Roadtrip Albania - Osum Canyon to Lengarica Canyon

Roadtrip Albanien - Osum Canyon bis Lengarica Canyon
Roadtrip Albania - Osum Canyon to Lengarica Canyon

Albania. Steep canyons in Osum Canyon and gravel roads leading through breathtaking mountain landscapes. Relax in the warm thermal springs at Bënja and enjoy a spectacular river hike through Lengarica Canyon. Albania shows its best side on this stage. The trip from Osum Canyon to Lengarica Canyon was a stage during our road trip with the all-wheel camper through Albania. In my following article you will find out what to expect in the two canyons and also where to find the most beautiful pitches for the night. (Title photo: Dr. Till Pasquay)

Non-solicited, unpaid advertising. This article contains affiliate links*, marked with an asterisk.

Roadtrip in Albanien Brücke am Osum Canyon
The bridge over the Osum Canyon was one of our most beautiful photo motifs during our road trip in Albania

Content

Osum Canyon
Thermal Springs Banjat e Benjës
River Hike in Lengarica Canyon Osum Canyon

Here you can read my main article about our Road Trip Albania - 15 Highlights & Tips and Route.


Osum Canyon

The river Osum flows through several canyons with rock faces up to 80 metres high over a length of about 14 kilometres. With its yellow-grey cliffs and rugged rock formations it forms a breathtaking landscape.

The town of Çorovoda is the starting point for exploring the canyon. Directly behind Çorovoda the road starts and leads up the river on the left side of the Osum. You drive all the time directly at the edge of the gorge and there are many spectacular views.

Roadtrip in Albanien Stellplatz am Osum Canyon
Parking at the bridge over Osum Canyon

About nine kilometres after Çorovoda, it is also worth stopping at a narrow bridge over the canyon. From here you have a great view into the canyon and it is also a perfect place for a break or the night (40°27'17.5″N 20°15'57.4″E). You can also continue up the gravel road behind the bridge. At the second bend you will reach a small river. In front of the concrete bridge there is a nice parking place next to the river (40°27'39.4″N 20°15'44.4″E). Here you also have water for cooking and washing.

Roadtrip in Albanien Stellplatz am Osum Canyon
During our roadtrip in Albania we had great pitches again and again - here at Osum Canyon even with a small river

After about 13 kilometres you will come to Lapanj. Up to here the road was asphalted. Now a bridge leads to the other side of the Osum and it continues on gravel roads. The road leaves the river and winds its way up the mountain flanks. A few settlements are scattered on the fertile plateaus. About halfway you reach an idyllically situated camping site. The doughnuts with the homemade honey and yoghurt offered here are absolutely recommendable.

Siedlung südlich des Osum Canyons
From time to time small settlements appear along the Osum Canyon.

After a total of 26 kilometres of gravel road you will reach the SH75 road and after another 21 kilometres the sulphur springs of Benje.

The road is easy to drive, but there are steep climbs and our tires often went crazy on the gravel. Four-wheel drive is an advantage. The road is narrow, but it is usually possible to avoid the few oncoming vehicles.

Does that hold? The bridge on the way to Përmet is limited to 4 tons.
Roadtrip Albanien - Aussichten im Osum Canyon
Roadtrip Albania - Views in Osum Canyon. Photo: Dr. Till Pasquay

Ideas for your next Road Trip

Are you looking for ideas and inspiration for your next road trip or for your camping stove? Then I can recommend these books*.

You can order the books at Amazon by clicking on the pictures. If you buy a product via an affiliate link, I get a small commission and you help me to keep filling Fernweh-Motive with interesting articles. The product will not be more expensive for you and you do me a huge favor.


Thermal Springs Banjat e Benjës

The warm thermal springs near Benje are the most water-rich thermal springs in Albania. The sulphurous water, warm up to 30°C, is contained in four natural stone pools of different sizes in the front section of the Lengarica Canyon. On weekends many Albanians from nearby towns come here to relax in nature. The water is said to have healing effects on skin, stomach and circulation diseases as well as rheumatism.

There are also guided day trips to the Osum Gorge from Berat.

Thermalquellen Bënja
The thermal springs Bënja are said to have healing effects and are well visited at weekends.

The entrance fee to the thermal springs and the stream is 100 Lek per person. The use of the car park is included.

Also the attached, very simple camping site invites you to stay. However, it was a bit too crowded for us at the thermal springs. Therefore we walked further upstream into the Lengarica Canyon.

Near the thermal springs there is also a nice place for the night with a view (40°14'40.0″N 20°26'03.2″E). You don't drive left to the parking lot of the sulphur springs but straight ahead. The road rises and winds up the mountains. On the left side there is a nice parking place.

