Neist Point - Spectacular Cliffs on Skye and Orca Hotspot

Neist Point - Schönste Klippen von Skye und Orca Hotspot
Neist Point - Spectacular Cliffs on Skye and Orca Hotspot

Scotland, Isle of Skye. In Scotland you can watch whales and dolphins from land. The Hebridean Whale Trail indicates the best observation points. Among them is an Orca Hotspot on the westernmost headland of the Isle of Skye - Neist Point. The steep cliffs with the photogenic lighthouse jut out far into the sea and wait with epic views - with and without orcas.

Unassigned, unpaid advertising. The article contains affiliate links.

Fantastic Cliffs and a Marzipan Figure

Neist Point, in the far west of the Isle of Skye, makes me feel very quiet for a moment. I am standing at the top of the cliffs. The wind blows around my ears. Just don't look down. Or maybe I should? Below, at the foot of the cliffs, the roaring waves break, spray splashes into the air. My knees become soft, I look straight ahead again. And I look at the most beautiful cliffs I have seen on the Isle of Skye.At the very front, at the tip of the headland, a white lighthouse is enthroned like a small marzipan figure on a cream cake.

Neist Point auf der Isle of Skye –  Klippen mit Leuchtturm
In the foreground is the 95-meter-high An t-Aigeach. Behind it, the lighthouse is enthroned like a marzipan figure on a cream cake.

Orca Hotspot of the Isle of Skye

Whales, dolphins, bottlenose dolphins and other marine life can be seen from the west coast of Scotland with a little luck. But in some places the chance is a bit higher than in others. The Hebridean Whale & Dolphin Trust has combined these places in the so-called Hebridean Whale Trail. zusammengefasst.

The Hebrides include a small group of Orcas, the so-called West Coast Community. It consists of eight individuals - four males and four females. They are seen particularly often on the northwest coast of Skye. As soon as I heard about it, I wanted to stay at Neist Point for several days. But in the end it turned out to be just an afternoon - without orcas. But still! It was a great trip with a breathtaking panorama!

Neist Point auf der Isle of Skye –  Klippen mit Leuchtturm
View of the cliffs at Waterstein Head (296 m), the second highest cliffs on Skye.

If you are more lucky and see whales or dolphins, you can report your sightings to the Hebridean Whale & Dolphin Trust to help the whale researchers.

Fantastic, right? The view must be even more beautiful at sunset.

At a glance - Neist Point on Skye

  • Worth seeing headland with lighthouse at the westernmost point of the Isle of Skye
  • Viewpoint and popular photo spot
  • Walk to the lighthouse about 6 kilometers long with 100 meters of altitude
  • View of steep cliffs and Waterstein Head (296m)
  • Wildlife observation: gannets and other sea birds; with luck seals, dolphins and orcas
At Neist Point you can watch gannets fishing.

Walk at Neist Point - from the Viewpoint to the Lighthouse

To the Viewpoint with classic View of the Cliffs

The lighthouse on the cliffs at Neist Point is one of the most popular photo motifs on the Isle of Skye.To get to the lookout point, walk right along the cliffs just after the parking lot. Just walk until you have found your photo perspective. But be careful when taking pictures and doing selfies: the cliffs here are up to 100 meters high. 

The viewpoint of Neist Point from below.

Tip: Come here at sunset. That must be fantastic. I have seen incredible photos on the internet. But unfortunately it didn't fit in our time. We took a boat trip to St. Kilda the next morning and so we preferred to spend the night near the jetty. In my separate article you can read more about the loneliest island of Britain and the largest colony of gannets in the world.

To the Lighthouse

Behind the parking lot, a staircase built into the rock leads down the hill on the left. You will pass the remains of an old cable car, which was used to supply the lighthouse.

Remains of the old cable car on the way to the lighthouse
The way to the lighthouse begins with a long staircase.

The path leads you further and further to the headland with a view of An t-Aigeach (95 m) - the "stallion head" - which divides the headland. The cliff rises steeply and is crossed by the path at the lowest point. From here you have a great view of the cliffs at Waterstein Head (296 m), the second highest cliff on Skye.

View of the headland with the An t-Aigeach.

Tip: Don't forget the midge repellent!

