Tsavo National Park - the Realm of the Red Elephants

Tsavo Nationalpark - das Reich der Roten Elefanten
Tsavo Nationalpark - das Reich der Roten Elefanten

Kenya. Do you want to see red elephants? In the national parks of Kenya you will always experience new surprises. This is also the case in Tsavo National Park, the largest and one of the oldest parks in the country. A special feature of the park are its red elephants. Here you can find out what the red elephants are all about and what else you can see in Tsavo National Park.

Unsolicited, unpaid advertising.


With a total area of 21,812 km², Tsavo National Park is the largest of all national parks in Kenya. It is located in the southeast of the country and was established on April 1, 1948 . A year later it was divided into Tsavo West and the slightly larger Tsavo East. The border is formed by the Nairobi-Mombasa highway, which cuts through the park. Another border within the park is formed by the Galana River. All areas north of the river are not accessible for visitors.

Sonnenuntergang im Tsavo East Nationalpark
Evening atmosphere in Tsavo East National Park

Two parks with almost the same name but quite different appearances. But more about that later. Now first to the red elephants.


Why are the Elephants in Tsavo National Park red?

Many visitors come to Tsavo National Park to see the red elephants. The elephants are naturally as gray as all other elephants. The red color comes from the park's red soil, which is rich in iron oxide. The elephants love to cover themselves with the red soil in mud and dust baths. These baths help the elephants keep their skin cool and protect themselves from insects and parasites.

Rote Elefanten im Tsavo Nationalpark Kenia
In Tsavo you are often lucky and see the elephants right next to the track.

And best of all, the chances of you actually seeing the red elephants are extremely good. Because Tsavo is home to Kenya's largest elephant population, which is about one third of the total population.

Rote Elefanten im Tsavo Nationalpark Kenia
Elephant in "camouflage" - Tsavo East National Park
Ameisenburg Tsavo National Park Kenia
Also the huge ant castles are red Wildlife in Tsavo National Park

Wildlife in Tsavo National Park

The "Man-Eaters" of Tsavo

Tsavo National Park is not only known for its large elephant population, but also for its lions - the "man-eaters". It was in 1898 when two lions terrified the construction workers of the East African Railway for months. They came mostly at night and dragged the workers out of their tents. 135 people are said to have fallen victim to them before the lions were eventually shot and made into carpets. Today, the lions can be seen stuffed in the Chicago Field Museum. Based on bone samples, however, it is recently assumed that there were "only" about 35 victims.

Interesting: Male lions in Tsavo National Park have no or only very sparse manes. Nobody knows exactly why. But it is assumed that it is an adaptation to the hot climate.

You want to see more safari photos?
Then have a look at my photo website.
Here you come to the gallery "Big Five & Co"..

Impressive Biodiversity

Tsavo offers a breathtaking variety of landscape, nature and animals. With a little luck you can see all the "Big Five", elephants, rhinos, buffalos, lions and leopards. But besides the Big Five there are also many other animals. Typical species are those that are well adapted to dry savannah regions. These are for example giraffes, oryx antelopes, grant gazelles or giraffe gazelles. There are also zebras, lesser kudus, waterbucks, impalas, dik-diks, hippos, crocodiles, turtles and many other species. Monkeys are also represented with guenons and baboons. These like to hang around the lodges waiting for an opportunity to snatch something edible. Also the hyraxes like to linger at the lodges and are nice to watch.

Grant gazelles in a playful fight

Tip: Tsavo is a birdwatching paradise, with some 600 species. Among them are ostriches, buzzards, kingfishers, hornbills, herons, skimmers, hawks, golden-breasted starlings and palm-nut vultures - to name just a few.

Tsavo National Park is a paradise for birdwatchers.

Poaching

In Tsavo National Park, too, poaching in the 1980s led to catastrophic population declines. For example, the elephant population declined from 40,000 animals in the 1970s to barely 5,000 in 1989 . During these years, the total population of elephants throughout Kenya shrank to a quarter. Only after a global ban on ivory trade went into effect in 1989 did populations slowly recover.

Rote Elefanten im Tsavo Nationalpark Kenia
The poaching of the 1970s and 1980s reduced the elephant population in Kenya by 75%.

