Hike to Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout, Washington State

Wandertipp für Washington State: Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout
Hike to Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout, Washington State

Washington State, USA. The hike to the Fire Lookout on Mount Pilchuck in Washington State leads through an enchanting forest and over semi-open, rocky sections. At the end of the steep climb, on a clear day, the Fire Lookout offers a 360° panorama of the Cascades, the Olympics and Puget Sound. The hike is considered one of the most challenging but rewarding hikes in Washington State. But is the trail worth it on a cloudy, foggy day?

Unassigned, unpaid advertising. The article contains affiliate links.

Hike zum Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout, Washington State
Hike Mount Pilchuck
Mount Pilchuck

Where is Mount Pilchuck located?

Mount Pilchuck is located in the Mt. Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest, about a three to four hour drive from Seattle. The Mt. Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest extends from the Canadian border west of North Cascades National Park and the Okanogan-Wenatchee National Forest to Mount Rainier National Park. It is one of the most visited forests in the country. Covering nearly 7,000 square miles, it is home to glacier-covered peaks, spectacular mountain meadows and ancient, enchanted forests.

Hike zum Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout, Washington State

Mount Pilchuck Hike at a Glance

Length: 8.4 kilometers (there and back)

Height difference: 647 meters

Difficulty: strenuous, steep trail with many rocks and large boulders, some meters of boulder climbing at the end. When the trail is partially snow covered well into June, route finding can be difficult.

Drinking water: there is a small stream at the beginning of the trail

Parking: there is a parking lot with restroom at the trailhead. No water. Best to come early as the trail is busy.

Highlights: 360° panoramic view in clear weather of the Cascades, Olympics and Puget Sound. On cloudy days, the moody atmosphere in the forest is another highlight.

Best time: July to October, often still snow in June

Nearest town: Granite Falls, Washington

Dogs: Dogs are allowed, but must be kept on a leash.

Google Maps

By loading the map, you accept Google's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load map

The first section of the trail leads us through dense forest. Soon we cross a small stream and then it goes further continuously uphill. The gradient here is still moderate. But the further we get, the steeper it gets.

In fog, which is common here, the moss-covered trees look mystical and mysterious. There are many great photo motifs to discover here.

At some point the trees become a little smaller and we cross the first scree field. Here we also hear the first marmot whistle. Unfortunately, we don't see it, but later we will be able to see them.

Hiking trail to Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout

The trail is sporadically marked with orange slats. Since there is no snow, we can easily follow the trail. The last about 1.5 kilometers consist mainly of boulders. Surefootedness is required here. Finally, Fire Lookout, shrouded by mist, emerges from between the trees. Unfortunately, contrary to the weather forecast, the clouds have not cleared.

To get to the Fire Lookout we have to climb the last few meters over big rocks and up a ladder. The view from up here is supposed to be fantastic. But we see here only a 360° panorama of dense fog. But even so, the little wooden house is a nice destination. Inside, info boards explain which mountains you could see in which direction, including Mount Baker and Mount Rainier. There is also more information about the history of the Fire Lookout at Mount Pilchuck.

Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout

Fire Lookouts

In the 20th century, Fire Lookouts were built after a series of wildfires in Washington State. They were located at vantage points with particularly good all-around views. Of the 750 Fire Lookouts that once existed, only 93 remain today. They are extremely popular with hikers and are among the most beautiful hiking destinations in Washington.

Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout
Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout

The Road to Mount Pilchuck

Coming from Seattle, you will first drive about 1 to 1.5 hours on I-5 North to the town of Granite Falls. From here, drive another 45 minutes on the Mountain Loop Highway until you reach the trailhead. And now it gets fun. The last kilometers on the Mount Pilchuck Access Road require a lot of patience and skill. The 11-kilometer gravel road has countless potholes, most of them in the first few kilometers to just past the parking lot at the Heather Lake Trailhead. If you have a vehicle with high ground clearance, you have a clear advantage. But even with a normal car, the route is quite doable with a little patience. The last 2 kilometers are paved again. At the end you will reach a large parking lot with toilet and information board.

To visit Mount Pilchuck you must pay a Recreation Fee and place the receipt behind the windshield of your car. Among other things, the Discovery Pass is recognized. This costs $10 for a one-day pass or $30 for an annual Discovery Pass. If you're traveling longer and want to visit more than three state parks, the latter is worth it.

Do you need some equipment for your hike? Then take a look at Globetrotter.

Tip: Due to the many rocks and tree roots, I recommend sturdy, ankle-high hiking boots. For the descent trekking poles can be helpful. Take also something warmer to wear for the descent.


Conclusion about the Hike to Mount Pilchuk Fire Lookout

Even when the panoramic view from Fire Lookout is obscured by fog, the hike to Mount Pilchuck is well worth it. The mist creates a particularly atmospheric, mystical scenery, which one would never perceive in sunshine.


Book Recommendations for Washington State

Do you want to know where the journey is going? Then I can recommend this travel guide * to you.