Behind the lighthouse you can see the big foghorn and even more rugged cliffs to explore. From here, you can also observe gannets and other sea birds especially well.

Neist Point auf der Isle of Skye –  Klippen mit Leuchtturm
Behind the lighthouse is the red foghorn.

On the way back it is worth a detour to the right, where you can see a pier with an old rusted crane. This is where the supplies for the lighthouse used to be landed. After that it gets exhausting, because the way back is uphill most of the time.

The crane used to hoist supplies for the lighthouse from the boats.
On the way back, the path is steeply uphill.

The Lighthouse at Neist Point

The lighthouse at Neist Point was built by David Alan Stevenson. The Stevenson family has become famous as lighthouse builders' families, as they built lighthouses in Scotland for five generations. This is probably also the reason why many Scottish lighthouses look so similar. In 1909 it was put into operation.It is 19 meters high and has three floors. If you add the one with cliffs, the fire shines from 43 meters height the ships their way. This has been automatic since 1990 and is controlled from Edinburgh. A lighthouse keeper no longer lives here. Instead, the building was used as a bed & breakfast for a while. But that too belongs to the past. The lighthouse and its outbuildings, which has been listed under historical monuments since 1971, are not in use at the moment and seem a bit sad and deserted from close up.

Neist Point auf der Isle of Skye –  Klippen mit Leuchtturm
The lighthouse at Neist Point was built by a member of the famous Stevenson lighthouse building family.

How to get to Neist Point in the West of Skye?

From Dunvegan you reach Neist Point on the Single Track Road B884 towards Gleann Dail (Glendale). Just before Milovaig a small road branches off to Waterstein and Neist Point. It leads you to a small parking lot above the cliffs. Here the road ends and you continue on foot. There are more marked parking spaces at the edge of the access road.

At the parking lot there is a small hut. A look through the window suggests that a souvenir store is to be built here. I suspect that Covid-19 messed up the schedule a bit, because everything was unfinished and locked.

Tip: Dinner at the Red Roof Restaurant
Not far from Neist Point you will find super delicious vegetarian / vegan food that is produced locally, biologically and ethically.


Book Recommendations for Scotland

You want to know where the journey goes? Then I recommend the following travel guides, which have proven themselves on my trip:


Have you ever been to the Isle of Skye, maybe even to Neist Point? Were you lucky and could watch whales or dolphins? If so, please write me a comment!

Do you want to know when there are new articles on my blog? Then follow me on Facebook, Pinterest or Instagram. I would also be very happy if you share my article with your friends.


Recommendations for further Reading

Do you love lonely islands as much as I do? Then you might also be interested in my articles about the Faroe Islands and the Lofoten and Vesterålen in winter.

Lofoten und Vesterålen - Highlights im Winter
Färöer-Inseln

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Neist Point – Schönste Klippen auf Skye und Orca Hotspot

Neist Point - Schönste Klippen von Skye und Orca Hotspot
Neist Point - Schönste Klippen von Skye und Orca Hotspot

Schottland, Isle of Skye. In Schottland kann man Wale und Delfine von Land aus beobachten. Der Hebridean Whale Trail weist die besten Beobachtungspunkte aus. Darunter ist auch ein Orca Hotspot an der westlichsten Landzunge der Isle of Skye – der Neist Point. Die steilen Klippen mit dem fotogenen Leuchtturm ragen weit ins Meer hinaus und warten mit epischen Aussichten – mit und ohne Orcas.

Fantastische Klippen und eine Marzipanfigur

Der Neist Point, ganz im Westen der Isle of Skye, lässt mich einen Moment ganz still werden. Ich stehe oben am Rand der Klippen. Der Wind weht mir um die Ohren. Bloß nicht nach unten schauen. Oder vielleicht doch? Unten, am Fuß der Klippen brechen sich die tosenden Wellen, Gischt spritzt in die Höhe. Meine Knie werden weich, ich schaue wieder geradeaus. Und blicke auf die schönsten Klippen, die ich auf der Isle of Skye gesehen habe. Ganz vorne an der Spitze der Landzunge thront ein weißer Leuchtturm wie eine kleine Marzipanfigur auf einer Sahnetorte.