However, it was even worse for black rhinos. Between the 1970s and 1980s, 95% of the total population in Kenya was poached. By 1989, the species was nearly extinct.

Today, about 80 black rhinos live in the Ngulia Rhino Sanctuary , fenced off and closely guarded from poachers. The area is densely overgrown with bushes, so it is difficult to see the animals from the outside. Unfortunately, there is no possibility for visitors to visit the sanctuary.


Tsavo West and Tsavo East - what is the Difference?

Tsavo West National Park

Tsavo West National Park is scenically one of the most beautiful parks in Kenya. It encompasses a variety of different landscapes: Mountains and rocky ridges, the crystal clear Mzima Spring with narrow gallery forest, scrublands and acacia forests, as well as a solidified lava flow and extinct volcanic cones. On clear days there is also a fantastic view as far as Kilimanjaro.

In the morning, fog often hangs over the densely forested mountain tops. But the mountainous landscape and the dense vegetation also have a disadvantage: one discovers less animals. The best chance to see animals is when they are standing on the track. This is what the antelopes and also the zebras like to do, because there they feel halfway safe. This is due to the fact that even they can hardly see in the thicket if a predator is approaching. So you should bring some patience and not be disappointed if you don't see so many animals. But the great landscape more than makes up for it.

Oryx im Tsavo Nationalpark Kenia
The Oryx antelopes are not disturbed by our Land Cruiser.
Black Flycatcher - Swainsonschnäpper im Tsavo Nationalpark Kenia
Do you like to watch birds? Then you are right here. Here you can see a very nice Swainson's Flycatcher.

Leopard Feeding

There is a special highlight every evening around 7 pm at Ngulia Safari Lodge. For several years, a piece of meat has been laid out for a leopard at an established feeding station here. From the open balcony of the restaurant you have a good view. But honestly: I don't think much of such feedings. Nevertheless, I went to see it. However, I was quite creeped out when the leopard fixed me directly. He gnawed on the bone for a long time and still looked very hungry to me. What if he just jumped up on the balcony and wanted to eat more? When I shared my concern with our guide, he said that the leopard can't see through the bright lighting between the feeding area and the restaurant and therefore won't hunt through. That reassured me for the time being. But during the whole evening I kept an eye on the surroundings. 

Leopardenfütterung in der Ngulia Safari Lodge, Tsavo West Nationalpark
Leopard feeding at Ngulia Safari Lodge

Mzima Springs

Another highlight of Tsavo West National Park is the Mzima Springs. This crystal clear spring is fed daily from the Chyulu Hills with 250 million liters of water underground.

Mzima is Kiswahili and means "life." There can hardly be a more appropriate name. After all, the spring attracts many wild animals. On a short guided tour you can observe crocodiles and hippos. From an underwater viewing platform you can see for yourself how clear the water is.

What a huge mouth! Hippos can open their mouths up to an angle of 150 degrees.

Shetani Lava Flow

Not far from the Chyulu Hills the red-green landscape suddenly turns black. Here Tsavo West is crossed by a spectacular black lava flow. The last eruption of Shetani was about 200 years ago. Today the lava flow covers an area of about 50 square kilometers. Shetani is Kiswahili and means "devil". Because when the villagers saw burning lava pouring out of the earth, they thought the devil was coming.

Shetani Lavastrom Tsavo Kenia
The Shetani lava flow offers an unusual sight.

Tsavo East National Park

Tsavo East is Kenya's largest national park, covering 11,747 square kilometers. Running through the park is the Yatta Plateau, a lava field 300 kilometers long. It is the longest lava field in the world.

The park is wild and rugged, and impresses with excellent wildlife viewing opportunities. Here the landscape is much drier, flatter and not as dramatic as Tsavo West. The vegetation is dominated by open, thorny scrubland and semi-desert. This has the advantage that the animals are much easier to spot.

We were accommodated at Voi Safari Lodge and were therefore right on the border between the mountain and the plains. From the lodge we had a great view over the plain and on a few waterholes.

Tip for photographers: In the garden of Voi Safari Lodge you can take excellent pictures of lizards. And if you walk all the way down the stairs behind the pool, you will come to a photo hide right next to one of the waterholes.

Agama Eidechse Tsavo Nationalpark Kenia
Agama lizards love to sunbathe on the hot stones.

