With the Lhasa Railway to Tibet - Tips for your Trip

Mit der Lhasabahn aufs Dach der Welt
On the roof of the world with the Lhasa Railway

China – Tibet. Taking the train to Lhasa is both an adventure and a lot of fun. If you want to experience the Chinese and Tibetan culture intensively, can do without private sphere and a shower for some time, I can warmly recommend you a train ride with the Lhasa railway to the roof of the world. The route is simply breathtaking. And not only because of the average height of 4.000 m. The vastness of the landscape brings your mind to rest, while snow-capped peaks, rivers and lakes regularly crowd the windows. In my following article you will learn all my tips for your trip with the Lhasa Railway to Tibet.

Non-solicited, unpaid advertising. This article contains affiliate links*, marked with an asterisk.


Table of Contents and Quick Navigation

To get in the Mood for the Train Journey to Tibet
Slow Travel - a great Way to Travel
The Route of the Lhasa Railway to the Roof of the World
From Xining to Lhasa - A few Pictures
Ticket Classes and Prices of the Lhasa Railway
Tips for your Ticket Purchase for the Lhasa Railway
Pick-up of Tickets at the Train Station
Tips for the Organization of Luggage in the Lhasa Railway
Orientation at Xining Station
How to find your Carriage and your Bed
Where to put the Luggage?
Equipment in the Hard Sleeper Class
Altitude Sickness
The physical Well-Being
Tips for the Packing List for the Lhasa Railway
Arrival in Lhasa

To get in the Mood for the Train Journey to Tibet

My earpax is penetrated by a pimped rumble. I feel the vibration of the wheels and the unevenness of the tracks. From the corridor light shines into our dark cabin. I roll to my other side, carefully not to fall out of the narrow top bed. A glance at the altimeter lets me breathe a sigh of relief. After four hours driving time, it is 23:30 we are again under 3,000 m. Finally I fall asleep.

When I wake up in the morning we are at 4.200 m. I look into a hilly landscape covered with icing sugar. On the horizon there are higher mountains with snow-covered peaks. From time to time I can spot wild donkeys, Tibetan antelopes or yaks, sometimes also a nomad hut. Again and again there are small houses of track marshals along the parallel road and now and then we pass a settlement. I am looking forward to the day in the train that lies ahead of me.

Zugstrecke nach Lhasa
You can often see grazing yaks along the way to Lhasa

Slow Travel - a great Way to Travel

Travelling by train produces less carbon dioxide than travelling by plane. That alone is reason enough to travel more often by train. But there are even more advantages over travelling by plane. Because one approaches a new country or a new culture more slowly and has more time to perceive the changes more consciously.

With Slow Travel, I feel less foreign and more connected to my destination and the people who live there. So somehow more like a traveller than someone who just consumes. In addition, a train journey like this trains one's own travel skills, self-confidence and openness. And a long-distance train ride always has the potential for great travel stories.

Lhasabahn
Slow Travel with the Lhasa Railway to the Roof of the World

The Route of the Lhasa Railway to the Roof of the World

There are several railway lines that go to Lhasa. However, most travellers take the train from Xining in Qinghai Province to Lhasa. This is the shortest train journey to Tibet with only one night on the train. The route also has the most beautiful landscapes to offer. The train even runs five times a day and takes about 21 hours to cover the distance of 1,956 km. If you want to travel longer by train, you can choose the longer route from Beijing to Lhasa . However, here the train only travels once a day and it is therefore more difficult to get a ticket.

We chose Xining as the departure station because we were more flexible in our choice of departure time. Because if you leave Xining in the evening, then you will drive through the most beautiful landscape in daylight. If you start from Beijing, you have no choice in this respect and the most beautiful landscape you will experience only in the dark.

Xining also has a lot to offer. And if you spend a few days in Xining at an altitude of 2,200 m and maybe go on a day trip to Qinghai Lake at 3,200 m, you'll already have quite a good altitude adjustment.


From Xining to Lhasa - A few Pictures

The drive takes us past Cona Lake in the afternoon. This is a holy lake for the Tibetans and also one of the highest freshwater reservoirs. On the shore of the lake black-necked cranes fly up, geese and ducks look for food in the water, seagulls fly just above the water or clean their plumage on the shore.

Along the way there are countless small police stations. Each of them carries a Chinese flag. As soon as we drive past, the police stations come out in their yellow warning vests and salute.

Streckenposten Lhasabahn
Track marshal along the Lhasabahn with basketball court
Streckenposten Lhasabahn
One of countless track marshals along the Lhasa Railway

We pass small settlements. Small one-storey stone houses, white, the roof decorated with colourful prayer flags. Around the houses there is a walled courtyard, next to it there is a second courtyard with shelters for the cattle. The paths are unpaved, at the roadsides there are mopeds and older cars. Around noon we see more and more yaks and sheep on the grazing grounds next to the railway line. It is lunchtime, almost everyone touches his instant noodles in the colorful plastic packaging. In the wagon there is a pleasurable smacking and burping from all directions.


