Wildlife in Scotland - the Reindeer of the Cairngorms

Wildlife in Schottland - die Rentiere der Cairngorms
Wildlife in Scotland - the Reindeer of the Cairngorms

Scotland. Where can one find reindeer in Scotland? And how can one see them? Here you learn all about visiting the reindeer in the Cairngorms, the only free-ranging reindeer herd in Scotland. An unforgettable wildlife experience between cute calves and respectable antlers.

Unassigned, unpaid advertising. The article contains affiliate links.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland - Reindeer Scotland
Reindeer reach a considerable shoulder height of about one meter.

In the middle of Reindeer

Is a reindeer actually aware of how expansive its antlers are? I am not so sure and I prefer not to take the chance. But sometimes escaping is not so easy. About 30 animals mingle between us visitors and follow our guides together with us to a small group of trees.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland - Reindeer Scotland
Exciting! The first encounter with the reindeer herd.

The reindeer in the Cairngorm Mountains are used to people - and they are easily bribed: When there is food, every reindeer wants to be first. And when there is no more food, some of them take an extra stroke. But this is reserved for our two guides. We visitors are not allowed to feed or pet the reindeer. That is difficult. But even just watching is a very special experience, because rarely can you get so close to reindeer.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland  - Reindeer Scotland
When there is food, even the smallest ones are right up front.

What is it about reindeer that impresses me so much? They not only brave the subarctic winter of the Cairngorms, but also the Scottish rain. It takes me a little longer to get used to the Scottish rain. And instead of cuddling a wet reindeer, I keep wiping the raindrops off my camera lens. Fortunately the sun comes out later. Unfortunately I wait in vain for the rainbow over the reindeer herd.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland
Incorruptible...

I quickly found my favorite reindeer: a small albino.Under the white fur his pink skin shimmers out. He even has two small horns already. These are covered with a thin, also white fur. I have rarely seen anything cuter and can hardly get away from the little one.

Rentiere der Cairngorms  - Reindeer Scotland
Is there anything cuter in the world?
Happiness with reindeer. Photo: James Highfill
Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland - Reindeer Scotland
Albinos lack color pigments, therefore their fur is white and the skin is pink.
I cannot watch the little albino enough. Photo: James Highfill

Fascination Reindeer

Reindeer have always fascinated me. Not only because they pull the sleigh with the Christmas presents, but because they are traditional way of life of many indigenous peoples are so important. They are also food, warmth and means of transport. In other words, they are the basis of life and life insurance in one. traditional way of life of many indigenous peoples are so important. They are also food, warmth and means of transport.In other words, they are the basis of life and life insurance in one.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland  - Reindeer Scotland
Reindeer have a short, dark summer-fur and a thick, lighter winter-fur.

Already in the stone-age, reindeer were a sought-after hunt-prey. Then, approximately 5,000 years ago, Siberian peoples began to domesticate the reindeer. Usually, they were used as load and pulling animals. Only in the 17. century, the herd-economybegan. Until today, reindeer herding is still practiced in Lapland, Siberia and Mongolia, mostly semi-nomadic. This means that people follow the semi-wild herds on their migrations to the best grazing grounds. The animals are regularly herded together to mark the calves and select animals for slaughter. In areas with few resources, the reindeer that are killed have been completely utilized:the meat for food, the fur for pelts, the bones and antlers for making tools, and even the blood for healing.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland
Each reindeer, regardless of sex or age, grows new antlers every year. That of the males is with a length of 50 to 130 centimeters approximately twice as space-grasping as that of the females.

Even though there are fewer and fewer reindeer herds nowadays, they are still closely linked to the traditional indigenous culture. There are reindeer festivals and reindeer races,such as during the Sami Week in Tromsø.Reindeer also play an increasingly important role in tourism. For example, reindeer sleigh rides are offered in wintery Lapland. If you are looking for an even more intense experience and want to get to know the work of the reindeer herders, you will find what you are looking for in Lapland, Russia or Mongolia (by the way, this is high on my travel wish list). Here it is possible to accompany the herders for a while and help to round up the herds.

