehr wie ich? Dann schaut euch doch mal die Street-Art in Kiew an.

HINTERLASSEN SIE EINE ANTWORT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here