Ticket Classes and Prices of the Lhasa Railway

There are three different classes in the Lhasa Railway. The following prices apply to a single ticket from Xining to Lhasa in the summer season.

  • The Soft Sleeper class (1st class) with 4 beds per cabin. Here it is more comfortable than in the Hard Sleeper class, there are doors for more privacy and tranquility. Tickets are available for about 105 Euro.
  • The Hard Sleeper class (2nd class) is much cheaper at 67 Euros. Each cabin has 6 beds. Since many locals travel in the Hard Sleeper cabins, you are less touristy.
  • With a price of 29 Euros, the Hard Seats are the cheapest way to travel to Lhasa, but with zero comfort.

Tips for your Ticket Purchase for the Lhasa Railway

Even the purchase of a ticket for the Lhasa Railway was a small adventure in itself. The ticket purchase demanded flexibility, quick rethinking and action from us. And before we knew it, we had our first change in the itinerary even before the trip started.

It is a bit different than in Germany. You can reserve your desired tickets 60 days before the scheduled departure date at trip.com .But you can't buy them yet. About four weeks before the trip you will be notified by trip.com if your reservation was successful and the tickets will be issued. If you're lucky, you'll get the tickets. If not, you will now have the opportunity to choose another train or class. And now you have to be fast, because the denn die trains are fully booked in no time. You can literally watch it happen.

The booking system randomly allocates the beds. It tries to occupy neighbouring beds, but unfortunately you can't influence anything. Likewise, you have no influence on whether you get a lower, middle or upper bed. If you are more than one person, it can also happen that your beds are in different wagons when you book. If you are not satisfied with the number of beds allocated, try your luck with another booking and then cancel the first one.

We had no luck with our reservation and did not get our desired tickets in the Soft Sleeper class. Only the third booking made us proud owners of two tickets for adjacent beds in the Hard Sleeper class, but on the train two days later. We were quite happy that our itinerary had so much room for rescheduling.


Finally time to read again! Here I have a few tips for suitable travel reading* for you. Maybe you also want to listen to an audiobook in the Audible trial subscription*? Then you can listen while your eyes wander over the vast plateau of Tibet.

Klicken Sie auf den unteren Button, um den Inhalt von rcm-eu.amazon-adsystem.com zu laden.

Inhalt laden


Pick-up of Tickets at the Train Station

But buying online is not enough. You must pick up your ticket at the station upon presentation of your passport, the pick-up number on your order at Trip.com and the Tibet Travel Permit. The Tibet Travel Permit is your ticket, so to speak. Nothing works without it. However, it can only be applied for by a local travel agency. We received it by e-mail only two days before the departure of the train, normally about seven to ten days before. In summer 2019 we should take six copies of the travel permit with us. We didn't have to hand in any of them, but we had to show them countless times.

Tibet Travel Permit
Tibet Travel Permit - nothing works without this permit

In Xining, the ticket collection point is located on the upper platform of the station, to the left of the main entrance. The entrance to the train station is only possible after presentation of a valid ticket. In the basement, below the station forecourt, there are several shops where you can buy provisions for the journey.


Tips for the Organization of Luggage in the Lhasa Railway

It is best to pack your luggage in several bags: Valuables in an extra bag, which you always carry with you, then a bag with the things you need on the train journey and have to open more often, as well as provisions. This will also reduce the risk of your large baggage appearing too large and having to be checked in. Our luggage was not weighed or remeasured. You are allowed 20 kg per person and the maximum overall dimensions are 160 cm. If you have more luggage, you must check it in. You should be at the station about two hours before departure. Your luggage will then be transported in the same train in the baggage carriage.


Orientation at Xining Station

Once you've passed through the security check at the main entrance, the next step is to find the right track . A large display shows all departures. The destinations are in Chinese only. But you can then assign the right track based on the departure times.

There is a huge waiting hall with enough seats, snacks, shops and a supermarket with a large selection of provisions and even filling stations for boiled water for your thermos flask.

For boarding you have to show your ticket, passport and travel permit.

Bahnhof Xining, China
The train station in Xining

How to find your Carriage and your Bed

You will find the number of the wagon and cabin on your booking confirmation and on your ticket. Here you can also see if you have the lower, middle or upper bed.

The number of the wagon is written on the ticket before the Chinese character 车, the number of the cabin before the character 号. You can tell which bed you have by the characters "上铺" for the upper bed, "中铺" for the middle bed, "下铺" for the lower bed.

