Vestrahorn – photogenic "Batman Mountain" in Iceland

Vestrahorn - der fotogene
Vestrahorn – photogenic "Batman Mountain" in Iceland

Iceland. For many Icelandic travelers the glacier lagoon Jökulsárlón is the turning point of their road trip. But not far from the ice lagoon is Iceland's "Batman Mountain",one of the most photogenic mountains in the country. The spiky Vestrahorn with its horns makes photographers' hearts beat faster. But also hikers will love the nature idyll around the Vestrahorn in the south of Iceland.

Unassigned, unpaid advertising. The article contains affiliate links.


Vestrahorn – the "Batman Mountain" in the Southeast of Iceland
Why visit the Vestrahorn?
Model Vestrahorn - great Photos guaranteed
Viking Café with Camp Site and Accommodation
Viking Village of Stokksnes
Riding at the Vestrahorn
Hiking at the Vestrahorn and on the Stokksnes Headland
How much Time should one plan?
How to get there & Entrance Fee


Vestrahorn – the "Batman Mountain" in the Southeast of Iceland

The Vestrahorn is part of the 889 m high mountain massif Klifatindur.Besides Vestrahorn, Eystrahorn in the east and the Brunnhorn in front of it belong to Klifatindur. There are also many other smaller peaks and horns that give the mountain massif its special appearance. The peaks of the mountain look similar to the Batman logo (from a distance). Therefore the Vestrahorn is often called "Batman Mountain" by the locals.

Vestrahorn Island
The similarity to the Batman logo is not entirely undeniable.

Good to know: Klifatindur was created during the ice age. Its peaks are the remains of a large volcano that was active about 6 to 7 million years ago. Unlike most mountains in Iceland, Klifatindur is not made of lava, but of magmatic deep rock, grabbo and granophyr.


Why visit the Vestrahorn?

Heading east on the ring road, you quickly pass one of the most photogenic mountains in Iceland - without seeing it. The Vestrahorn and the dune landscape in front of it on the headland Stokksnes are a bit offside. You have to drive there intentionally. But once you have decided to take a little detour over the gravel road, the Vestrahorn will not let you off. I wish I had had more time to photograph this hidden jewel extensively at all times of day and night.

Vestrahorn is with the Kirkjufell the most photographed mountain in Iceland.There are also great hiking opportunities here, including the ascent of the peak of Klifatindur. The landowners run a small inn with a nice café and viking village.There is even the possibility to ride one of the great Icelandic horses. More about this later.

Vestrahorn Island
The only thing missing here are the Icelandic horses in the picture.

Model Vestrahorn - great Photos guaranteed

The mountain with the black dune landscape on the Stokksnes peninsula is a highlight for every landscape photographer.If you browse the internet for pictures of the Vestrahorn, you will be flooded with great shots. The mountain is especially beautiful at sunset or when it is framed by bright green northern lights.

You can reach the best photo spots from the Viking Café via a dead end road. There are four parking lots along the road. To the right and left of the road are wide black sand beaches and two lagoons. The water level in the lagoons is tidal. At low tide they fall dry. At high tide and windless weather you can catch fantastic water reflections of the Vestrahorn in the lagoon. To find the right time, it is best to find out about the tides in advance click here for the tide table.

Panorama Vestrahorn Island
Also on the beach there are great water reflections of the Vestrahorn.

When I arrived at the Vestrahorn, unfortunately there was already low tide. But I could still take pictures of beautiful reflections. Since the beach is very flat, the waves come up far. When they flow back and there is still some water left over the sand, there are also some great reflections.

A little above the beach there is an extraordinary dune landscape.The black dunes are partly covered with beach grass and give a great foreground for your photos. Do you have a tripod and remote shutter release with you? The dunes are a great spot for selfies in front of the mountain. But be careful with the grass, it is an important erosion protection.

Düne vor dem Berg Vestrahorn in Island
The extraordinary dune landscape is a great foreground.

Viking Café with Camp Site and Accommodation

The Viking Caféis rustic and cosy. Here you get a second breakfast, coffee, cake and sandwiches in a really nice atmosphere. If the weather is good, you can also sit outside and enjoy the view over the bay with your coffee. And if the weather is not good, you can browse the souvenirs, write a postcard or use the free WiFi.