Stellplatz mit Aussicht oberhalb der Thermalquellen
Pitch with view above the thermal springs

You need camping equipment? Maybe a GPS or new camping chairs? Take a look at Globetrotter*.


River Hike in Lengarica Canyon Osum Canyon

The Lengarica Gorge is a narrow gorge, about four kilometres long and up to 100 metres deep. At its narrowest point, it is only about three metres wide. From the thermal springs you can walk about 2.5 kilometres upstream through the canyon during the summer months at low tide.

Right at the beginning you pass one of the most beautiful stone bridges from the Ottoman times - the Ura e Kadiut. The bridge is a great photo motif in any case. While we walk partly on the shore and partly through the water, warm and cold water alternate again and again. The river bed is still relatively wide. That's why many bathers have settled comfortably on the shallow banks.

Lengarica-Schlucht oberhalb der Thermalquellen Benje
River hiking in the Lengarica Gorge is a welcome cool down during the hot summer months. Photo: Dr. Till Pasquay

After approximately 300 metres upstream, the walls of the gorge become higher and the watercourse narrower and narrower, until finally there is no bank at all anymore. The gorge is breathtakingly narrow here, rock washes and grottos are to the left and right of the stream. In some of the caves there are even said to be prehistoric murals. We wade through the river, partly on sand and partly on stone. Bathing shoes are of great advantage here, as the rocks are damn slippery and several times I almost involuntarily went for a swim. After a right turn the canyon widens again. Here there are many nice quiet places for a break or a bath. The water here is much colder and a pleasant refreshment. After a total of about 2.5 kilometres you finally reach the second bridge from the Ottoman period - the Ura e Dashit.


Book Recommendations for Albania

Do you want to know where the journey is going? Then I can recommend this travel guide * to you.


Have you ever been on a road trip in Albania? How did you like it and what were your highlights? Do you have any questions about my article? If yes, then write me a comment!

Do you want to know when there are new articles on my blog? Then follow me on Facebook, Pinterest or Instagram. I would also be very happy if you share my article with your friends.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin



Recommendations for further Reading - more Roadtrips

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Roadtrip Albanien – Osum Canyon bis Lengarica Canyon

Roadtrip Albanien - Osum Canyon bis Lengarica Canyon
Roadtrip Albanien - Osum Canyon bis Lengarica Canyon

Albanien. Steil abfallende Schluchten im Osum Canyon und Schotterpisten, die durch atemberaubende Berglandschaften führen. Zudem Entspannung in den warmen Thermalquellen bei dem Ort Bënja und eine spektakuläre Flusswanderung durch den Lengarica Canyon. Albanien zeigt sich auf dieser Etappe von seiner schönsten Seite. Die Fahrt vom Osum Canyon zum Lengarica Canyon war eine Etappe auf unserem Roadtrip mit dem Allrad-Camper durch Albanien. In meinem folgenden Artikel erfahrt ihr, was euch auf dieser Etappe erwartet und wo ihr die schönsten Stellplätze für die Nacht findet. (Titelfoto: Dr. Till Pasquay)


Inhaltsübersicht und Schnellnavigation

Osum Canyon
Thermalquellen Banjat e Benjës
Flusswanderung im Lengarica Canyon


Osum Canyon

Der Fluss Osum durchfließt auf einer Länge von etwa 14 Kilometern mehrere Canyons mit bis zu 80 Meter hohen Felswänden. Mit seinen gelb-grauen Steilwänden und zerklüfteten Felsformationen formt er eine atemberaubende Landschaft.

Die Stadt Çorovoda ist der Ausgangspunkt für die Erkundung des Canyons. Direkt hinter Çorovoda beginnt die Straße und führt dann auf der linken Seite des Osums flussaufwärts. Ihr fahrt die ganze Zeit direkt an der Abbruchkante der Schlucht und es bieten sich dabei viele spektakuläre Aussichten.

Etwa neun Kilometer hinter Çorovoda lohnt sich zudem ein Zwischenstopp an einer schmalen Brücke über den Canyon. Von hier habt ihr eine tolle Aussicht in die Schlucht und es ist außerdem ein perfekter Stellplatz für eine Pause oder die Nacht (40°27’17.5″N 20°15’57.4″E). Ihr könnt aber auch den Schotterweg hinter der Brücke weiter bergauf fahren. In der zweiten Biegung erreicht ihr anschließend einen kleinen Fluss. Vor der Betonbrücke ist ein schöner Stellplatz direkt neben dem Fluss (40°27’39.4″N 20°15’44.4″E). Hier habt ihr auch gleich Wasser zum Kochen und Waschen.