The reindeer's nostrils are shaped so that the cold air is sufficiently warmed before it reaches the lungs.

Where do Reindeer live?

Northern Hemisphere Tundra and Taiga

Reindeers are the most northern living big mammal species. They live in the tundra and taiga of North America and Eurasia as well as on Greenland, Ellesmere, Svalbard and Wrangel Island.In the east of Iceland lives an introduced reindeer-population. In North America, reindeer are known also under the name Karibu. Reindeers defy low temperatures and find food even in the arctic winter under the snow. Where it is possible, however, they move before the winter into more southern areas and undertake partially up to 5000 kilometers wide migrations.

With its wide, spread hooves, the reindeer can distribute its weight on soft snow and swampy ground so that they don't sink in.

Introduced Species in the Southern Hemisphere

Whalers brought reindeer as living meat-supply on the subarctic island South-Georgia and the Kerguelen on the southern hemisphere. However, the reindeer damaged the vegetation too much and were removed from South Georgia in 2013/14. A population of about 4,000 animals still lives on the Kerguelen Islands.

Reindeer in Scotland

After the end of the last cold period, about 10,000 years ago, the reindeer became extinct in the British Isles. In 1952 the Same Mikel Utsi brought the first reindeer from Sweden to the Cairngorms.The mountains of the Cairngorms in Scotland are the highest, coldest and snowiest plateau in the British Isles. It is the only region in Great Britain that is suitable as a habitat for reindeer.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland  - Reindeer Scotland
The mountains of the Cairngorms are the only suitable habitat for reindeer in the whole of Great Britain.

The Reindeer of the Cairngorms in Scotland

How did the reindeer come to the Cairngorm Mountains in Scotland? The story begins with the honeymoon of the Sami Mikel Utsi and his wife Dr. Ethel Lindgren. They visited the Cairngorms in 1947. The vegetation, especially the lichens, reminded them of the reindeer pastures in Lapland. An excellent habitat for reindeer!

The natural food of reindeer consists of heather, sedges, lichens and blueberries. In addition, the animals get a supplementary feed on grain basis.

In 1952 the couple brought the first seven reindeer from Sweden to Scotland. Soon more animals followed and excursions to the reindeer herd in the mountains were offered. After the death of Mikel Utsi and his wife, the Smith couple took over the herd in 1988. The Smith already managed the reindeer center before.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland
Always vigilant.

Today, the herd counts approximately 150 animals. They graze on the mountain peaks and on an additional 6,000 hectares of open land. Further grazing areas are located on the northern slopes of the Cairngorm, where there is also a fenced area. Here, about 50 reindeer live isolated, among other things to give birth to calves.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland  - Reindeer Scotland
Cute, right? Looks a bit like a cuddly toy.
Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland  - Reindeer Scotland
The calves grow fast and are already grazing themselves. Nevertheless, they don't miss a sip of the nutritious mother's milk.

The reindeer spend their whole life in the Cairngorms. In the best case this can be up to 19 years. They are neither sold nor slaughtered for their meat. In order to limit the size of the herd to about 150 animals, the reindeer are bred selectively. Most of the male animals are castrated. The fertile bulls live separated from the herd. To enrich the gene pool and keep the herd healthy, bulls from Sweden are also used for breeding.

Most bulls of the herd are castrated. Even a second look won't help.

Visit of the Cairngorm Reindeer Centre

The reindeer center is located about 11 kilometers from Aviemore,the tourist center of the Cairngorms. There is a small store,an exhibition and paddocks.There are also walks to the mountain meadows of the reindeer herd. For up-to-date information, please check the Cairngorm Reindeer Centre page. Especially during the Corona restrictions, offers and opening hours can change quickly.

The Cairngorm Reindeer Centre with store, exhibition and Christmas sleigh.

Hike to the Mountain Meadows of the Cairngorm Reindeer

Directions to get there: From the Cairngorm Reindeer Centre it is another 1.6 miles by your own vehicle to the starting point of the walk.
Costs: Adults £17.50; Students/Seniors £15; Children 3 years and older £12.50
Times: Until August twice a day at 11am and 2.30pm. From September only once a day at 11 am.
Duration: 1.5 to 2 hours

The access to the fenced area where about 50 reindeer graze.