The best Time to Visit

The park is open all year round and always accessible. Opening hours are 6:00 am to 6:00 pm. In designated areas you can even explore the park on foot accompanied by a Kenya Wildlife Service ranger.

Rainy season: October to January and March to May
Dry season: June to October and January to early March

If you prefer greener scenery, want the best views of Kilimanjaro, and also like bird watching, then you should go during the rainy season. However, if you prefer to see larger wildlife, then you should visit the park during the dry season. The animals are then easier to see when they venture to the rivers and waterholes. There is also a better chance of seeing animals at the waterholes set up by the lodges.

Elefanten Wasserstelle Voi Safari Lodge Tsavo Kenia
View of the waterhole in front of Voi Safari Lodge.

Tip: Tsavo National Park is very easy to reach from Mombasa and can therefore be perfectly combined with a beach holiday on the coast.


Book recommendations for Kenya

You want to know where you are going? Then I can highly recommend these three books for your travel preparation.


Have you ever been to Tsavo National Park and seen the red elephants? Or maybe even one of the "man-eaters"? Do you have any questions or suggestions to my article? If yes, then write me a comment!

Do you want to know when there are new articles on my blog? Then follow me on Facebook, Pinterest or Instagram. I would also be very happy if you share my article with your friends.


Recommendations for further Reading

Do you love wildlife encounters as much as I do? Then you might also be interested in my articles about The Reindeer of the Cairngorms in Scotland or about the Beluga Whales of the Solowezki Islands.

Wildlife in Schottland - die Rentiere der Cairngorms
Wildlife in Scotland - the Reindeer of the Cairngorms
Beluga Whales of the Solowezki Islands

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Tsavo Nationalpark – das Reich der Roten Elefanten

Tsavo Nationalpark - das Reich der Roten Elefanten
Tsavo Nationalpark - das Reich der Roten Elefanten

Kenia. Wollt ihr rote Elefanten sehen? In den Nationalparks von Kenia erlebt man immer wieder neue Überraschungen. So auch in dem Tsavo Nationalpark, dem größten und einem der ältesten Parks des Landes. Eine Besonderheit des Parks sind seine roten Elefanten. Hier erfahrt ihr, was es mit den roten Elefanten auf sich hat und was ihr sonst noch in dem Tsavo Nationalpark sehen könnt.

Unbeauftragte, unbezahlte Werbung.


Der Tsavo Nationalpark ist mit einer Gesamtfläche von 21.812 km² der größte aller Nationalparks in Kenia. Er liegt im Südosten des Landes und wurde am 1. April 1948 eingerichtet. Ein Jahr später wurde er unterteilt in Tsavo West und den etwas größeren Tsavo Ost. Die Grenze bildet die Autobahn Nairobi-Mombasa, die den Park durchschneidet. Eine weitere Grenze innerhalb des Parks bildet der Galana River. Denn alle Bereiche, die nördlich von dem Fluss liegen sind für Besucher nicht zugänglich.

Sonnenuntergang im Tsavo East Nationalpark
Abendstimmung im Tsavo East Nationalpark

Zwei Parks mit fast dem selben Namen aber ganz unterschiedlichem Erscheinungsbild. Aber dazu später mehr. Jetzt erstmal zu den roten Elefanten.


Warum sind die Elefanten im Tsavo Nationalpark rot?

Viele Besucher kommen zum Tsavo Nationalpark, um die roten Elefanten zu sehen. Die Elefanten sind natürlich von Natur aus so grau wie alle anderen Elefanten auch. Die rote Farbe kommt von der eisenoxidreichen roten Erde des Parks. Die Elefanten lieben es, sich in Schlamm- und Staubbädern mit der roten Erde zu bedecken. Diese Bäder helfen den Elefanten, ihre Haut kühl zu halten und sich vor Insekten und Parasiten zu schützen.

Rote Elefanten im Tsavo Nationalpark Kenia
In Tsavo hat man oft Glück und sieht die Elefanten direkt neben der Piste.

Und das Beste: die Chancen, dass ihr die roten Elefanten auch tatsächlich seht, sind äußerst gut. Denn Tsavo ist die Heimat der größten Elefantenpopulation Kenias, das ist etwa ein Drittel der Gesamtpopulation.