Nach etwa 13 Kilometern kommt ihr zum Ort Lapanj. Bis hierhin war die Straße asphaltiert. Jetzt führt eine Brücke auf die andere Seite des Osums und es geht auf Schotterpisten weiter. Die Strecke verlässt den Fluss und windet sich die Bergflanken hinauf. Ein paar Siedlungen liegen verstreut auf den fruchtbaren Hochplateaus. Auf etwa halber Strecke gelangt ihr zu einem idyllisch gelegenen Campingplatz. Die hier angebotenen Krapfen mit dem selbstgemachten Honig und Joghurt sind absolut empfehlenswert.

Nach insgesamt 26 Kilometer Schotterpiste erreicht ihr dann die Landstraße SH75 und nach weiteren 21 Kilometern die Schwefelquellen von Benje.

Die Piste ist einfach zu fahren, allerdings gibt es steile Anstiege und unsere Reifen drehten auf dem Schotter öfters durch. Allradantrieb ist von Vorteil. Die Piste ist schmal, aber es ist meistens gut möglich, den wenigen entgegenkommenden Fahrzeugen auszuweichen.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Thermalquellen Banjat e Benjës

Die warmen Thermalquellen bei dem Ort Benje sind die wasserreichsten Thermalquellen von Albanien. Bis zu 30°C warmes, schwefelhaltiges Wasser wird hier im vorderen Abschnitt des Lengarica Canyons in vier unterschiedlich großen Natursteinbecken gefasst. Grade am Wochenende kommen viele Albaner aus den nahegelegenen Städten hierher, um in der Natur zu entspannen. Denn das Wasser soll Heilwirkungen bei Haut-, Magen- und Kreislauferkrankungen sowie Rheuma haben.

Für den Eintritt zu den Thermalquellen und zu dem Bach werden 100 Lek pro Person verlangt. Die Nutzung des Parkplatzes ist dann inklusive.

Auch der angegliederte, sehr einfache Campingplatz lädt zum Bleiben ein. Uns war es bei den Thermalquellen allerding etwas zu voll. Daher sind wir weiter flussaufwärts in den Lengarica Canyon gewandert.

In der Nähe der Thermalquellen gibt es außerdem noch einen schönen Stellplatz mit Aussicht (40°14’40.0″N 20°26’03.2″E). Dazu fahrt ihr nicht links auf den Parkplatz der Schwefelquellen sondern geradeaus weiter. Die Straße steigt an und windet sich die Berge hoch. Auf der linken Seite ist dann seitlich von einer Kurve ein schöner Stellplatz.

zurück zur Inhaltsübersicht


Flusswanderung im Lengarica Canyon

Die Lengarica-Schlucht ist eine schmale Klamm, rund vier Kilometer lang und bis zu 100 Meter tief. An ihrer engsten Stelle ist sie sogar nur etwa drei Meter breit. Von den Thermalquellen aus könnt ihr in den Sommermonaten bei Niedrigwasser etwa 2,5 Kilometer flussaufwärts durch den Canyon wandern.

Gleich zu Beginn geht es an einer der schönsten Steinbrücken aus der osmanischen Zeit vorbei – der Ura e Kadiut. Die Brücke ist ein auf jeden Fall tolles Fotomotiv. Während wir teils am Ufer und teils durchs Wasser laufen, wechselt sich warmes und kaltes Wasser immer wieder ab. Noch ist das Flussbett relativ breit. Daher haben sich hier viele Badegäste an den flachen Ufern gemütlich eingerichtet.

Nach etwa 300 Metern flussauf werden die Wände der Schlucht dann höher und der Wasserlauf immer schmaler, bis es schließlich gar kein Ufer mehr gibt. Die Schlucht ist hier atemberaubend eng, Felsauswaschungen und Grotten liegen links und rechts vom Bach. In einigen der Höhlen soll es sogar prähistorische Wandmalereien geben. Wir waten durch den Fluss, teils auf Sand- teils auf Steinboden. Badeschuhe sind hier von großem Vorteil, denn die Felsen sind verdammt rutschig und mehrmals wäre ich fast unfreiwillig baden gegangen. Hinter einer Rechtskurve weitet sich der Canyon dann wieder auf. Hier gibt es viele schöne ruhige Stellen für eine Pause oder ein Bad. Das Wasser ist hier wesentlich kälter und eine wohltuende Erfrischung. Nach insgesamt etwa 2,5 Kilometern kommt ihr schließlich zu der zweiten Brücke aus der Osmanischen Zeit – der Ura e Dashit.


Hier kommt ihr direkt zu meinem Hauptartikel über unseren Roadtrip Albanien – 15 Highlights inklusive Tipps und Route.

Wart ihr selber schon mal in Albanien? Habt ihr noch Fragen zu meinem Artikel oder weitere Anregungen? Wenn ja, dann schreibt mir doch einen Kommentar!


HINTERLASSEN SIE EINE ANTWORT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here