Tipps für das richtige “Rentier-Outfit”

The tour to the reindeer takes place in any weather, including rain (except extreme wind and snow). Rain jacket and rain pants are part of the basic equipment. After the initial short hike to the reindeer (about 20 minutes, in winter a little longer), there is little movement and the terrain is very exposed. Therefore, depending on the weather, something warm is essential, maybe even a beanie and gloves. But the most important thing are proper shoes: rubber or ankle-high hiking boots.The terrain is partly swampy and you sink in quickly.

And where it is swampy, there are Midges!So if you are lucky with the weather, that means no wind and rain, then pack a mosquito spray. And after that: look for ticks, which unfortunately also occur here.


Do you know the reindeer herd in the Cairngorms in Scotland? Or have you ever been able to experience reindeer at close quarters in another place? Where was that?

Do you have any questions or suggestions about my article? If so, please write me a comment!

Do you want to know when there are new articles on my blog? Then follow me on Facebook, Pinterest or Instagram. I would also be very happy if you share my article with your friends.

fernwehmotive

Book Recommendations for Scotland

You want to know where the journey goes? Then I recommend the following travel guides, which have proven themselves on my trip:


Recommendations for further Reading

Do you love reindeer and Lapland as much as I do? Then you might also be interested in my articles about Tromsø and the Lofoten and Vesterålen in winterWe were in Tromsø during the Sami Week and experienced a spectacular reindeer race there. Afterwards we booked an evening reindeer sleigh ride. Kitschy and beautiful under stars and northern lights - but with -20°C damn cold!

Lofoten und Vesterålen - Highlights im Winter
Winter in Tromsø - das Tor zur Arktis

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Wildlife in Schottland – die Rentiere der Cairngorms

Wildlife in Schottland - die Rentiere der Cairngorms
Wildlife in Schottland - die Rentiere der Cairngorms

Schottland. Wo gibt es Rentiere in Schottland? Und wie bekommt man sie zu sehen? Hier erfahrt ihr alles über einen Besuch der Rentiere in den Cairngorms, der einzigen freilaufenden Rentierherde in Schottland. Ein unvergessliches Wildlife-Erlebnis zwischen niedlichen Kälbern und Respekt einflößenden Geweihen.

Unbeauftragte, unbezahlte Werbung.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland - Reindeer Scotland
Rentiere erreichen eine stattliche Schulterhöhe von etwa einem Meter.

Mitten unter Rentieren

Ist sich ein Rentier eigentlich bewusst, wie raumgreifend sein Geweih ist? Ich bin mir nicht so sicher und lasse es lieber nicht darauf ankommen. Doch manchmal ist das Ausweichen gar nicht so einfach. Etwa 30 Tiere mischen sich zwischen uns Besucher und folgen mit uns zusammen unseren Guides zu einer kleinen Baumgruppe.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland - Reindeer Scotland
Aufregend! Das erste Zusammentreffen mit der Rentierherde.

Die Rentiere in den Cairngorm-Bergen sind an Menschen gewöhnt – und sie sind bestechlich: Wenn es Futter gibt, will jedes Rentier das Erste sein. Und wenn das Futter alle ist, dann holen sich manche noch eine extra Streicheleinheit ab. Doch das ist unseren beiden Guides vorbehalten. Wir Besucher dürfen die Rene nicht füttern oder streicheln. Das fällt schwer. Aber auch das Beobachten allein ist ein ganz besonderes Erlebnis, denn selten kommt man Rentieren so nah.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland  - Reindeer Scotland
Wenn es Futter gibt, sind selbst die Kleinsten ganz vorne mit dabei.