Ticket für die Lhasabahn
The ticket for the Lhasa Railway from Xining to Lhasa

After boarding, the boarding personnel will distribute forms for completion. Everything was in Chinese and since nobody spoke English in our and the neighbouring cabins, we just looked helplessly at the characters. Later the wagon attendant brought us the forms of the "Passenger Health declaration" in English.

Passenger Health Declaration Lhasabahn, Lhasabahn Tipps
Form for the declaration of the health of the passengers in the Lhasabahn
Travel Instructions Lhasabahn Tipps
Plateau Travel Instructions

Where to put the Luggage?

In the Hard Sleeper class there are two ways to stow your luggage: Under the lower bed or on the luggage racks at the foot of the upper beds. You should always carry valuables with you. There is no lockable luggage storage. There is also a hook and a small net on each bed for storing smaller items.


Equipment in the Hard Sleeper Class

If you want to travel cheap and comfortable by train to Lhasa, the Hard Sleeper class is the right choice. The beds are not as hard as the name suggests. The name simply means that the mattress is thinner than the Soft Sleepers.

There are six beds in each cabin, three of which are arranged one above the other. The cabins are open towards the corridor, so there is no lockable door, no curtains and no privacy. Each bed is equipped with a mattress, blanket and pillow. The beds are with 60 cm x 180 cm slightly smaller than the Soft Sleepers but still as big as my sleeping mat. Only with the lower bed the distance to the ceiling is so high that you can sit comfortably on it and have a view through the window. I had the upper bed. It's not that easy to circle your way over the steps into the bed. Sitting is only possible with your head bent.

Hard Sleeper Klasse Lhasabahn
The seats in the Hard Sleeper class aisle are hotly contested

There is also a folding seat and a folding table per compartment in the corridor. Between the two lower beds there is a small table.

At 22 o'clock the light in the cabins is switched off, then it is night rest. Then only dimmed light from the hallway shines in. 

Sockets or USB charging points can be found in the corridor, but only one per cabin. Remember to take an adapter with you, possibly also a multiple plug. It's best to recharge all batteries completely before entering the train. WiFi is not available on trains.

In the Hard Sleeper class there are two hock toilets built in. Usually there is no toilet paper left, so take enough with you. Also at the end of the wagons you will find three open wash basins. You have to bring your own towels and soap.


Altitude Sickness

The Lhasa Railway runs on about 90 % of the line at an altitude of 4,000 m. In Xining it starts at 2200 m and crosses two passes over 5,000 m on its way to Lhasa (Fenghuo Pass at 5,010 m and Tanggula Pass at 5,220 m). After about 21 hours you will arrive in Lahsa at 3.650 m.

A height adjustment is not possible in such a short time. In order to prevent altitude sickness, oxygen is fed into the wagons via the air conditioning system. Nevertheless, you may feel the altitude. The first signs are headaches and tiredness. It helps to rest, drink a lot and breathe deeply. I didn't have any difficulties with the altitude adjustment myself, but I had already spent three nights in Xining at 2,200 m before.

Sauerstoffversorgung in der Lhasabahn, Lhasabahn Tipps
In case of an emergency there is an extra oxygen supply in the Lhasa Railway.

In addition there is an individual oxygen supply via a breathing tube at each bed, which has to be activated by the car attendant. From Golmund there are medical staff on the train who can be contacted if necessary.

Another effect of the height is the increase in UV radiation. The windows of the train are therefore all equipped with a UV filter. The dining car also has white curtains with a picture of the Lhasa train on a bridge.

Speisewagen der Lhasabahn
Stylish curtains in the dining car of the Lhasa Railway with train motif

The physical Well-Being

If it gets too cramped in the cabins, you don't have a window seat or you get hungry, you'll find the dining carriage in the middle of the train. Here you can sit and eat comfortably. Chinese and Tibetan dishes are offered, but the menu is only in Chinese. After a while there was a waitress who explained the menu to us with some English and took our order.

Menü im Speisewagen der Lhasabahn, Lhasabahn Tipps
Menu in the dining car of the Lhasabahn - something of everything
Gemüse in der Lhasabahn
I wouldn't have expected that for the life of me: Vegetable cultivation in the Lhasa Railway
Getränkewagen in der Lhasabahn, Lhasabahn Tipps
Drinks trolley in the Lhasabahn - here is something for everyone

In addition to the dining car, you can buy snacks, fruit and drinks on mobile cars that are pushed through the sleeping cars. But keep in mind that you pay a higher price for everything on the train. It's best to bring your own food. Since hot water is available on the train, you can make your own coffee, tea or instant noodles on the train at any time. If you order coffee in the dining car, you'll only get instant coffee, usually ready mixed with milk and sugar. You'll find the water stations at the end of the wagons. Here you can also fill your thermos jug with hot water. And remember: drinking a lot helps to adjust the height.