You can't get enough of the Vestrahorn and want to spend the night here in the southeast of Iceland? This is also taken care of: Motorhomes can find a Pitch for the Night in the parking lot in front of the café. The guesthouse also offers seven comfortable rooms for travelers.

Cafe Viking Vestrahorn Island
The Viking Cafe with its rustic atmosphere invites one to a second breakfast.

Viking Village of Stokksnes

Left of the Viking Café you can take a walk to the Wikingerdorf “The old Farm” The village was built in 2009 as a location for filming. The building material was mainly driftwood and old telephone poles. The film was never shot, but the village still stands here. The entrance fee is included in the entrance to the Vestrahorn.

Wikingersiedlung Vestrahorn Island
On the other side of the small lagoon is the Viking Village, a film location from 2009.

Riding at the Vestrahorn

Opposite the Viking Café is the Hornhestar Riding Farm,which offers horseback riding tours in front of the breathtaking scenery of the Vestrahorn. You will ride over black sandy beaches and can admire the beautiful landscape of Stokksnes from the back of a horse. How about a photo of you on horseback in front of the Vestrahorn?

The rides last about two hours and take place in a small group of 2 to 4 people. Costs: 20.000 ISK (126 Euro).

Unfortunately I did not have time to go riding here. But instead I had the pleasure to tolt over the black beach in Vík. Read here why you should ride an Icelandic horse in Iceland.

Icelandic horses can be found almost everywhere on Iceland, even on the Stokksnes peninsula.

Hiking at the Vestrahorn and on the Stokksnes Headland

There are several hiking trails on the Stokksnes peninsula and the Vestrahorn. These are shown on the information leaflet that you will receive with your ticket.

  • Hike around the beach Kirkjusandur (6,4 km). You will pass the two best photo spots for the Vestrahorn. At the beach you continue in the direction of the Vestrahorn. At the foot of the mountain turn left and walk through the Viking village back to the Viking Café.
  • Hike to the lighthouse of Stokksnes (0,5 km). From here the old NATO radar station can be seen well.
  • West of the access road there is also a walk around Kirkjusandur beach (4 to 6.5 km). On this hike you can watch seals and seabirds with some luck.
  • The 889 m high Klifatindur is also quite popular with mountain climbers. There is supposed to be a marked route to the summit.
View of the old NATO station at Stokksnes.

How much Time should one plan?

How often on my travels, I like to pack my days too full. Same this time. A weather-related change of plan then upset everything. So I only had 1.5 hours for the Vestrahorn. Somehow I also assumed wrongly that there is nothing more than one photo location. Far from it. I could have spent the whole day here, if not two.

The longer you are here, the better are the chances to photograph the mountain with different cloud formations and moods. Or even to get a weather window suitable for photography - it can rain a lot.

Panorama Vestrahorn Island
A mountain that can be looked at for hours.

How to get there & Entrance Fee

The Stokksnes headland and Vestrahorn mountain are located on the southeast coast of Iceland, about 90 km from the glacier lagoon Jökulsárlón and 15 km from Höfn. You will first pass Höfn on the ring road heading east. After about 7 km turn right just before the tunnel onto an unmarked gravel road. Follow this road for another 6 km to the Viking Café. 

In the Viking Café you pay the entrance fee for the Vestrahorn.That is about seven euros. Together with the entrance ticket you will get a small map of the area with hiking trails and parking areas. If the café is closed, you can also get a ticket from the machine in front of the café. With the ticket the barrier in front of the entrance will open. For the exit the barrier opens automatically.

The drive alone takes you through a beautiful landscape and is a great way to get in the mood for what awaits you here.

Book Recommendations for Iceland

Do you want to know where the journey is going? Then I can recommend this travel guides* to you.

You can order the travel guides on Amazon by clicking on the pictures. If you buy a product via an affiliate link, I get a small commission and you help me to keep filling Fernweh-Motive with interesting articles. This does not make the product more expensive for you.


Do you know the Batman Mountain Vestrahorn in the southeast of Iceland? How did you like it? Do you have any questions or suggestions regarding my article? If so, please write me a comment!

Do you want to know when there are new articles on my blog? Then follow me on Facebook, Pinterest or Instagram. I would also be very happy if you share my article with your friends.


