About

So nice to have you stop by! I am Mareike. Traveler with permanent wanderlust, discoverer of big and small treasures of our world, nature lover, outdoor enthusiast and passionate photographer. Always on the search for new experiences and motives. Welcome to my travel blog!

Isla Martillo, Argentina. Photo: Tour guide. Note: a minimum distance of 5 meters should be kept from penguins. This little guy came up to me as I was squatting on my knees taking pictures.

But honestly: My blog is about much more than just travel. It's about discovering our world, falling in love with it, and protecting it. It is our only world - and it is unique. Not only the big things and far journeys, but also the small things that you have to look for a bit first. In my travel blog, I tell you about my travel experiences and discoveries and share ideas with you. In addition to tips for travel, nature experiences and animal observations, you will also find in my blog suggestions on how you can capture your travel impressions in your pictures. Travel and photography - two things that are closely linked for me and influence each other.


This is me

I love travelling and I'm always open for new things. Each trip is unique and incomparable to me, and I return home a little bit more rich each time. Rich in impressions, rich in confirmed confidence in life, the helpfulness of people and also in my talent for improvisation. Whether a weekend trip to the surrounding area or a long-distance trip to another continent. With open eyes, ears and hearts you can experience unforgettable moments everywhere, let yourself be moved by nature experiences, meeting people and filling your own inner treasure chest. Before each trip, I always deal intensively with my goal. I feel how doors open in my inner self and open up new paths. And I also feel how I arrive more and more at my own, with each singel journey.

Viewpoint overlooking Mt. Everest, Tibet. Photo: James Highfill

One half of my heart beats especially for the cold regions of the earth, to which I have feverishly fallen in love since my first trip to Greenland. The second half of my heart beats for Eastern Europe and the former Soviet states.


Photography and mindfulness when traveling

My camera has become an important part of me in recent years and accompanies me on all my travels. Although many say that one does not notice anything of the actual experience by looking too much through the viewfinder. But I think that the opposite is true for me. My camera has taught me to see my surroundings with more open eyes, to discover details, and to look for unusual things. But I also often discover how wonderful even the everyday is. It always gives me the feeling that my camera brings me closer to the moment and helps me to walk more mindfully through the world.

At my favorite activity: Taking pictures in Greenland. Photo: Dr. Till Pasquay

And then there's something else....

My new photo website. It's far from finished, but a start has been made. How is my new website different from Fernweh-Motive? Quite simple: It's all about photography, nature and conservation. There will also be a small store where you can buy calendars, pictures and licenses. On Fernweh-Motive you can still read travel reports and get tips and inspiration for nature-loving individual travel, camping, road trips and more.


And what else I love so much?

A whole lot. I get inspired quickly and I'm always there when it comes to trying something new.

  • Riding, especially on Icelandic horses, as well as trail rides with a tent in the saddlebags.
  • Lost Places and exploring dark corners with a flashlight in my hand.
  • Camping, because no matter what the weather is, in the tent it is always cozy.
  • Being outdoors in any season.
  • High mountains, passes and peaks over 4,000 meters ... even if I ask myself every time again why I do this to myself ;-)
  • Paddling, preferably several days in a row.
  • Diving and snorkeling, also in the cool and dark German lakes. The feeling of being weightless is simply addictive and it's a wonderful way for me to switch off.
  • Overlanding. Just drive off and then look for a nice place to sleep. The matching motorhome is an Iveco 40/10 built in 1989 with the name "Arwak".

Contact

mareike@fernwehmotive.de

Mein Blog und ich

Hi, ich bin Mareike Schadach. Reisende mit permanentem Fernweh, Entdeckerin von großen und kleinen Schätzen unserer Welt und leidenschaftliche Fotografin. Immer auf der Suche nach neuen Erfahrungen und Motiven. Willkommen auf meinem Reise- und Fotoblog!