Was mich an den Rentieren so beeindruckt? Sie trotzen nicht nur dem subarktischen Winter der Cairngorms, sondern auch dem schottischen Regen. Ich brauche etwas länger, um mich an den schottischen Regen zu gewöhnen. Und anstelle ein nasses Rentier zu kraulen, wische ich immer wieder die Regentropfen von meiner Kameralinse. Zum Glück kommt später noch die Sonne heraus. Nur auf den Regenbogen über der Rentierherde warte ich leider vergeblich.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland
Unbestechlich…

Schnell habe ich mein Lieblings-Rentier gefunden: ein kleiner Albino. Unter dem weissen Fell schimmert seine rosafarbene Haut hervor. Er hat sogar schon zwei kleine Hörner. Diese sind mit einem dünnen, ebenfalls weißen Fell überzogen. Ich habe selten etwas niedlicheres gesehen und kann mich kaum mehr von dem Kleinen lösen.

Rentiere der Cairngorms  - Reindeer Scotland
Gibt es etwas Niedlichereres auf der Welt?
Happiness mit Rentieren. Foto: James Highfill
Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland - Reindeer Scotland
Albinos fehlen Farbpigmente, daher ist ihr Fell weiß und die Haut rosa.
Ich kann den kleinen Albino gar nicht genug beobachten. Foto: James Highfill

Faszination Rentiere

Rentiere haben mich schon immer fasziniert. Nicht nur, weil sie den Schlitten mit den Weihnachtsgeschenken ziehen, sondern weil sie für die traditionelle Lebensweise vieler indigener Völker so bedeutsam sind. Sie sind zugleich Nahrung, Wärmespender und Transportmittel. Also Lebensgrundlage und Lebensversicherung in einem.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland  - Reindeer Scotland
Rentiere haben ein kurzes, dunkles Sommerfell und ein dickes, helleres Winterfell.

Schon in der Steinzeit waren Rentiere eine begehrte Jagdbeute. Vor etwa 5.000 Jahren begannen dann Völker Sibiriens, die Rentiere zu domestizieren. Meist wurden sie als Last- und Zugtiere genutzt. Erst im 17. Jahrhundert begann die Herdenwirtschaft. Bis heute wird in Lappland, Sibirien und der Mongolei Rentierwirtschaft betrieben, meistens halbnomadisch. Das bedeutet, dass die Menschen den halbwilden Herden auf ihren Wanderungen zu den besten Weidegründen folgen. Regelmäßig werden die Tiere zusammengetrieben, um die Kälber zu markieren und Tiere zum Schlachten auszuwählen. In Gegenden mit wenigen Ressourcen wurden die erlegten Rentiere komplett verwertet: das Fleisch als Nahrung, das Fell für Pelze, die Knochen und das Geweih zur Herstellung von Werkzeugen und sogar das Blut als Heilmittel.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland
Jedem Rentier, unabhängig von Geschlecht oder Alter, wächst jedes Jahr ein neues Geweih. Das der Männchen ist mit einer Länge von 50 bis 130 Zentimeter etwa doppelt so raumgreifend wie das der Weibchen.

Auch wenn es in heutiger Zeit immer weniger Rentierherden gibt, so sind sie mit der traditionellen indigenen Kultur weiterhin eng verbunden. Es gibt Rentierfestivals und Rentierrennen, wie beispielsweise im Rahmen der Samischen Woche in Tromsø. Auch im Tourismus spielen Rene eine immer grössere Rolle. So werden beispielsweise im winterlichen Lappland Rentierschlittenfahrten angeboten. Wer ein noch intensiveres Erlebnis sucht und die Arbeit der Rentierhirten kennenlernen möchte, der wird in Lappland, Russland oder der Mongolei fündig (steht übrigens weit oben auf meiner Reise-Wunschliste). Hier ist es möglich, die Hirten eine Weile zu begleiten und beim Zusammentreiben der Herden zu helfen.

Die Nüstern der Rentiere sind so geformt, dass die kalte Luft ausreichend vorgewärmt wird, bevor sie die Lunge erreicht.

Wo leben Rentiere?