Neist Point auf der Isle of Skye –  Klippen mit Leuchtturm
Im Vordergrund erhebt sich der 95 Meter hohe An t-Aigeach. Dahinter thront der der Leuchtturm wie eine Marzipanfigur auf einer Sahnetorte.

Orca Hotspot der Isle of Skye

Wale, Delfine, Tümmler und andere Meeresbewohner können an der Westküste Schottlands mit etwas Glück von der Küste aus gesehen werden. Doch an einigen Orten ist die Chance etwas höher als an anderen. Diese Plätze hat der Hebridean Whale & Dolphin Trust in dem sogenannten Hebridean Whale Trail zusammengefasst.

Bei den Hebriden gibt es unter anderem eine kleine Gruppe Orcas, die sogenannte Westküsten-Gemeinschaft. Sie besteht aus acht Individuen – vier Männchen und vier Weibchen. Besonders oft werden sie an der Nordwestküste von Skye gesehen. Sobald ich davon erfahren hatte, wollte ich gleich mehrere Tage am Neist Point bleiben. Am Ende wurde daraus jedoch leider nur ein Nachmittag – ohne Orcas. Aber dennoch! Es war ein toller Ausflug mit einem atemberaubenden Panorama!

Neist Point auf der Isle of Skye –  Klippen mit Leuchtturm
Ausblick auf die Klippen am Waterstein Head (296 m), den zweithöchsten Klippen auf Skye.

Wenn ihr mehr Glück habt und Wale oder Delfine seht, dann könnt ihr eure Sichtungen auf der Seite des Hebridean Whale & Dolphin Trust melden und so die Walforscher unterstützen.

Fantastisch, oder? Noch schöner muss der Blick zum Sonnenuntergang sein.

Auf einen Blick – Neist Point auf Skye

  • Sehenswerte Landzunge mit Leuchtturm am westlichsten Punkt der Isle of Skye
  • Aussichtspunkt und beliebter Fotospot
  • Spaziergang zum Leuchtturm ca. 6 Kilometer lang mit 100 Höhenmetern
  • Blick auf steile Klippen und den Waterstein Head (296m)
  • Wildlife-Beobachtung: Baßtölpel und andere Seevögel; mit Glück Robben, Delphine und Orcas
Am Neist Point könnt ihr Baßtölpel beim Fischen beobachten.

Spaziergang am Neist Point – vom Aussichtspunkt zum Leuchtturm

Zum Aussichtspunkt mit klassischem Blick auf die Klippen

Der Leuchtturm auf den Klippen am Neist Point ist eines der beliebtesten Fotomotive auf der Isle of Skye. Um zu dem Aussichtspunkt zu kommen, geht ihr gleich hinter dem Parkplatz nach rechts die Klippen entlang. Dabei lauft ihr einfach so weit, bis ihr eure Fotoperspektive gefunden habt. Aber Vorsicht beim Fotografieren und Selfies machen: die Klippen hier sind bis zu 100 Metern hoch. 

Der Aussichtspunkt auf den Neist Point von unten.

Tipp: Kommt zum Sonnenuntergang hierher. Das muss fantastisch sein. Ich habe im Internet unglaubliche Fotos gesehen. Leider hat das bei uns jedoch zeitlich nicht gepasst. Wir haben am nächsten Morgen eine Bootstour nach St. Kilda gemacht und haben daher lieber in der Nähe des Anlegers übernachtet. In meinem separaten Artikel erfahrt ihr mehr über die einsamste Insel Britanniens und die größte Baßtölpel-Kolonie der Welt.

Zum Leuchtturm

Hinter dem Parkplatz führt links eine in den Fels gebaute Treppe den Berg hinunter. Ihr kommt an Resten einer alten Seilbahn vorbei, die früher für die Versorgung des Leuchtturms genutzt wurde.

Reste der alten Seilbahn auf dem Weg zum Leuchtturm
Der Weg zum Leuchtturm beginnt mit einer langen Treppe.

Der Weg führt euch immer weiter auf die Landzunge mit Blick auf den An t-Aigeach (95 m) – den Hengstkopf – der die Landzunge teilt. Die Klippe ragt steil auf und wird von dem Weg an der niedrigsten Stelle überquert. Von hier habt ihr einen tollen Ausblick auf die Klippen am Waterstein Head (296 m), den zweithöchsten Klippen auf Skye.

