Ascent of Illiniza Norte Volcano in Ecuador

Besteigung des Illiniza Norte in Ecuador
Ascent of Illiniza Norte Volcano in Ecuador

Ecuador. On the way to the summit of Iliniza Norte it was cold, windy and quite steep. I often needed both my hands to get a stable footing with the trekking poles or to climb over the rocks. My camera was safely packed in my backpack most of the time. The first time I took it out was when we were climbing over one ridge and a fantastic view opened up with Cotopaxi in the background. It was like being in another world, just magical. I could have stood there forever. But the wind and the cold drove us on.

Unassigned, unpaid advertising. The article contains affiliate links.

Blick vom Illiniza Norte
The view from Illiniza Norte quickly makes up for the exertions of the climb.

Stratovolcano Illiniza Norte and Illiniza Sur

Illiniza is a no longer active stratovolcano in Ecuador. It is located about 60 km southwest of Quito in the Western Cordillera of the Andes. Of its two peaks, the southern one, Iliniza Sur, is 5245 meters high and covered by a glacier. The northern peak, Illiniza Norte, at 5126 meters high, is a pure rocky peak. Both peaks are separated by a saddle about one kilometer long.

The Illiniza volcanoes are located in the middle of the Reserva Ecológica Los Ilinizas. This ecological reserve is 1342.33 km² in size and was established in 1996. In addition to the Illinizas, it also includes El Corazón volcano and Quilotoa crater lake. To access the Ilinizas Ecological Reserve, one must register at the office at the park entrance.

Der Weg zum Gipfel des Illiniza Norte.
The way to the summit of Illiniza Norte.

Ascent of Illiniza Norte

Illiniza Norte is considered one of the best acclimatization mountains in Ecuador. It is often climbed in preparation for the higher peaks such as Cotopaxi, Chimborazo or Cayambe. Moreover, the route is remarkably beautiful. Illiniza Norte is technically relatively easy, since there is no glacier. The rock climbing ranges up to difficulty level 2 or I/PD on the normal route. This means mostly easy walking terrain (scree, easy boulder ridge), but increased surefootedness is necessary. The climbing sections are clear and problem-free. Combined with cold, wind and altitude, however, it is already a good reason for helmet, climbing harness and rope. Crampons and ice axe are usually not necessary. However, it depends on the weather conditions and the snow or icing.

Important!
If you have little own experience on mountains, book a certified guide! The route to the summit is difficult to find in the last 200-300 meters of altitude. Again and again people who have lost their way have to be rescued from the mountain. Add to that the altitude and rapid weather changes. Train for the climb and make sure you have enough altitude acclimation for you. bucht einen zertifizierten Guide! Die Route zum Gipfel ist auf den letzten 200-300 Höhenmetern schwer zu finden. Immer wieder müssen Leute, die sich verlaufen haben, vom Berg gerettet werden. Dazu kommt die Höhenlage und schnelle Wetteränderungen. Trainiert für die Besteigung und sorgt für eine für euch ausreichende Höhenanpassung.

By the way, Illiniza Sur is technically much more difficult than Norte and can only be climbed with glacier equipment.

The ascent of the Iliniza Norte was supposed to be a preparation for our Cotopaxi ascent. But it turned out differently: a kidney stone at my partne confused the planning of our acclimatization tours a little bit. We climbed the Illiniza only after our Cotopaxi attempt. There the flexibility of our tour provider Gulliver helped us a lot!

Bergflanke des Illiniza Norte
Mountain flank of Illiniza Norte

The Climb of Illiniza Norte at a Glance

  • Total distance: 14 km
  • Height difference: 1.176 m
  • Time: 2 days with overnight stay in the mountain hut. Some climbers also do the tour in one day.
  • Difficulty: medium; in rock climbing the normal route goes up to difficulty level 2 ( I/PD)
  • Maximum altitude: 5.126 m
  • Best season: June to September and November to February

The Sections of the Route

  • La Virgen parking lot (3,950 m) to Nuevos Horizontes mountain hut ( 4,750 m): 3-4 hours
  • Mountain hut Nuevos Horizontes ( 4.750 m) to summit Illiniza Norte (5.126 m): 3-4 hours
  • Descent from 5.126 m to 3.950 m: 2-3 hours
Blick vom Gipfel des Illiniza Norte
View of snow-capped Cotopaxi from the summit of Illiniza Norte.

Acclimatization to the Altitude

It is recommended to spend at least two days at around 3,000 m for acclimatization. Personally, that would not be enough for me. I recommend you to sleep at least four days at this altitude and to do two other summit hikes before, for example on Quito's "local mountain" Pichincha (4.776 m), Pasochoa (4.200 m) or Corazón (4.790 m).