Tips for the Packing List for the Lhasa Railway

Here are a few tips on what you should take with you on the Lhasa Railway:

  • thermos flask
  • sleep specs
  • Ohropax made of wax (the foam rubber ones don't work so well in height)
  • Toilet paper
  • Soap and towel
  • Warm sweater
  • Charging cable for mobile phone, Powerbar if necessary
  • Adapter for the socket outlet
  • Music or audio books
  • book
  • camera
  • Helpful apps: Bing Translator (offline), Altimeter, Maps.me
  • water, tea bags, instant coffee, provisions if necessary

You can find the right travel backpack, mountain boots and everything else you might need on the road at Globetrotter*.


Arrival in Lhasa

At the end of the trip there was an announcement in English which made me smile again and again:

“…It’s now time to say good by, we cannot stop the time. We wish to stay with you forever. We wish you a good health and hope to see you next time…”

After the arrival of the Lhasa Railway on the roof of the world you have to go through a security check again. Passport holders will be taken to a separate building to the right of the exit. In our train there were about 13 people with passports. All other travellers were Chinese.

Welcome to Lhasa!


Book Recommendations for Tibet

You want to know where the journey goes? Then I can recommend these books* about Tibet.

You can order these books at Amazon with a click on the pictures. If you buy a product via one of these affiliate links, I get a small commission and you help me to keep filling Fernweh-Motive with interesting articles. The product will not be more expensive for you.


Have you ever ridden the Lhasa Railway yourself? How did you like it? Do you have any more questions about my article or any other tips for the ride on the Lhasabahn? If so, please write me a comment!

Do you want to know when there are new articles on my blog? Then follow me on Facebook, Pinterest or Instagram. I would also be very happy if you share my article with your friends.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin


Recommendations for further Reading

back to the table of contents

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Mit der Lhasabahn nach Tibet – Tipps für eure Reise

Mit der Lhasabahn aufs Dach der Welt
Mit der Lhasabahn aufs Dach der Welt

China – Tibet. Mit dem Zug nach Lhasa zu fahren ist ein Abenteuer und ein riesen Spass zugleich. Wenn ihr die chinesische und tibetische Kultur intensiv erleben wollt, für einige Zeit auf Privatssphäte und eine Dusche verzichten könnt, kann ich euch eine Zugfahrt mit der Lhasabahn aufs Dach der Welt wärmstens empfehlen. Die Strecke ist einfach atemberaubend. Und das nicht nur wegen der Höhe von durchschnittlich 4.000 m. Die Weite der Landschaft bringt die Gedanken zur Ruhe, während schneebedeckte Bergspitzen, Flüsse und Seen regelmäßig zu Gedränge an den Fenstern sorgen. In meinem folgernden Artikel erfahrt ihr alle meine Tipps für eure Reise mit der Lhasabahn nach Tibet.


Inhaltsübersicht und Schnellnavigation

Zur Einstimmung auf die Zugreise nach Tibet
Slow Travel – eine tolle Art zu Reisen
Die Strecke der Lhasabahn aufs Dach der Welt
Von Xining nach Lhasa – Ein paar Bilder
Ticketklassen und Preise der Lhasabahn
Tipps für euren Ticketkauf für die Lhasabahn
Abholen der Tickets am Bahnhof
Tipps für die Organisation des Gepäcks in der Lhasabahn
Orientierung am Bahnhof Xining
Wie ihr euren Wagen und euer Bett findet
Wohin mit dem Gepäck?
Ausstattung in der Hard Sleeper Klasse
Höhenkrankheit
Das leibliche Wohl
Tipps für die Packliste für die Lhasabahn
Ankunft in Lhasa

Zur Einstimmung auf die Zugreise nach Tibet

Durch meine Ohropax dringt ein gepämpftes Rumpeln. Ich spüre das Vibrieren der Räder und die Unebenheiten der Gleise. Vom Gang her scheint Licht in unsere dunkle Kabine. Ich rolle mich auf meine andere Seite, vorsichtig, um nicht aus dem schmalen obersten Bett zu fallen. Ein Blick auf den Höhenmesser lässt mich aufatmen. Nach vier Stunden Fahrzeit, es ist 23:30 sind wir wieder unter 3.000 m. Endlich schlafe ich ein.