Recommendations for further Reading

Do you love the Scandinavian countries as much as I do? Then you might also be interested in my articles about the Kayak Tour in the Swedish Archipelago or a Trekking Tour to the Greenlandic Ice Sheet.


2 COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Vestrahorn – fotogener „Batman Berg“ in Island

Vestrahorn - der fotogene
Vestrahorn - der fotogene"Batman Berg" in Island

Island. Für viele Island-Reisende ist die Gletscherlagune Jökulsárlón der Umkehrpunkt ihres Roadtrips. Doch nicht weit von der Eislagune befindet sich Islands „Batman-Berg“, einer der fotogensten Berge im ganzen Land. Das stachelige Vestrahorn mit seinen Hörnern lässt Fotografenherzen höher schlagen. Aber auch Wanderer werden die Naturidylle rund um das Vestrahorn im Süden von Island lieben.

Unbeauftragte, unbezahlte Werbung.


Vestrahorn – der „Batman Berg“ im Südosten von Island
Warum das Vestrahorn besuchen?
Fotomodel Vestrahorn – tolle Fotos garantiert
Viking Café mit Camperstellplatz und Unterkünften
Wikingerdorf von Stokksnes
Reiten am Vestrahorn
Wandern am Vestrahorn und auf der Landzunge Stokksnes
Wieviel Zeit sollte man einplanen?
Anfahrt & Eintritt


Vestrahorn – der „Batman Berg“ im Südosten von Island

Das Vestrahorn (757 m) ist Teil des 889 m hohen Bergmassivs Klifatindur. Neben Vestrahorn gehören auch noch Eystrahorn im Osten und das vorgelagerte Brunnhorn zum Klifatindur. Daneben gibt es noch viele weitere kleinere Spitzen und Hörner, die dem Bergmassiv sein besonderes Aussehen geben. Die Gipfel des Berges haben von Weitem betrachtet Ähnlichkeit mit dem Batman Logo. Daher wird das Vestrahorn von den Einheimischen auch gerne „Batman Mountain“ genannt.

Vestrahorn Island
Die Ähnlichkeit mit dem Batman-Logo ist nicht ganz von der Hand zu weisen.

Schön zu wissen: Klifatindur ist in der Eiszeit entstanden. Seine Gipfel sind die Überbleibsel von einem großen Vulkan, der vor etwa 6 bis 7 Millionen Jahren aktiv war. Anders als die meisten Berge in Island, besteht Klifatindur nicht aus Lava, sondern aus magmatischem Tiefengestein, Grabbo und Granophyr.


Warum das Vestrahorn besuchen?

Auf der Ringstraße Richtung Osten, fährt man schnell an einem der fotogensten Berge Islands vorbei – ohne ihn zu sehen. Denn das Vestrahorn und die ihm vorgelagerte Dünenlandschaft auf der Landzunge Stokksnes liegen etwas abseits. Man muss schon gezielt hinfahren. Hat man sich aber für den kleinen Abstecher über die Schotterpiste entschieden, dann lässt einen das Vestrahorn nicht mehr los. Ich wünschte, ich hätte mehr Zeit gehabt, um dieses versteckte Juwel ausgiebig zu allen Tages- und Nachtzeiten zu fotografieren.

Vestrahorn ist mit dem Kirkjufell der am meisten fotografierte Berg in Island. Außerdem gibt es hier tolle Wandermöglichkeiten bis hin zur Besteigung des Gipfels vom Klifatindur. Die Landbesitzer betreiben hier ein kleines Gasthaus mit nettem Café und Wikingerdorf. Es gibt sogar die Möglichkeit, eines der tollen Islandpferde zu reiten. Dazu später mehr.

Vestrahorn Island
Hier fehlen doch nur noch die Islandpferde im Bild, oder?

Fotomodel Vestrahorn – tolle Fotos garantiert

Der Berg mit der schwarzen Dünenlandschaft auf der Halbinsel Stokksnes ist ein Highlight für jeden Landschaftsfotografen. Wenn ihr im Internet nach Bildern des Vestrahorns sucht, dann werdet ihr von großartigen Aufnahmen überflutet. Besonders schön ist der Berg zum Sonnenuntergang oder wenn er von leuchtend grünen Polarlichtern umrahmt ist.