Doch ehrlich: Es geht in meinem Blog um viel mehr als nur Reisen und Fotografie. Es geht darum, unsere Welt zu entdecken, sich in sie zu verlieben und sie zu beschützen. Es ist unsere einzige Welt – und sie ist einzigartig. Nicht nur die großen Dinge und weiten Reisen, sondern auch die kleinen Dinge, die man erst ein bisschen suchen muss. In meinem Reiseblog möchte ich euch deshalb von meinen Reiseerlebnissen und Entdeckungen berichten und Ideen mit euch teilen. Neben Tipps für Reisen, Naturerlebnisse und Tierbeobachtungen findet ihr in meinem Blog auch immer wieder Anregungen, wie ihr eure Reiseeindrücke in euren Bildern festhalten könnt. Reisen und Fotografie – zwei Dinge, die für mich eng miteinander verbunden sind und sich gegenseitig beeinflussen.

Das bin ich

Reiselustig und immer offen für Neues. Jede Reise ist für mich einzigartig und unvergleichbar und ich kehre jedes Mal ein kleines bisschen reicher nach Hause zurück. Reich an Eindrücken, reich durch bestärktes Vertrauen in das Leben, die Hilfsbereitschaft der Menschen und auch in mein Improvisationstalent. Egal ob nun ein Wochenendausflug in die nähere Umgebung oder eine Fernreise auf einen anderen Kontinent. Mit offenen Augen, Ohren und Herzen kann man überall unvergessliche Momente erleben, sich bewegen lassen von Naturerlebnissen, Begegnungen mit anderen Menschen und sein eigenes inneres Schatzkästchen füllen. Vor jeder Reise setze ich mich immer intensiv mit meinem Ziel auseinander. Ich spüre, wie sich dabei Türen in meinem Inneren öffnen, sich neue Wege erschließen und ich Reise für Reise immer mehr bei mir selbst ankomme.

Dabei schlägt die eine Hälfte meines Herzens vor allem für die kalten Regionen der Erde, denen ich seit meiner ersten Reise nach Grönland fieberhaft verfallen bin. Die zweite Hälfte meines Herzens schlägt hingegen für Osteuropa und die ehemaligen Sowjetstaaten.

Fotografie und Achtsamkeit auf Reisen

Meine Kamera ist in den letzten Jahren ein wichtiger Teil von mir geworden und begleitet mich auf all meinen Reisen. Viele sagen zwar, dass man durch zu viel Fotografieren nichts mehr von dem eigentlichen Erlebnis mitbekommt. Ich denke aber, bei mir ist eher das Gegenteil zutreffend. Meine Kamera hat mich gelehrt, meine Umgebung mit offeneren Augen zu sehen, Details zu entdecken und nach ungewöhnlichem Ausschau zu halten. Wobei ich auch oft entdecke, wie wunderbar auch gerade das Alltägliche ist. Dabei habe ich stets das Gefühl, meine Kamera bringt mich näher an den Moment dran und hilft mir, achtsamer durch die Welt zu gehen.

Und was ich sonst noch so liebe?

Eine ganze Menge. Ich lasse mich schnell begeistern und bin immer dabei, wenn es darum geht, etwas Neues auszuprobieren.

  • Reiten, insbesondere auf Islandpferden sowie Wanderritte mit Zelt und Satteltaschen in fernen Ländern.
  • Lost Places und mit der Taschenlampe dunkle Ecken zu erforschen.
  • Zelten, denn egal wie das Wetter ist, im Zelt ist es immer gemütlich.
  • Die Natur, zu jeder Jahreszeit.
  • Paddeln, am liebsten gleich mehrere Tage lang mit Zelt und Proviant.
  • Tauchen und Schnorcheln, gerne auch in den kühlen und dunkleren deutschen Seen. Das Gefühl schwerelos zu sein macht einfach süchtig und es ist für mich eine wunderbare Art abzuschalten.
  • Overlanding. Einfach losfahren und dann einen schönen Schlafplatz suchen. Das passende Reisemobil dazu ist ein Iveco 40/10 Baujahr 1989.

Kontakt

mareike@fernwehmotive.de