Als ich morgens aufwache sind wir auf 4.200 m. Ich blicke in eine hügelige Landschaft, die mit Puderzucker überzogen ist. Am Horizont erheben sich höhere Berge mit schneebedeckten Spitzen. Ab und zu kann ich Wildesel, tibetische Antilopen oder Yaks ausmachen, manchmal auch eine Nomadenhütte. Immer wieder gibt es kleine Häuschen von Streckenposten entlang der parallel verlaufenden Strasse und ab und zu passieren wir eine Siedlung. Ich freue mich auf den Tag im Zug, der vor mir liegt.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Slow Travel – eine tolle Art zu Reisen

Reisen mit dem Zug erzeugen weniger Kohlendioxid als Reisen mit dem Flugzeug. Allein das ist schon Grund genug, öfters mit dem Zug zu reisen. Doch es gibt noch mehr Vorteile gegenüber dem schnellen Reisen im Flugzeug. Denn man nähert sich einem neuen Land oder einer neuen Kultur langsamer an und hat mehr Zeit, um die Veränderungen bewußter wahrzunehmen.

Ich fühle mich beim Slow Travel weniger fremd und stattdessen mehr verbunden mit meinem Reiseziel und den Menschen, die dort leben. Also irgendwie mehr wie ein Reisender als wie jemand, der nur konsumiert. Zudem schult eine Zugreise wie diese die eigenen Reisefähigkeiten, das Selbstvertrauen sowie die eigene Offenheit. Und eine Langstreckenzugfahrt hat immer das Potential für tolle Reisegeschichten.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Die Strecke der Lhasabahn aufs Dach der Welt

Es gibt mehrere Bahnlinien, die nach Lhasa fahren. Die meisten Reisenden entscheiden sich jedoch für den Zug von Xining in der Provinz Qinghai nach Lhasa. Denn dies ist die kürzeste Zugreise nach Tibet mit nur einer Nacht im Zug. Die Strecke hat zudem die schönsten Landschaften zu bieten. Der Zug fährt sogar fünfmal täglich und benötigt für die Strecke von 1.956 km etwa 21 Stunden. Wenn ihr hingegen länger mit dem Zug unterwegs sein wollt, könnt ihr die längere Strecke von Beijing nach Lhasa wählen. Hier fährt der Zug jedoch nur einmal täglich und es ist entsprechend schwieriger ein Ticket zu ergattern.

Wir haben uns für Xining als Startbahnhof entschieden, da wir so flexibler bei der Wahl der Abfahrtszeit waren. Denn wenn ihr abends in Xining losfahrt, dann fahrt ihr durch die schönste Landschaft bei Tageslicht. Wenn ihr aus Beijing losfahrt, habt ihr in dieser Hinsicht keine Wahlmöglichkeit und die schönste Landschaft werdet ihr nur im Dunkeln erleben.

Außerdem hat Xining einiges zu bieten. Und wenn ihr ein paar Tage in Xining auf 2.200 m Höhe verbringt und vielleicht auch noch einen Tagesausflug zu dem Qinghai See auf 3.200 m macht, habt ihr schon eine ganz gute Höhenanpassung.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Von Xining nach Lhasa – Ein paar Eindrücke von der Strecke

Die Fahrt führt uns am Nachmittag am Cona Lake vorbei. Dieser ist ein heiliger See für die Tibeter und zudem eines der am höchsten gelegenen Frischwasserreservoire. Am Ufer des Sees fliegen Schwarzhalskraniche auf, Gänse und Enten suchen Futter im Wasser, Möven fliegen knapp über dem Wasser oder putzten am Ufer ihr Gefieder.

Entlang der Strecke gibt es unzählige kleine Polizeistationen. Jede von ihnen trägt eine Chinaflagge. Sobald wir vorbeifahren treten die Polizeiposten in ihren gelben Warnwesten hervor und salutieren.

Wir fahren an kleinen Siedlungen vorbei. Kleine eingeschossige Steinhäuser, weiss, das Dach mit bunten Gebetsfahnen geschmückt. Um die Häuser herum ist ein ummauerter Hof, neben diesem grenzt direkt ein zweiter Hof mit Unterständen für das Vieh an. Die Wege sind unbefestigt, an den Wegrändern stehen Mopeds und ältere Autos. Gegen Mittag sehen wir immer mehr Yaks und Schafe auf den Weidegründen neben der Bahnstrecke. Es ist Lunchtime, fast jeder rührt seine Instantnudeln in den bunten Plastikverpackungen an. Im Wagen breitet sich aus allen Richtungen genüssliches Schmatzen und Rülpsen aus.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Ticketklassen und Preise der Lhasabahn

Es gibt in der Lhasabahn drei verschiedene Klassen. Die im Folgenden genannten Preise gelten für ein einfaches Ticket von Xining nach Lhasa in der Sommersaison.