Rote Elefanten im Tsavo Nationalpark Kenia
Elefant in „Tarnfarbe“ – Tsavo East Nationalpark
Ameisenburg Tsavo National Park Kenia
Auch die riesigen Ameisenburgen sind rot

Wildlife im Tsavo Nationalpark

Die „Menschenfresser“ von Tsavo

Der Tsavo Nationalpark ist nicht nur für seine große Elefantenpopulation bekannt, sondern auch für seine Löwen – die „Menschenfresser“. Es war im Jahr 1898, als zwei Löwen die Bauarbeiter der Ostafrikanischen Eisenbahn über Monate in Angst und Schrecken versetzten. Sie kamen meist nachts und zogen die Arbeiter aus ihren Zelten. 135 Menschen sollen ihnen zum Opfer gefallen sein, bevor die Löwen schließlich erschossen und zu Teppichen verarbeitet wurden. Heute sind die Löwen ausgestopft im Chicago Field Museum zu sehen. Anhand von Knochenproben wird jedoch neuerdings davon ausgegangen, dass es „nur“ etwa 35 Opfer waren.

Interessant: Männliche Löwen im Tsavo Nationalpark haben keine oder nur sehr schüttere Mähnen. Warum weiß niemand so genau. Man nimmt aber an, dass es eine Anpassung an das heiße Klima ist.

Ihr wollt noch mehr Safari-Fotos sehen?
Dann schaut euch doch mal meine Foto-Webseite an.
Hier kommt ihr zur Galerie „Big Five & Co“.

Beeindruckende Artenvielfalt

Tsavo bietet eine atemberaubende Vielfalt an Landschaft, Natur und Tieren. Mit etwas Glück könnt ihr hier alle „Big Five“ sehen, also Elefanten, Nashörner, Büffel, Löwen und Leoparden. Doch neben den Big Five gibt es auch viele andere Tiere. Typische Arten sind solche, die gut an trockene Savannen-Regionen angepasst sind. Das sind beispielsweise Giraffen, Oryx-Antilopen, Grantgazellen oder Giraffengazellen. Außerdem gibt es Zebras, Kleine Kudus, Wasserböcke, Impalas, Dik-Diks, Flusspferde, Krokodile, Schildkröten und viele weitere Arten. Auch die Affen sind mit Meerkatzen und Pavianen vertreten. Diese lungern gerne an den Lodges herum und warten auf eine Gelegenheit, etwas Essbares zu stibitzen. Auch die Klippschliefer halten sich gerne an den Lodges auf und sorgen für gute Unterhaltung.

Grant-Gazellen in einem spielerischen Kampf

Tipp: Tsavo ist ein Eldorado für Vogelbeobachtungen, denn hier gibt es rund 600 Arten. Darunter sind Strauße, Bussarde, Eisvögel, Nashornvögel, Reiher, Skimmer, Habichte, Goldbruststar und Palmnussgeier – um nur einige zu nennen.

Der Tsavo Nationalpark ist ein Paradies für Birdwatcher.

Wilderei

Auch im Tsavo Nationalpark führte die Wilderei in den 1980er Jahren zu katastrophalen Bestandseinbrüchen. So ging die Elefantenpopulation von 40.000 Tieren in den 1970er Jahren auf nur noch knapp 5.000 Tiere in 1989 zurück. Während dieser Jahre ist die Gesamtpopulation der Elefanten in ganz Kenia auf ein Viertel geschrumpft. Erst nachdem 1989 ein weltweites Handelsverbot für Elfenbein in Kraft trat, erholten sich die Bestände langsam.

Rote Elefanten im Tsavo Nationalpark Kenia
Die Wilderei der 70er und 80er Jahren hat die Elefantenpopulation in Kenia um 75% reduziert.

Noch schlimmer war es jedoch bei den Spitzmaulnashörnern. Zwischen den 1970er und 1980er Jahren wurden 95% des Gesamtbestandes in Kenia gewildert. Im Jahr 1989 war die Art nahezu ausgerottet.

Heute leben in dem Ngulia Rhino Sanctuary etwa 80 Spitzmaulnashörner, eingezäunt und streng bewacht vor Wilderern. Das Gebiet ist dicht mit Gebüsch bewachsen, daher ist es schwierig, die Tiere von außen zu sehen. Für Besucher gibt es leider keine Möglichkeit, das Sanctuary zu besichtigen.