Mountain flank of Illiniza Sur

From the Parking Lot "La Virgen" to the Mountain Hut Nuevos Horizontes

The trailhead to Illiniza is at the "virgin" at the parking lot "La Virgen" at about 3,950 meters above sea level. Here the locals worship the mountain and the earth gods. We load our backpack on the horse and then grab only our daypacks. The sleeping bags, additional warm clothes and everything we need on the summit day brings the rider with his horse to the mountain hut. Super practical. And I willingly pay the additional 50 dollars for the round trip transport.

There are two trails at the beginning: a wider one that the rider takes and a narrower one that we walk. The latter is heavily washed out from the rain. It goes steadily uphill and with some visibility we have a nice view of the neighboring Corazón and the two peaks of Illiniza. At first, the mountain is still covered with the panamo vegetation usual for these heights. But the higher it goes, the more barren the landscape becomes. Soon there are only stones, rocks and boulders around us. The path becomes steeper again, until it then turns largely flat on the last few meters before the mountain hut at an altitude of about 4,750 meters.

As we climb, we always have the peaks of Illiniza Sur and Illiniza Noret in front of us.

Mountain Hut Nuevos Horizontes

The hut is located in the middle of the saddle between the two peaks Illiniza Norte and Illiniza Sur. The saddle is more or less flat and there is a mountain lake. The hut can accommodate about 12 people. Next to the hut there is also space for tents. Next to the sleeping room there is a small kitchen with a dining table. Everything is very simple, but perfectly adequate. There is even electricity to charge cell phones. Drinking water is boiled. Outside there are two flush toilets. And the leftovers are taken care of by a family of Andean foxes that live near the hut.

After I have rested for a while and eaten something I go in search of the foxes. Before I had already seen one out of the kitchen window. But I had no luck. I walked the path towards the summit for a while and was looking forward to the next day.

Berghütte Nuevos Horizontes
Mountain Hut Nuevos Horizontes
Berghütte Nuevos Horizontes
Pool Position: The mountain hut Nuevos Horizontes is located at an altitude of 4,700 meters on the saddle between Illiniza Sur and Illiniza Norte.

Summit Day

The First Meters

After a few hours of sleep, our alarm clock rang at 4 am. I was already awake. Around 2 o'clock another group has already left for Illiniza Sur. This does not go unnoticed despite earplugs. There is no kitchen door. And the group unfortunately did not try to be quiet in any way. Good thing there is coffee here.

After an incredibly sumptuous breakfast for this time of day, we set off. The backpack with everything we don't need anymore is ready to be picked up by the rider. We carry our climbing harness, helmet, headlamp and the daypack with some provisions and 1.5 liters of water.

When we leave the hut, it does not go unobserved. Two eyes follow us in the dark. In the light of my forehead lame they shine orange. They belong to one of the Andean foxes, which has its night camp on a large stone next to the hut. I am happy about the encounter and continue to keep a lookout.

The first section to the summit is still pleasantly flat.
View back in the direction of the hut.

It is shortly after 5 o'clock, the route is still reasonably flat. Only when it is already slightly dusk, it becomes steeper and rockier. It is always nice to watch the world waking up. At first you can only see shadows and outlines. Then slowly colors come into play. First in the sky and then also in the surroundings. The dawn from up here is just fantastic. It is a mostly clear day and we can look up to the Cotopaxi and later also to the Chimborazo.

Especially at dawn, the view from Illiniza of the surrounding volcanoes was particularly beautiful.
A stony path to the summit.

The last few Meters

The last section on the mountain is steep and rocky. Here climbing is the order of the day. We use the rope and deposit our trekking poles on a rock. In this section we have to use our hands for climbing. It goes further and further up and it gets windier and windier. The summit is marked by a small metal summit cross. There is not much space up here and it goes steeply down the sides. I enjoy the view and the small rest. Before it goes down again is still time for a summit photo. Why does one always look so incredibly beat up on these pictures?

It feels better up here with rope. Photo: Cristian Rivera
Taking a break with a view. Photo: Cristian Rivera
Done! What a great feeling! Photo: Cristian Rivera
Illiniza Norte und Illiniza Sur
In contrast to Illiniza Norte, Illiniza Sur is mostly covered with snow.