  • Die Soft Sleeper Klasse (1. Klasse) mit 4 Betten je Kabine. Hier ist es gemütlicher als in der Hard Sleeper Klasse, es gibt Türen für mehr Privatsphäre und Ruhe. Tickets gibt es für etwa 105 Euro.
  • Die Hard Sleeper Klasse (2. Klasse) ist mit 67 Euro deutlich günstiger. Jede Kabine hat 6 Betten. Da viele Einheimische in den Hard Sleeper Kabinen reisen, seid ihr weniger touristisch unterwegs.
  • Die Hard Seats sind mit einem Preis von 29 Euro die günstigste Reisemöglichkeit nach Lhasa, aber dafür mit null Komfort.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Tipps für euren Ticketkauf für die Lhasabahn

Schon der Erwerb eines Tickets für die Lhasabahn war ein kleines Abenteuer für sich. Denn der Ticketkauf forderte von uns Flexibilität, schnelles Umdenken und Handeln. Und ehe wir uns versahen, hatten wir unsere erste Änderung im Reiseplan noch bevor die Reise losging.

Es läuft etwas anders ab als in Deutschland. Ihr könnt eure gewünschten Tickets 60 Tage vor dem geplanten Abfahrttermin unter trip.com reservieren. Kaufen könnt ihr sie allerdings noch nicht. Etwa vier Wochen vor der Reise werdet ihr dann von trip.com benachrichtigt, ob eure Reservierung Erfolg hatte und euch die Tickets ausgestellt werden. Wenn ihr Glück habt, bekommt ihr also die Tickets. Wenn nicht, dann habt ihr jetzt die Gelegenheit, einen anderen Zug oder eine andere Klasse auszusuchen. Und jetzt müsst ihr schnell sein, denn die Züge sind in kürzester Zeit ausgebucht. Man kann im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes dabei zusehen.

Das Buchungssystem vergibt die Betten nach einem Zufallsprinzip. Es versucht zwar, benachbarte Betten zu belegen, aber ihr könnt da leider nichts beeinflussen. Ebenso habt ihr keinen Einfluss darauf, ob ihr ein unteres, mittleres oder oberes Bett bekommt. Wenn ihr mehrere Personen seid, kann es bei der Buchung auch passieren, dass eure Betten in verschiedenen Waggons liegen. Wenn ihr mit den zugeteilten Betten nicht zufrieden seid, versucht euer Glück mit einer weiteren Buchung und storniert dann die erste.

Wir hatten kein Glück mit unserer Reservierung und haben unsere Wunsch-Tickets in der Soft Sleeper Klasse nicht bekommen. Erst die dritte Buchung machte uns dann zu stolzen Besitzern von zwei Tickets für benachbarte Betten in der Hard Sleeper Klasse, allerdings im Zug zwei Tage später. Wir waren ziemlich froh, dass unser Reiseplan so viel Luft für Umplanungen hatte.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Abholen der Tickets am Bahnhof

Doch mit dem Online Kauf ist es noch nicht getan. Ihr müsst euer Ticket am Bahnhof gegen Vorlage eures Reisepasses, der Abholnummer auf eurer Bestellung bei Trip.com und des Tibet Travel Permits abholen. Das Tibet Travel Permit ist also sozusagen eure Eintrittskarte. Ohne das geht gar nichts. Es kann jedoch nur von einer lokalen Reiseagentur für euch beantragt werden. Wir haben es erst zwei Tage vor Abfahrt des Zuges per E-Mail erhalten, normal sind etwa sieben bis zehn Tage vorher. Im Sommer 2019 sollten wir insgesamt sechs Kopien des Travel Permits mitnehmen. Abgeben mussten wir allerdings keine davon, dafür aber unzählige Male vorzeigen.

In Xining befindet sich die Abholstelle der Tickets auf der oberen Plattform des Bahnhofs, links von dem Haupteingang. Der Eintritt in den eigentlichen Bahnhof zu den Zügen ist nur nach Vorlage eines gültigen Tickets möglich. Im Untergeschoss, unterhalb des Bahnhofsvorplatzes gibt es noch mehrere Shops wo ihr noch Proviant für die Fahrt besorgen könnt.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Tipps für die Organisation des Gepäcks in der Lhasabahn

Packt euer Gepäck am besten in mehrere Taschen: Wertsachen in einen extra Beutel, den ihr immer bei euch tragt, dann einen Beutel mit den Sachen, die ihr auf der Zugfahrt benötigt und häufiger öffnen müsst, sowie Proviant. So lauft ihr auch weniger Gefahr, dass euer großes Gepäck zu groß erscheint und aufgegeben werden muss. Bei uns wurde das Gepäck nicht gewogen oder nachgemessen. Erlaubt sind pro Person 20 kg und die Gesamtabmessungen maximal 160 cm. Wenn ihr mehr Gepäck habt, dann müsst ihr es einchecken. Dafür solltet ihr etwa zwei Stunden vor Abfahrt am Bahnhof sein. Euer Gepäck wird dann in demselben Zug im Gepäckwagen transportiert.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Orientierung am Bahnhof Xining

Wenn ihr durch die Sicherheitskontrolle am Haupteingang durch seid, gilt es als nächstes das richtige Gleis zu finden. Ein großes Display zeigt alle Abfahrten. Die Ziele sind jedoch nur in chinesischer Schrift angegeben. Doch anhand der Abfahrtzeiten könnt ihr dann das richtige Gleis zuordnen.