You can order the travel guides at Amazon by clicking on the pictures. If you buy a product via an affiliate link, I get a small commission and you help me to keep filling Fernweh-Motive with interesting articles. The product will not be more expensive for you and you do me a huge favor.


Have you ever been to one of the Fire Lookouts, maybe even Mount Pilchuck? Do you have any questions about my article? If yes, then write me a comment!

Do you want to know when there are new articles on my blog? Then follow me on Facebook, Pinterest or Instagram. I would also be very happy if you share my article with your friends.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin


Recommendations for further Reading

Do you love being outdoors and hiking as much as I do? Then you might also be interested in my articles about Giant Sequoias im Mariposa Grove or about a Besteigung des Half Dome.

Giant Sequoias im Mariposa Grove - Yosemite Nationalpark
Giant Sequoias im Mariposa Grove - Yosemite Nationalpark
Besteigung des Half Dome im Yosemite Nationalpark
Climbing the Half Dome in Yosemite National Park

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Hike zum Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout, Washington State

Wandertipp für Washington State: Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout
Wandertipp für Washington State: Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout

Washington State, USA. Der Hike zu dem Fire Lookout auf dem Mount Pilchuck in Washington State führt durch einen zauberhaften Wald und über halboffene, felsige Abschnitte. Am Ende des steilen Aufstiegs öffnet sich bei klarem Wetter vom Fire Lookout ein 360° Panorama über die Cascades, die Olympics und den Puget Sound. Die Wanderung gilt als eine der anspruchsvollsten aber auch lohnenswertesten Wanderungen im Bundesstaat Washington. Doch lohnt sich der Trail auch an einem bewölkten, nebligen Tag?

Unbeauftragte, unbezahlte Werbung. Der Artikel enthält Affiliate-Links.

Hike zum Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout, Washington State
Hike Mount Pilchuck
Mount Pilchuck

Wo liegt der Mount Pilchuck?

Der Mount Pilchuck befindet sich im Mt. Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest, etwa drei bis vier Autostunden von Seattle entfernt. Der Mt. Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest erstreckt von der kanadischen Grenze westlich des North Cascades National Park und des Okanogan-Wenatchee National Forest bis zum Mount Rainier National Park. Es ist einer der meistbesuchten Wälder des Landes. Auf einer Fläche von fast 7.000 km² finden sich hier gletscherbedeckte Gipfel, spektakuläre Bergwiesen und alte, verwunschene Wälder.

Hike zum Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout, Washington State

Mount Pilchuck Hike auf einen Blick

Länge: 8.4 Kilometer (hin und zurück)

Höhendifferenz: 647 Meter

Schwierigkeit: anstrengender, steiler Trail mit vielen Felsen und großen Steinen, am Ende einige Meter Boulderklettern. Wenn der Weg teilweise bis weit in den Juni hinein schneebedeckt ist, kann die Routenfindung schwierig sein.

Trinkwasser: Es gibt am Anfang des Trails einen kleinen Bach

Parken: am Trailhead ist ein Parkplatz mit Toilette. Kein Wasser! Am besten früh kommen, da der Trail stark besucht ist.

Highlights: 360° Panoramblick bei klarem Wetter auf die Cascades, die Olympics und den Puget Sound. Bei Bewölkung ist die moody Atmosphäre im Wald ein weiteres Highlight.

Beste Zeit: Juli bis Oktober, im Juni oft noch Schnee

Nächste Stadt: Granite Falls, Washington

Hunde: Hunde sind erlaubt, müssen aber an der Leine geführt werden.

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden

Der erste Abschnitt des Weges führt uns durch dichten Wald. Schon bald überqueren wir einen kleinen Bach und dann geht es weiter kontinuierlich bergauf. Die Steigung ist hier noch mäßig. Doch je weiter wir kommen, umso steiler wird es.

Bei Nebel, der hier häufig vorkommt, wirken die moosbehangenen Bäume mystisch und geheimnisvoll. Hier gibt es viele tolle Fotomotive zu entdecken.

Irgendwann werden die Bäume etwas kleiner und wir überqueren das erste Geröllfeld. Hier hören wir auch das erste Murmeltier pfeifen. Leider lässt es sich nicht blicken, aber später werden wir noch welche sehen können.

Hiking trail to Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout

Der Weg ist sporadisch mit orangefarbenen Latten markiert. Da kein Schnee liegt, können wir dem Trail leicht folgen. Die letzten etwa 1,5 Kilometer bestehen hauptsächlich aus Felsbrocken. Hier ist Trittsicherheit gefragt. Schließlich taucht der vom Nebel eingehüllte Fire Lookout zwischen den Bäumen auf. Entgegen dem Wetterbericht hat sich die Bewölkung leider nicht aufgelöst.