Tundra und Taiga der Nordhalbkugel

Rentiere sind die am weitesten nördlich lebende Großsäugerart. Sie leben in der Tundra und Taiga von Nordamerika und Eurasien sowie auf Grönland, Ellesmere, Spitzbergen und der Wrangelinsel. Im Osten von Island lebt eine eingeführte Rentierpopulation. In Nordamerika sind Rene auch unter dem Namen Karibu bekannt. Rentiere trotzen tiefen Temperaturen und finden selbst im arktischen Winter unter dem Schnee noch Fressen. Wo es möglich ist, weichen sie jedoch vor dem Winter in südlichere Gebiete aus und unternehmen zum Teil bis zu 5000 Kilometer weite Wanderungen.

Mit ihren breiten, gespreizten Hufen können die Rentiere ihr Gewicht auf weichem Schnee und sumpfigem Boden verteilen, damit sie nicht einsinken.

Eingeführte Art auf der Südhalbkugel

Walfänger brachten Rentiere als lebenden Fleischvorrat auf die subarktischen Insel Südgeorgien und die Kerguelen auf der Südhalbkugel. Die Rentiere schädigten jedoch die Vegetation zu sehr und wurden 2013/14 von Südgeorgien wieder entfernt. Auf den Kerguelen lebt weiterhin eine Population von etwa 4.000 Tieren.

Rentiere in Schottland

Nach dem Ende der letzten Kaltzeit, vor rund 10.000 Jahren, starb das Rentier auf den Britischen Inseln aus. Im Jahr 1952 brachte der Same Mikel Utsi die ersten Rentiere aus Schweden zu den Cairngorms. Die Berge der Cairngorms in Schottland sind die höchste, kälteste und schneereichste Hochebene der Britischen Inseln. Es ist die einzige Region Großbritanniens, die als Lebensraum für Rentiere geeignet ist.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland  - Reindeer Scotland
Die Berge der Cairngorms sind der einzige geeignete Lebensraum für Rentiere in ganz Großbritannien.

Die Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland

Wie sind die Rentiere in die Cairngorm-Berge nach Schottland gekommen? Die Geschichte beginnt mit den Flitterwochen von dem Samen Mikel Utsi und seiner Frau Dr. Ethel Lindgren. Sie besuchten 1947 die Cairngorms. Die Vegetation, allem voran die Flechten, erinnerte sie an die Rentierweiden in Lappland. Ein ausgezeichneter Lebensraum für Rentiere!

Die natürliche Nahrung von Rentieren besteht aus Heidekraut, Riedgräsern, Flechten und Blaubeeren. Zusätzlich bekommen die Tiere ein Ergänzungsfutter auf Getreidebasis.

Im Jahr 1952 brachte das Ehepaar dann die ersten sieben Rentiere aus Schweden nach Schottland. Bald folgten weitere Tiere und es wurden Ausflüge zu der Rentierherde in die Berge angeboten. Nach dem Tod von Mikel Utsi und seiner Frau übernahm 1988 das Ehepaar Smith die Herde. Die Smith leiteten bereits zuvor den Betrieb des Rentiercenters.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland
Immer wachsam.

Heute zählt die Herde etwa 150 Tiere. Sie weiden auf den Berggipfeln und auf zusätzlichen 6.000 Hektar Freiland. Weitere Weideflächen befinden sich an den Nordhängen des Cairngorm, wo es auch einen eingezäunten Bereich gibt. Hier leben etwa 50 Rentiere abgegrenzt, unter anderem, um die Kälber zur Welt zu bringen.

Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland  - Reindeer Scotland
Knuffig, oder? Wirkt ein bisschen wie ein Steiff-Kuscheltier.
Rentiere der Cairngorms in Schottland  - Reindeer Scotland
Die Kälber wachsen schnell und grasen auch schon selber. Dennoch lassen sie sich einen Schluck der nahrhaften Muttermilch nicht entgehen.

Die Rentiere verbringen ihr ganzes Leben in den Cairngorms. Das können im besten Falle bis zu 19 Jahre sein. Sie werden weder verkauft noch für ihr Fleisch geschlachtet. Um die Größe der Herde auf etwa 150 Tiere zu beschränken, wird gezielt gezüchtet. Die meisten männlichen Tiere sind kastriert. Die zeugungsfähigen Bullen leben abgetrennt von der Herde. Um den Genpool zu bereichern und die Herde gesund zu halten, werden außerdem Bullen aus Schweden zur Zucht eingesetzt.