Es gibt eine riesige Wartehalle mit ausreichend Sitzgelegenheiten, Imbissen, Shops und einem Supermarkt mit einer grossen Auswahl an Proviant und sogar Abfüllstationen für abgekochtes Wasser für eure Thermoskanne.

Für das Boarding müsst ihr dann nochmal euer Ticket, Reisepass und Travel Permit vorzeigen.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Wie ihr euren Wagen und euer Bett findet

Die Nummer des Waggons und der Kabine findet ihr auf eurer Buchungsbestätigung und auf eurem Ticket. Hier steht auch, ob ihr das untere, mittlere oder obere Bett habt.

Die Nummer des Waggons steht auf dem Ticket vor dem chinesischen Schriftzeichen 车, die Nummer der Kabine vor dem Schriftzeichen 号. Welches Bett iht habt, erkennt ihr an den Schriftzeichen “上铺” für das obere Bett, “中铺” für das mittlere Bett, “下铺” für das untere Bett.

Nach dem Boarding werden vom Bordpersonal Formulare zum Ausfüllen verteilt. Alles war auf Chinesisch und da in unserer und den benachbarten Kabinen niemand Englisch sprach, blickten wir nur ratlos auf die Schriftzeichen. Später brachte uns der Waggonbetreuer die Formulare der „Passenger Health declaration“ noch auf Englisch.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Wohin mit dem Gepäck?

Zum Verstauen des Gepäcks gibt es in der Hard Sleeper Klasse zwei Möglichkeiten: Unter dem unteren Bett oder auf den Gepäckregalen am Fußende der obersten Betten. Wertsachen solltet ihr immer bei euch tragen. Es gibt keine abschließbare Gepäckaufbewahrung. Zum Aufbewahren von kleineren Sachen gibt es zudem an jedem Bett einen Haken und ein kleines Netz.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Ausstattung in der Hard Sleeper Klasse

Wenn ihr günstig und komfortabel mit dem Zug nach Lhasa reisen wollt, ist die Hard Sleeper Klasse die richtige Wahl. Die Betten sind nicht so hart, wie der Name erwarten lässt. Mit dem Namen ist lediglich gemeint, dass die Matratze dünner ist als bei den Soft Sleepern.

In jeder Kabine gibt es sechs Betten, die zu dritt übereinander angeordnet sind. Die Kabinen sind zum Flur hin offen, es gibt also keine verschließbaren Tür, kein Vorhänge und keine Privatsphäre. Jedes Bett ist mit einer Matratze, Decke und Kopfkissen ausgestattet. Die Betten sind mit 60 cm  x 180 cm etwas kleiner als die Soft Sleeper aber immer noch so groß wie meine Isomatte. Nur bei dem unteren Bett ist der Abstand zur Decke so hoch, dass ihr bequem darauf sitzen könnt und eine Sicht durchs Fenster habt. Ich hatte das obere Bett. Es ist nicht ganz so einfach, sich über die Trittstufen in das Bett hinein zu zirkeln. Sitzen ist nur mit gebeugtem Kopf möglich.

Auf dem Gang gibt es auch noch einen Klappsitz und einen Klapptisch je Abteil. Zwischen den beiden unteren Betten gibt es ein kleines Tischchen.

Um 22 Uhr wird das Licht in den Kabinen ausgeschaltet, dann ist Nachtruhe. Dann scheint nur noch gedämmtes Licht aus dem Flur hinein. 

Steckdosen bzw. USB-Ladestellen findet ihr auf dem Gang, allerding nur eine je Kabine. Denkt dran, einen Adapter mitzunehmen, eventuell auch einen Mehrfachstecker. Am besten ladet ihr alle Akkus nochmal vollständig auf, bevor ihr den Zug betretet. WiFi ist in den Zügen nicht verfügbar.

In der Hard Sleeper Klasse sind zwei Hocktoiletten eingebaut. Meist ist kein Toilettenpapier mehr vorhanden, also nehmt genügend mit. Ebenfalls am Ende der Waggons findet ihr drei offene Waschbecken. Handtücher und Seife müsst ihr selbst mitbringen.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Höhenkrankheit

Die Lhasabahn fährt auf etwa 90 % der Strecke in einer Höhe von 4.000 m. In Xining startet sie auf 2200 m und überquert auf dem Weg nach Lhasa zwei Pässe über 5.000 m (Fenghuo Pass auf 5.010 m und Tanggula Pass auf 5.220 m). Nach etwa 21 Stunden kommt ihr dann in Lahsa auf 3.650 m an.