Über eine Stichstraße kommt ihr vom Viking Café zu den besten Fotospots. Entlang der Straße gibt es vier Parkplätze. Rechts und Links von der Straße sind weite schwarze Sandstrände und zwei Lagunen. Der Wasserstand in den Lagunen ist gezeitenabhängig. Bei Ebbe fallen sie trocken. Bei Flut und windstillem Wetter könnt ihr in der Lagune fantastische Wasserspiegelungen des Vestrahorns einfangen. Um den richtigen Zeitpunkt zu finden, informiert ihr euch am besten vorher über die Gezeiten – hier geht’s zur Gezeitentabelle.

Panorama Vestrahorn Island
Auch am Strand ergeben sich tolle Wasserspiegelungen des Vestrahorns.

Als ich am Vestrahorn ankam, war leider schon Ebbe. Spiegelungen konnte ich aber trotzdem fotografieren. Da der Strand sehr flach ist, kommen die Wellen weit hinauf. Wenn sie zurückfließen und noch ein Rest Wasser über dem Sand steht, gibt es auch hier tolle Spiegelungen.

Etwas oberhalb vom Strand befindet sich eine außergewöhnliche Dünenlandschaft. Die schwarzen Dünen sind stellenweise mit Strandgras bewachsen und geben einen tollen Vordergrund für eure Fotos. Habt ihr ein Stativ und Fernauslöser dabei? Die Dünen sind nämlich ein super Spot für Selfies vor dem Berg. Aber seid vorsichtig mit dem Gras, denn es ist ein wichtiger Erosionsschutz.

Düne vor dem Berg Vestrahorn in Island
Die außergewöhnliche Dünenlandschaft ist ein toller Vordergrund.

Das Viking Café mit Camperstellplatz und Unterkünften

Urig und gemütlich ist es im Viking Café. Hier bekommt ihr ein zweites Frühstück, Kaffee, Kuchen und Sandwiches in richtig netter Atmosphäre. Wenn das Wetter gut ist, dann könnt ihr auch draußen sitzen und zum Kaffee die Aussicht über die Bucht genießen. Und wenn das Wetter nicht gut ist, dann könnt ihr drinnen in den Souvenirs stöbern, eine Postkarte schreiben oder das kostenlose WiFi nutzen.

Ihr könnt euch am Vestrahorn nicht sattsehen und wollt hier im Südosten von Island übernachten? Auch dafür ist gesorgt: Wohnmobile können auf dem Parkplatz vor dem Café einen Stellplatz für die Nacht finden. Außerdem bietet das Gästehaus sieben komfortable Zimmer für Reisende.

Cafe Viking Vestrahorn Island
Das Viking Cafe läd mit seiner urigen Atmosphäre zum zweiten Frühstück ein.

Das Wikingerdorf von Stokksnes

Links vom Viking Café könnt ihr noch einen Spaziergang zum Wikingerdorf „The old Farm“ machen. Das Dorf wurde 2009 als Location für Filmaufnahmen errichtet. Als Baumaterial wurden überwiegend Treibholz sowie alte Telefonmasten genutzt. Der Film wurde zwar nie gedreht, doch das Dorf steht hier noch immer. Der Eintritt ist in dem Eintritt zum Vestrahorn enthalten.

Wikingersiedlung Vestrahorn Island
Am anderen Ufer der kleinen Lagune liegt das Wikingerdorf, eine Filmlocation aus dem Jahre 2009.

Reiten am Vestrahorn

Gegenüber vom Viking Café befindet sich der Reiterhof Hornhestar, der Reittouren vor der atemberaubenden Kulisse vom Vestrahorn anbietet. Ihr reitet dabei über schwarze Sandstrände und könnt diese tolle Landschaft von Stokksnes vom Pferderücken aus bewundern. Wie wäre es mit einem Foto von euch hoch zu Ross vor dem Vestrahorn?

Die Ausritte dauern etwa zwei Stunden und finden in einer kleinen Gruppe von 2 bis 4 Personen statt. Kosten: 20.000 ISK (126 Euro).

Ich hab es zeitlich leider nicht geschafft hier reiten zu gehen. Stattdessen hatte ich aber in Vík das Vergnügen, über den schwarzen Strand zu tölten. Lest hier, warum ihr in Island unbedingt ein Islandpferd reiten solltet.

Islandpferde sind auf Island fast überall zu finden, auch auf der Halbinsel Stokksnes.