Blick auf die Landzunge mit dem An t-Aigeach.

Tipp: Mückenspray nicht vergessen!

Hinter dem Leuchtturm seht ihr das große Nebelhorn und noch mehr schroffe Klippen, die ihr erkunden könnt. Von hier lassen sich zudem Baßtölpel und andere Seevögel besonders gut beobachten.

Neist Point auf der Isle of Skye –  Klippen mit Leuchtturm
Hinter dem Leuchtturm befindet sich das rote Nebelhorn.

Auf dem Rückweg lohnt sich ein Abstecher nach rechts, wo ihr einen Anleger mit einem alten verrosteten Kran seht. Hier hat man früher die Vorräte für den Leuchtturm angelandet. Danach wird’s dann anstrengend, denn der Rückweg geht die meiste Zeit bergauf.

Mit dem Kran wurden früher Vorräte für den Leuchtturm von den Booten gehievt.
Auf dem Rückweg geht es steil bergauf.

Der Leuchtturm am Neist Point

Der Leuchtturm am Neist Point wurde von David Alan Stevenson errichtet. Die Familie Stevenson ist als Leuchtturmbauerfamilie berühmt geworden, denn fünf Generationen lang bauten sie Leuchttürme in Schottland. Das ist womöglich auch der Grund, warum sich viele schottische Leuchttürme so ähnlich sehen. Im Jahr 1909 wurde er in Betrieb genommen. Er ist 19 Meter hoch und umfasst drei Stockwerke. Rechnet man die mit Klippen dazu, so leuchtet das Feuer aus 43 Metern Höhe den Schiffen ihren Weg. Das erfolgt seit 1990 automatisch und wird von Edinburgh aus gesteuert. Ein Leuchtturmwärter wohnt hier nicht mehr. Stattdessen wurde das Gebäude eine Zeitlang als Bed & Breakfast genutzt. Doch auch das gehört der Vergangenheit an. Der seit 1971 unter Denkmalschutz gestellte Leuchtturm und seine Nebengebäude werden momentan nicht genutzt und wirken von nahem etwas traurig und verlassen.

Neist Point auf der Isle of Skye –  Klippen mit Leuchtturm
Der Leuchtturm am Neist Point wurde von einem Mitglied der berühmten Leuchtturmbauerfamilie Stevenson errichtet.

Anfahrt zum Neist Point im Westen von Skye

Von Dunvegan erreicht ihr den Neist Point auf der Single Track Road B884 in Richtung Gleann Dail (Glendale). Kurz vor Milovaig zweigt eine kleine Straße nach Waterstein und Neist Point ab. Sie führt euch zu einem kleinen Parkplatz oberhalb der Klippen. Hier endet die Straße und es geht zu Fuß weiter. Weitere markierte Stellplätze befinden sich am Rand der Zufahrtsstraße.

Am Parkplatz befindet sich eine kleine Hütte. Ein Blick durchs Fenster lässt vermuten, dass hier ein Souvenirshop entstehen soll. Ich vermute, dass Covid-19 den Zeitplan etwas durcheinander brachte, denn alles war unfertig und verschlossen.

Tipp: Essen im Red Roof Restaurant
Nicht weit vom Neist Point bekommt ihr super leckeres vegetarisches / veganes Essen das lokal, biologisch und ethisch einwandfrei hergestellt wird.


Wart ihr schon mal auf der Isle of Skye, vielleicht sogar am Neist Point? Hattet ihr Glück und konntet Wale oder Delfine beobachten? Wenn ja, dann schreibt mir doch einen Kommentar!

Wollt ihr wissen, wenn es neue Artikel auf meinem Blog gibt? Dann folgt mir doch auf Facebook, Pinterest oder Instagram. Ich freue mich auch riesig, wenn ihr meinen Artikel mit euren Freunden teilt.


Empfehlungen zum Weiterlesen

Liebt ihr einsame Inseln auch so sehr wie ich? Dann interessieren euch vielleicht auch meine Artikel über die Färöer Inseln und die Lofoten und Vesterålen im Winter.

Lofoten und Vesterålen - Highlights im Winter
Färöer-Inseln

HINTERLASSEN SIE EINE ANTWORT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here