Who goes up must also go down again - the Descent

We have to hurry, because it looks like rain. Gray clouds are gathering on the horizon and mountains are getting covered by clouds. We climb down the rocks amazingly fast, in some places we continue with rappelling. Finally, after a while, we reach the mountain flank, which consists of loose scree and gravel. We almost slide down and have vegetation around us again within a very short time. I am always amazed at how strenuously and slowly one struggles up the mountain and then how quickly one is back down again.

Over the scree slope it goes down again.

Conclusion: Is the Ascent of Illiniza Norte worth it?

A clear yes! I would do this mountain tour again at any time. Scenically, the area and the view of the surrounding mountains are a real highlight. And also the climbing over the rocks was just great.

For acclimatization and in preparation for a higher mountain, this tour is ideally suited. But also as a single peak of an Ecuador trip I can highly recommend the Illiniza Norte.

With a view like this, it's hard to go back down.

What do I need for the tour?

For the ascent you should definitely have a certified guide. You will also need a harness, trekking poles, helmet and headlamp. Your guide will also have a rope and other small items to set up a belay if necessary. We did not need crampons or ice axe, because there was only little snow or ice and we could simply kick small steps into it with our boots. We walked with normal trekking boots, which was sufficient in our case and was also warm enough. The temperatures were between -2 and 5 degrees Celsius. In other weather, of course, it can be different.

Trekking boots, hiking poles, gloves and everything else you might need for your climb up Illiniza Norte in Ecuador can be found at Bergzeit.

The ascent to the summit is over this ridge.

Book Recommendations for Ecuador

You want to know where the journey goes? Then I can recommend these books*.

You can order the travel guides at Amazon by clicking on the pictures. If you buy a product via an affiliate link, I get a small commission and you help me to keep filling Fernweh-Motive with interesting articles. The product will not be more expensive for you and you do me a huge favor.


Have you ever been to Ecuador, maybe even to the Illiniza Norte volcano? How did you like it? Do you have any questions about my article? If yes, please write me a comment!

Do you want to know when there are new articles on my blog? Then follow me on Facebook, Pinterest or Instagram. I would also be very happy if you share my article with your friends.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin


Recommendations for further Reading

Do you love South America as much as I do? Then you might also be interested in my articles about a Kayak Trip in Patagonia or about a trip to the Tierra del Fuego National Park in Argentina.

Paddeln in Patagonien – die Highlights unserer 3-tägigen Kajaktour
Kayaking in Patagonia - the Highlights of our 3-Day Kayak Tour

Feuerland Nationalpark - Highlights einer Tagestour mit Zug und Bus
Tierra del Fuego National Park - Highlights of a Day Trip by Train and Bus

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Besteigung des Vulkans Illiniza Norte in Ecuador

Besteigung des Illiniza Norte in Ecuador
Besteigung des Illiniza Norte in Ecuador

Ecuador. Auf dem Weg zum Gipfel des Iliniza Norte war es kalt, windig und ziemlich steil. Oft brauchte ich meine beiden Hände, um mit den Trekkingstöcken einen stabilen Stand hinzukriegen oder über die Felsen zu klettern. Meine Kamera war die meiste Zeit über sicher verpackt in meinem Rucksack. Das erste Mal holte ich sie raus, als wir über den einen Bergkamm kletterten und sich ein fantastischer Blick mit dem Cotopaxi im Hintergrund eröffnete. Es war wie in einer andern Welt, einfach magisch. Ich hätte ewig stehen bleiben können. Doch der Wind und die Kälte trieben uns weiter.

Unbeauftragte, unbezahlte Werbung. Der Artikel enthält Affiliate-Links.

Blick vom Illiniza Norte
Der Blick vom Illiniza Norte macht die Strapazen vom Aufstieg schnell wieder wett.

Stratovulkan Illiniza Norte und Illiniza Sur

Illiniza ist ein nicht mehr aktiver Stratovulkan in Ecuador. Er befindet sich etwa 60 km südwestlich von Quito in der Westkordillere der Anden. Von seinen beiden Gipfeln ist der südliche, Iliniza Sur, 5245 Meter hoch und von einem Gletscher bedeckt. Der nördliche Gipfel, Illiniza Norte, ist mit 5126 Metern Höhe ein reiner Felsgipfel. Beide Gipfel sind durch einen etwa einen Kilometer langen Sattel getrennt.

Die Vulkane Illinizas liegen inmitten des Reserva Ecológica Los Ilinizas. Dieses ökologische Reservat ist 1342,33 km² groß und wurde im Jahr 1996 eingerichtet. Es umfasst neben den Illinizas auch den Vulkan El Corazón und den Kratersee Quilotoa. Um Zugang zum Ökologischen Reservat der Ilinizas zu erhalten, muss man sich im Büro am Parkeingang anmelden.