Eine Höhenpassung ist in so kurzer Zeit nicht möglich. Um der Höhenkrankheit vorzubeugen, wird über die Klimaanlage Sauerstoff in die Waggons eingespeist. Dennoch kann es sein, dass ihr die Höhe spüren werdet. Erste Anzeichen sind Kopfschmerzen und Müdigkeit. Da hilft ausruhen, viel trinken und tief atmen. Ich selbst hatte keine Schwierigkeiten mit der Höhenanpassung, habe aber vorher auch schon drei Nächte in Xining auf 2.200 m verbracht.

Zusätzlich gibt es noch eine individuelle Sauerstoffversorgung über einen Atemschlauch an jedem Bett,  die von dem Waggonbetreuer freigeschaltet werden muss. Ab Golmund befindet sich medizinisches Personal im Zug, das bei Bedarf aufgesucht werden kann.

Ein weiterer Effekt der Höhe ist die Zunahme der UV-Strahlung. Die Fenster der Bahn sind daher alle mit einem UV-Filter ausgestattet. Im Speisewagen gibt es darüber hinaus weiße Gardinen mit einer Abbildung des Lhasazugs auf einer Brücke.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Das leibliche Wohl

Wenn es euch in den Kabinen zu eng wird, ihr keinen Fensterplatz habt oder Hunger bekommt, dann findet ihr den Speisewagen in der Mitte des Zugs. Hier könnt ihr gemütlich sitzen und essen. Angeboten werden chinesische und tibetische Gerichte, die Speiskarte ist jedoch nur auf chinesisch. Nach einer Weile kam aber eine Bedienung, die uns mit etwas Englisch die Speisekarte erklärte und unsere Bestellung aufnahm.

Ergänzend zu dem Angebot im Speisewagen, könnt ihr Snacks, Obst und Getränke an mobilen Wagen kaufen, die durch die Schlafwagen geschoben werden. Bedenkt aber, dass ihr im Zug für alles einen höheren Preis bezahlt. Am besten ihr bringt euch Verpflegung selber mit. Da im Zug heißes Wasser zur Verfügung steht, könnt ihr euch Kaffee, Tee oder Instant Nudeln im Zug jederzeit selber zubereiten. Wenn ihr Kaffee im Speisewagen bestellt, bekommt ihr auch nur Instantkaffee, meist gleich fertig gemischet mit Milch und Zucker. Die Wasserstationen findet ihr an Ende der Waggons. Hier könnt ihr auch heißes Wasser in eure Thermoskanne abfüllen. Und denkt dran: viel Trinken hilft bei der Höhenanpassung.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Tipps für die Packliste für die Lhasabahn

Hier ein paar Tipps, was du für die Fahrt mit der Lhasabahn mitnehmen solltest:

  • Thermoskanne
  • Schlafbrille
  • Ohropax aus Wachs (die aus Schaumgummie funktionieren in der Höhe nicht so gut)
  • Toilettenpapier
  • Seife und Handtuch
  • Wärmer Pulli
  • Ladekabel fürs Handy, ggf. Powerbar
  • Adapter für die Steckdose
  • Musik oder Hörbücher
  • Buch
  • Fotoapparat
  • Hilfreiche Apps: Bing Translator (offline), Höhenmesser, Maps.me
  • Wasser, Teebeutel, Instant Kaffee, ggf. Proviant

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Ankunft in Lhasa

Am Ende der Fahrt kam noch eine Durchsage auf Englisch, die mich auch im Nachhinein immer wieder zum Schmunzeln bringt:

„…It’s now time to say good by, we cannot stop the time. We wish to stay with you forever. We wish you a good health and hope to see you next time…“

Nach der Ankunft der Lhasabahn auf dem Dach der Welt müsst ihr nochmals durch eine Sicherheitskontrolle. Inhaber von Reisepässen werden dafür in ein separates Gebäude rechts vom Ausgang geführt. In unserem Zug waren mur 13 Personen mit Reisepässen dabei. Alle anderen Reisenden waren demnach Chinesen.

Willkommen in Lhasa!


Seid ihr selber schon mal mit der Lhasabahn gefahren? Wie hat es euch gefallen? Habt ihr noch Fragen zu meinem Artikel oder noch weitere Tipps für die Fahrt mit der Lhasabahn? Wenn ja, dann schreibt mir doch einen Kommentar!


Empfehlungen zum Weiterlesen

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht

HINTERLASSEN SIE EINE ANTWORT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here