Tsavo West und Tsavo East – was ist der Unterschied?

Tsavo West Nationalpark

Der Tsavo West Nationalpark ist landschaftlich einer der schönsten Parks in Kenia. Er umfasst eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Landschaftsformen: Berge und Felskämme, die kristallklare Mzima-Quelle mit schmalem Galeriewald, Buschlandschaften und Akazienwälder sowie einen erstarrten Lavastrom und erloschene Vulkankegel. An klaren Tagen bietet sich zudem eine fantastische Sicht bis zum Kilimandscharo.

Morgens hängt oft Nebel über den dichtbewaldeten Bergkuppen. Doch die bergige Landschaft und der dichte Bewuchs haben auch einen Nachteil: Man entdeckt weniger Tiere. Die beste Chance, Tiere zu sehen ist, wenn sie auf der Piste stehen. Das machen die Antilopen und auch die Zebras recht gerne, denn da fühlen sie sich halbwegs sicher. Denn auch sie können in dem Dickicht schlecht erkennen, ob sich eine Raubkatze nähert. Ihr solltet also etwas Geduld mitbringen und nicht enttäuscht sein, wenn ihr nicht so viele Tiere seht. Die tolle Landschaft macht es aber mehr als wett.

Oryx im Tsavo Nationalpark Kenia
Die Oryx-Antilopen lassen sich durch unseren Land Cruiser nicht aus der Ruhe bringen.
Black Flycatcher - Swainsonschnäpper im Tsavo Nationalpark Kenia
Beobachtet ihr gerne Vögel? Dann seid ihr hier richtig. Hier seht ihr einen besonders schönen Swainsonschnäpper.

Leopardenfütterung

Ein besonderes Highlight gibt es jeden Abend gegen 19 Uhr in der Ngulia Safari Lodge. Seit mehreren Jahren wird hier an einer angelegten Futterstelle ein Stück Fleisch für einen Leoparden ausgelegt. Vom offenen Balkon des Restaurants hat man einen guten Blick. Aber ehrlich: Ich halte von solchen Fütterungen nicht viel. Dennoch hab ich es mir angesehen. Allerdings hab ich mich ganz schön gegruselt, als mich der Leopard direkt fixiert hat. Er nagte lange Zeit an dem Knochen herum und wirkte auf mich noch immer sehr hungrig. Was, wenn er einfach auf den Balkon springt und mehr fressen will? Als ich meine Sorge mit unseren Guide teilte, meinte er, dass der Leopard durch die helle Beleuchtung zwischen Futterstelle und Restaurant nicht durchblicken kann und daher auch nicht durchjagen wird. Das hat mich erstmal beruhigt. Aber während des ganzen Abends habe ich die Umgebung im Blick behalten. 

Leopardenfütterung in der Ngulia Safari Lodge, Tsavo West Nationalpark
Leopardenfütterung in der Ngulia Safari Lodge

Mzima Springs

Ein weiteres Highlight des Tsavo West Nationalparks sind die Mzima Springs. Diese kristallklare Quelle wird aus den Chyulu Hills täglich mit 250 Millionen Litern Wasser unterirdisch gespeist.

Mzima ist Kiswahili und bedeutet soviel wie „Leben“. Einen passenderen Namen kann es kaum geben. Denn die Quelle zieht viele Wildtiere an. Auf einem kurzen geführten Rundgang könnt ihr Krokodile und Hippos beobachten. Von einer Unterwasser-Aussichtsplattform könnt ihr euch überzeugen, wie klar das Wasser ist.

Was für ein riesiges Maul! Flusspferde können ihr Maul bis zu einem Winkel von 150 Grad öffnen.

Shetani Lavastrom

Nicht weit von den Chyulu Hills wird die rot-grüne Landschaft plötzlich schwarz. Hier wird Tsavo West von einem spektakulären schwarzen Lavastrom durchzogen. Die letzte Eruption des Shetani war vor rund 200 Jahren. Heute bedeckt der Lavastrom eine Fläche von etwa 50 Quadratkilometern. Shetani ist Kiswahili und bedeutet „Teufel“. Denn als die Dorfbewohner sahen, wie brennende Lava aus der Erde hervorquoll, dachten sie, der Teufel kommt.