Die meisten Bullen der Herde sind kastriert. Da hilft auch kein zweiter Blick.

Besuch des Cairngorm Reindeer Centre

Das Rentiercenter liegt etwa 11 Kilometer von Aviemore, dem touristischen Zentrum der Cairngorms, entfernt. Hier befindet sich ein kleiner Shop, eine Ausstellung sowie Paddocks. Außerdem werden Wanderungen zu den Bergwiesen der Rentierherde angeboten. Für aktuelle Detailinformationen schaut am besten auf der Seite des Cairngorm Reindeer Centre nochmal nach. Insbesondere während der Corona Einschränkungen können sich Angebote und Öffnungszeiten schnell ändern.

Das Cairngorm Reindeer Centre mit Shop, Ausstellung und Weihnachtsschlitten.

Wanderung zu den Bergwiesen der Cairngorm Rentiere

Anfahrt: Vom Cairngorm Reindeer Centre geht es mit dem eigenen Fahrzeug noch weitere 1,6 Meilen bis zum Ausgangspunkt der Wanderung.
Kosten: Erwachsene £17.50; Studenten/Senioren £15; Kinder ab 3 Jahren £12,50
Zeiten: Bis August zweimal täglich um 11 Uhr und 14.30 Uhr. Ab September nur noch einmal am Tag um 11 Uhr.
Dauer: 1,5 bis 2 Stunden

Der Zugang zu dem eingezäunten Bereich, in dem rund 50 Rentiere weiden.

Tipps für das richtige „Rentier-Outfit“

Die Tour zu den Rentieren findet bei jedem Wetter statt, also auch bei Regen (außer bei extremem Wind und Schnee). Regenjacke und am besten auch Regenhose gehören also zur Grundausstattung. Nach der anfänglichen kurzen Wanderung zu den Rentieren (ca. 20 Minuten, im Winter etwas länger) bewegt man sich wenig und das Gelände ist sehr exponiert. Daher ist je nach Witterung auch was Warmes unerlässlich, eventuell sogar Mütze und Handschuhe. Aber das wichtigste sind ordentliche Schuhe: Gummi- oder knöchelhohe Wanderstiefel. Das Gelände ist zum Teil sumpfig und man sinkt schnell ein.

Und wo es sumpfig ist, da sind auch Midges. Solltet ihr also Glück mit dem Wetter haben, das heißt kein Wind und Regen, dann packt ein Mückenspray ein. Und danach: sucht euch nach Zecken ab, die kommen hier leider auch vor.

Auch der Weg zu den Rentieren ist sehenswert.

Kennt ihr die Rentierherde in den Cairngorms in Schottland? Oder habt ihr schon mal an einem anderen Ort Rentiere aus nächster Nähe erleben können? Wo war das?

Habt ihr noch Fragen oder Anregungen zu meinem Artikel? Wenn ja, dann schreibt mir doch einen Kommentar!

Wollt ihr wissen, wenn es neue Artikel auf meinem Blog gibt? Dann folgt mir doch auf Facebook, Pinterest oder Instagram. Ich freue mich auch riesig, wenn ihr meinen Artikel mit euren Freunden teilt.


Empfehlungen zum Weiterlesen

Liebt ihr Rentiere und Lappland auch so sehr wie ich? Dann interessieren euch vielleicht auch meine Artikel über Tromsø und die Lofoten und Vesterålen im Winter. Wir waren während der Samischen Woche in Tromsø und haben dort ein spektakuläres Rentierrennen erlebt. Ganz angetan von dem Spektakel, haben wir anschließend eine abendliche Rentier-Schlittenfahrt gebucht. Kitschig-schön unter Sternen und Polarlichterrn – aber mit -20°C verdammt kalt!

Lofoten und Vesterålen - Highlights im Winter
Winter in Tromsø - das Tor zur Arktis

HINTERLASSEN SIE EINE ANTWORT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here