Der Weg zum Gipfel des Illiniza Norte.
Der Weg zum Gipfel des Illiniza Norte.

Besteigung des Illiniza Norte

Der Iliniza Norte gilt als einer der besten Akklimatisierungsberge in Ecuador. Häufig wird er zur Vorbereitung auf die höheren Gipfel wie Cotopaxi, Chimborazo oder Cayambe bestiegen. Zudem ist die Route bemerkenswert schön. Illiniza Norte ist technisch relativ einfach, da es keinen Gletscher gibt. Das Felsklettern reicht auf dem Normalweg bis zum Schwierigkeitsgrad 2 bzw. I/PD. Das heißt meistens einfaches Gehgelände (Geröll, einfacher Blockgrat), allerdings ist eine erhöhte Trittsicherheit nötig. Die Kletterstellen sind übersichtlich und problemlos. Kombiniert mit Kälte, Wind und Höhe ist es jedoch schon ein guter Grund für Helm, Klettergurt und Seil. Steigeisen und Eisaxt sind meist nicht erforderlich. Das hängt jedoch von den Wetterbedingungen und der Schneelage bzw. Vereisung ab.

Übrigens: Der Illiniza Sur ist technisch sehr viel schwieriger als der Norte und nur mit Gletscherausrüstung begehbar.

Die Besteigung des Iliniza Norte sollte eigentlich eine Vorbereitung für unseren Cotopaxi Aufstieg sein. Doch es kam anders: Ein Nierenstein bei meinem Partner brachte die Planung unserer Akklimatisationstouren etwas durcheinander. Wir sind den Illiniza erst nach unserem Cotopaxi Versuch hinauf gestiegen. Da hat uns die Flexibilität unseres Touranbieters Gulliver sehr geholfen!

Bergflanke des Illiniza Norte
Bergflanke des Illiniza Norte

Die Besteigung des Illiniza Norte auf einen Blick

  • Gesamtstrecke: 14 km
  • Höhendifferenz: 1.176 m
  • Zeit: 2 Tage mit Übernachtung in der Berghütte. Manche Bergsteiger gehen die Tour auch an einem Tag.
  • Schwierigkeit: Mittel; im Felsklettern geht der Normalweg bis Schwierigkeitsgrad 2 ( I/PD)
  • Maximale Höhe: 5.126 m
  • Beste Jahreszeit: Juni bis September und November bis Februar

Die Etappen

  • Parkplatz La Virgen (3.950 m) bis Berghütte Nuevos Horizontes ( 4.750 m): 3-4 Stunden
  • Berghütte Nuevos Horizontes ( 4.750 m) bis Gipfel Illiniza Norte (5.126 m):  3-4 Stunden
  • Abstieg von 5.126 m auf 3.950 m: 2-3 Stunden
Blick vom Gipfel des Illiniza Norte
Blick vom Gipfel des Illiniza Norte auf den schneebedeckten Cotopaxi.

Akklimatisation an die Höhe

Es wird empfohlen zur Akklimatisierung mindestens zwei Tage auf rund 3.000 m zu verbringen. Mir persönlich würde das nicht reichen. Ich empfehle euch, mindestens vier Tage in dieser Höhe zu schlafen und vorher zwei andere Gipfelwanderungen zu machen, beispielsweise auf Quitos “Hausberg” Pichincha (4.776 m), den Pasochoa (4.200 m) oder Corazón (4.790 m).

Bergflanke des Illiniza Sur

Vom Parkplatz “La Virgen” bis zur Berghütte Nuevos Horizontes

Der Trailhead zum Illiniza ist an der “Jungfrau” am Parkplatz “La Virgen” in ca. 3.950 Meter Höhe. Hier verehren die Einheimischen den Berg und die Erdgötter. Wir laden unseren Rucksack auf das Pferd und schnappen uns dann nur unsere Tagesrucksäcke. Die Schlafsäcke, zusätzliche warme Kleidung und alles, was wir am Gipfeltag so brauchen bringt ein Reiter mit seinem Pferd bis zur Berghütte. Super praktisch. Und die zusätzlichen 50 Dollar für den Hin- und Rücktransport zahle ich gerne.

Es gibt Anfang zwei Wege: einen breiteren, den der Reiter nimmt und einen schmaleren, den wir gehen. Letzterer ist stark ausgewaschen vom Regen. Es geht stetig bergauf und bei etwas Sicht hat man einen schönen Blick auf den benachbarten Corazón und die beiden Gipfel des Illiniza. Zuerst ist der Berg noch mit der für diese Höhen üblichen Panamo-Vegetation bewachsen. Doch je höher es geht, desto karger wird die Landschaft. Mit einem mal sind nur noch Steine, Felsen und Geröll um uns rum. Der Weg wird noch einmal steiler, bis er dann auf den letzten paar Metern vor der Berghütte in ca. 4.750  Metern Höhe weitgehend eben wird.