Wandern am Vestrahorn und auf der Landzunge Stokksnes

An der Halbinsel Stokksnes und dem Vestrahorn gibt es mehrere Wanderpfade. Diese sind auf dem Infozettel, den ihr zusammen mit eurer Eintrittskarte erhaltet, abgebildet.

  • Wanderung um den Strand Kirkjusandur (6,4 km). Dabei kommt ihr an den beiden besten Fotospots für das Vestrahorn vorbei. Am Strand geht es weiter in Richtung Vestrahorn. Am Fuß des Bergs biegt ihr nach links ab und kommt über das Wikingerdorf zurück zum Viking Café.
  • Wanderung zum Leuchtturm von Stokksnes (0,5 km). Von hier kann die alte NATO Radarstation gut gesehen werden.
  • Westlich der Zufahrtsstraße gibt es ebenfalls eine Wanderung um den Strand Kirkjusandur (4 bis 6,5 km). Auf dieser Wanderung könnt ihr mit etwas Glück Robben und Seevögel beobachten.
  • Auch der 889 m hohe Klifatindur ist recht beliebt bei Bergsteigern. Es soll eine ausgewiesene Strecke bis zum Gipfel geben.
Blick auf die alte NATO-Station von Stokksnes.

Wieviel Zeit sollte man einplanen?

Wie oft auf Reisen, packe ich mir meine Tage gerne zu voll. So auch dieses mal. Eine wetterbedingte Planänderung brachte dann alles auch noch durcheinander. So kam es, dass ich nur 1,5 Stunden Zeit für das Vestrahorn hatte. Irgendwie nahm ich bei meiner Planung auch fälschlicherweise an, dass es hier nichts weiter gibt als die eine Fotolocation. Weit gefehlt. Ich hätte hier den ganzen Tag verbringen können, wenn nicht sogar zwei.

Je länger man hier ist, desto besser sind zudem die Chancen, den Berg mit verschiedenen Wolkenformationen und Stimmungen zu fotografieren. Oder überhaupt ein fototaugliches Wetterfenster zu erwischen – es kann ja auch übelst regnen.

Panorama Vestrahorn Island
Ein Berg, den man stundenlang anschauen kann.

Anfahrt & Eintritt

Die Landzunge Stokksnes und der Berg Vestrahorn liegen an der Südostküste Islands, etwa 90 km von der Gletscherlagune Jökulsárlón und 15 km von Höfn entfernt. Ihr fahrt auf der Ringstraße zunächst an Höfn vorbei Richtung Osten. Nach etwa 7 km biegt ihr kurz vor dem Tunnel nach rechts auf eine unmarkierte Schotterstraße ab. Dieser folgt ihr weitere 6 km bis zum Viking Café. 

Im Viking Café bezahlt ihr den Eintritt für das Vestrahorn. Das sind rund sieben Euro. Zu der Eintrittskarte bekommt ihr noch eine kleine Übersichtskarte des Gebietes mit Wanderwegen und Parkplätzen. Wenn das Café geschlossen sein sollte, dann könnt ihr auch in dem Automaten vor dem Café ein Ticket bekommen. Mit der Eintrittskarte öffnet sich dann die Schranke vor der Zufahrt zu den schönsten Fotospots. Für die Ausfahrt öffnet sich die Schranke automatisch.

Schon die Anfahrt führt euch durch eine wunderschöne Landschaft und ist eine tolle Einstimmung auf das was euch hier erwartet.

Kennt ihr den Batman Berg Vestrahorn im Südosten von Island? Wie hat er euch gefallen? Habt ihr noch Fragen oder Anregungen zu meinem Artikel? Wenn ja, dann schreibt mir doch einen Kommentar!

Wollt ihr wissen, wenn es neue Artikel auf meinem Blog gibt? Dann folgt mir doch auf Facebook, Pinterest oder Instagram. Ich freue mich auch riesig, wenn ihr meinen Artikel mit euren Freunden teilt.


Empfehlungen zum Weiterlesen

Liebt ihr die skandinavischen Länder auch so sehr wie ich? Dann interessieren euch vielleicht auch meine Artikel über eine Kajaktour in den schwedischen Schären oder eine Trekkingtour auf den Spuren der Polarforscher auf das Grönländische Inlandeis.


HINTERLASSEN SIE EINE ANTWORT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here