Um zu dem Fire Lookout zu gelangen müssen wir die letzten paar Meter über große Felsen klettern und eine Leiter hochsteigen. Die Aussicht von hier oben soll fantastisch sein. Doch wir sehen hier nur ein 360° Panorama von dichtem Nebel. Doch auch so ist das kleine Holzhäuschen ein schönes Ziel. Im Inneren erklären Infotafeln, welche Berge man in welche Richtung sehen könnte, darunter Mount Baker und Mount Rainier. Außerdem gibt es weitere Informationen zu der Geschichte des Fire Lookouts am Mount Pilchuck.

Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout

Fire Lookouts

Im 20 Jahrhundert, wurden nach einer Reihe von Waldbränden in Washington State Fire Lookouts gebaut. Sie befanden sich an Aussichtspunkten mit besonders gutem Rundumblick. Von den einst 750 Fire Lookouts sind heute nur noch 93 erhalten. Sie sind äußerst beliebt bei Wanderern und gehören zu den schönsten Hiking Zielen in Washington.

Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout
Mount Pilchuck Fire Lookout

Die Anfahrt zum Mount Pilchuck

Von Seattle aus kommend, fahrt ihr zunächst etwa 1 bis 1,5 Stunden auf der I-5 North bis zu der Stadt Granite Falls. Von hier fahrt ihr weitere 45 Minuten auf dem Mountain Loop Highway bis ihr die Abzweigung zum Trailhead erreicht. Und jetzt wird’s lustig. Denn die letzten Kilometer auf der Mount Pilchuck Access Road verlangen einiges an Geduld und Geschick. Die etwa 11 Kilometer Schotterstraße hat unzählige Schlaglöcher, die meisten davon auf den ersten Kilometern bis kurz hinter den Parkplatz am Heather Lake Trailhead. Wenn ihr ein Fahrzeug mit hoher Bodenfreiheit habt, dann seid ihr klar im Vorteil. Aber auch mit einem normalen PKW ist die Strecke mit etwas Geduld durchaus machbar. Die letzten 2 Kilometer sind dann wieder asphaltiert. Am Ende erreicht ihr einen großen Parkplatz mit Toilette und Informationstafel.

Um den Mount Pilchuck zu besuchen müsst ihr eine Recreation Fee bezahlen und den Beleg hinter die Windschutzscheibe eures Autos legen. Anerkannt wird unter anderem der Discovery Pass. Dieser kostet 10 $ für einen Tagespass oder 30 $ für einen Discovery-Jahrespass. Wenn ihr länger unterwegs seid und mehr als drei State Parks besuchen wollen, lohnt sich der letztere.

Ihr braucht noch Ausrüstung für eure Wanderung? Dann schaut doch mal bei Globetrotter vorbei.

Tipp: Aufgrund der vielen Steine und Baumwurzeln empfehle ich feste, knöchelhohe Wanderstiefel. Für den Abstieg können Trekkingstöcke hilfreich sein. Nehmt für den Abstieg auch noch etwas Wärmeres zum Anziehen mit.


Fazit zu dem Hike zum Mount Pilchuk Fire Lookout

Auch wenn der Panoramablick vom Fire Lookout durch Nebel verhangen ist, lohnt sich die Wanderung auf den Mount Pilchuck allemal. Der Nebel sorgt für eine besonders stimmungsvolle, mystische Szenerie, die man bei Sonnenschein niemals wahrnehmen würde.


Büchertipps für Washington State

Ihr wollt wissen, wo die Reise hingeht? Dann kann ich euch diese Reiseführer* empfehlen.

Die Reiseführer könnt ihr mit einem Klick auf die Bilder bei Amazon bestellen. Wenn ihr über einen Affiliate-Link ein Produkt kauft, dann bekomme ich dafür eine kleine Provision und ihr helft mir, Fernweh-Motive weiterhin mit interessanten Artikeln zu füllen. Das Produkt wird für euch dadurch nicht teurer und ihr tut mir damit einen riesen Gefallen.


Wart ihr schon mal auf einem der Fire Lookouts, vielleicht sogar auf dem Mount Pilchuck? Habt ihr noch Fragen zu meinem Artikel? Wenn ja, dann schreibt mir doch einen Kommentar!

Wollt ihr wissen, wenn es neue Artikel auf meinem Blog gibt? Dann folgt mir doch auf Facebook, Pinterest oder Instagram. Ich freue mich auch riesig, wenn ihr meinen Artikel mit euren Freunden teilt.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin


Empfehlungen zum Weiterlesen

Liebt ihr das Draußensein und Wandern genauso sehr wie ich? Dann interessieren euch vielleicht auch meine Artikel über Giant Sequoias im Mariposa Grove oder über die Besteigung des Half Dome.

Giant Sequoias im Mariposa Grove - Yosemite Nationalpark
Giant Sequoias im Mariposa Grove – Yosemite Nationalpark
Besteigung des Half Dome im Yosemite Nationalpark
Besteigung des Half Dome im Yosemite Nationalpark

HINTERLASSEN SIE EINE ANTWORT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here