Shetani Lavastrom Tsavo Kenia
Der Shetani Lavastrom bietet einen ungewöhnlichen Anblick.

Tsavo East Nationalpark

Tsavo East ist mit einer Fläche von 11.747 Quadratkilometern Kenias größter National Park. Durch den Park zieht sich das Yatta-Plateau, ein Lavafeld von 300 Kilometer Länge. Es ist das längste Lava-Feld der Welt.

Der Park ist wild und schroff und beeindruckt mit ausgezeichneten Möglichkeiten für Tierbeobachtungen. Hier ist die Landschaft deutlich trockener, flacher und nicht so dramatisch wie in Tsavo West. Die Vegetation ist von offenem, dornigem Buschland und Halbwüsten geprägt. Das hat den Vorteil, dass die Tiere viel einfacher zu entdecken sind.

Wir waren in der Voi Safari Lodge einquartiert und waren somit genau an der Grenze vom Berg- zum Flachland. Von der Lodge hatten wir einen grandiosen Ausblick über die Ebene und auf ein paar Wasserstellen.

Tipp für Fotografen: In der Gartenanlage der Voi Safari Lodge könnt ihr hervorragend Eidechsen fotografieren. Und wenn ihr die Treppe hinter dem Pool ganz hinunterlauft, dann kommt ihr zu einem Fotoversteck gleich neben einer der Wasserstellen.

Agama Eidechse Tsavo Nationalpark Kenia
Agama Eidechsen lieben es, sich auf den heißen Steinen zu sonnen.

Die beste Reisezeit

Der Park ist ganzjährig geöffnet und immer zugänglich. Die Öffnungszeiten sind 6:00 Uhr bis 18:00 Uhr. In ausgewiesenen Gebieten könnt ihr in Begleitung eines Rangers des Kenya Wildlife Service den Park sogar zu Fuß erkunden.

Regenzeit: Oktober bis Januar und März bis Mai
Trockenzeit: Juni bis Oktober und Januar bis Anfang März

Wenn ihr die Landschaft lieber grüner habt, die beste Aussicht auf den Kilimandscharo wollt und noch dazu gerne Vögel beobachtet, dann solltet ihr in der Regenzeit gehen. Wenn ihr aber lieber größere Wildtiere beobachtet, dann solltet ihr den Park zur Trockenzeit besuchen. Die Tiere sind dann leichter zu sehen, wenn sie sich zu den Flüssen und Wasserstellen wagen. Außerdem sind dann die Chancen besser, an den von den Lodges angelegten Wasserstellen Tiere zu sehen.

Elefanten Wasserstelle Voi Safari Lodge Tsavo Kenia
Blick auf die Wasserstelle vor der Voi Safari Lodge.

Tipp: Der Tsavo Nationalpark lässt sich sehr gut von Mombasa aus erreichen und somit perfekt mit einem Badeaufenthalt an der Küste kombinieren.


Buchempfehlungen für Kenia

Ihr wollt wissen, wo ihr hinreist? Dann kann ich euch diese drei Bücher für eure Reisevorbereitung wärmstens empfehlen.


Wart ihr schon mal im Tsavo Nationalpark und habt die roten Elefanten gesehen? Oder vielleicht sogar einen der „Menschenfresser“? Habt ihr noch Fragen oder Anregungen zu meinem Artikel? Wenn ja, dann schreibt mir doch einen Kommentar!

Wollt ihr wissen, wenn es neue Artikel auf meinem Blog gibt? Dann folgt mir doch auf Facebook, Pinterest oder Instagram. Ich freue mich auch riesig, wenn ihr meinen Artikel mit euren Freunden teilt.


Empfehlungen zum Weiterlesen

Liebt ihr Begegnungen mit Wildtieren auch so sehr wie ich? Dann interessieren euch vielleicht auch meine Artikel über die Rentiere in den Cairngorms, Schottland oder über die Beluga Wale der Solowezki-Inseln.

Wildlife in Schottland - die Rentiere der Cairngorms
Wildlife in Schottland – die Rentiere der Cairngorms
Beluga Wale der Solowezki-Inseln

HINTERLASSEN SIE EINE ANTWORT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here