Beim Aufstieg haben wir die Gipfel des Illiniza Sur und Illiniza Noret stets vor Augen.

Berghütte Nuevos Horizontes

Die Hütte liegt in der Mitte des Sattels zwischen den zwei Gipfeln Illiniza Norte und Illiniza Sur. Der Sattel ist mehr oder weniger eben und es gibt einen Bergsee. Die Hütte bietet Platz für etwa 12 Personen. Neben der Hütte gibt es darüber hinaus Stellmöglichkeiten für Zelte. Neben dem Schlafraum befindet sich ein kleine Küche mit Esstisch. Alles ist sehr einfach, aber vollkommen ausreichend. Es gibt sogar Strom, um die Handys aufzuladen. Trinkwasser wird abgekocht. Außen gibt es zwei Toiletten mit Spülung. Und um die Essensreste kümmert sich eine Familie Andenfüchse, die hier in der Nähe der Hütte leben.

Nachdem ich mich eine weile ausgeruht und was gegessen habe mache ich mich auf die Suche nach den Füchsen. Zuvor hatte ich schon einen aus dem Küchenfenster heraus gesehen. Doch ich hatte leider kein Glück. Ich lief den Weg ein Stückchen Richtung Gipfel und freute mich auf den kommenden Tag.

Berghütte Nuevos Horizontes
Berghütte Nuevos Horizontes
Berghütte Nuevos Horizontes
Pool Position: Die Berghütte Nuevos Horizontes liegt auf 4.700 Metern Höhe auf dem Sattel zwischen Illiniza Sur und Illiniza Norte.

Der Gipfeltag

Die ersten Meter

Nach wenigen Stunden Schlaf klingelt unser Wecker um 4 Uhr morgens. Ich war bereits wach. Schon um 2 Uhr ist eine andere Gruppe zum Illiniza Sur aufgebrochen. Das bleibt trotz Ohrenstöpsel nicht unbemerkt. Eine Küchentür gibt es nicht. Und die Gruppe hat es auch leider in keinster Weise versucht, leise zu sein. Gut dass es hier Kaffee gibt.

Nach einem für diese Uhrzeit unglaublich üppigen Frühstück brechen wir auf. Der Rucksack mit allem was wir nicht mehr brauchen steht zur Abholung durch den Reiter bereit. Wir tragen unseren Klettergurt, Helm, Stirnlampe und den tagesrucksack mit etwas Proviant und 1,5 Litern Wasser.

Als wir die Hütte verlassen, bleibt das nicht unbeobachtet. Zwei Augen folgen uns im Dunkeln. Im Schein meiner Stirnlame leuchten sie orangefarben auf. Sie gehören einem der Andenfüchse, der auf einem großen Stein neben der Hütte sein Nachtlager hat. Ich freue mich über die Begegnung und halte weiter Ausschau.

Der erste Abschnitt am Gipfeltag ist noch angenehm eben.
Blick zurück in Richtung Hütte.

Es ist kurz nach 5 Uhr, noch ist die Strecke einigermaßen eben. Erst als es schon leicht dämmert, wird es steiler und felsiger. Es ist immer wieder schön, die Welt beim Aufwachen zu beobachten. Zuerst erkennt man nur Schemen und Umrisse. Dann kommen langsam Farben ins Spiel. Zuerst am Himmel und danach dann auch in die Umgebung. Die Morgendämmerung von hier oben ist einfach fantastisch. Es ist ein weitgehend klarer Tag und wir können bis zum Cotopaxi und später auch bis zum Chimborazo blicken.

Besonders im Morgengrauen war der Ausblick vom Illiniza auf die umliegenden Vulkane besonders schön.
Ein steiniger Weg zum Gipfel.

Die letzten paar Meter

Der letzte Abschnitt am Berg ist steil und felsig. Hier ist Klettern angesagt. Das Seil kommt zum Einsatz und wir deponieren unsere Trekkingstöcke an einem Felsen. Hier brauchen wir unsere Hände. Es geht immer weiter hinauf und es wird immer windiger. Der Gipfel wird von einem kleinen Gipfelkreuz aus Metall markiert. Viel Platz ist hier oben nicht und es geht an den Seiten steil hinab. Ich genieße den Ausblick und die kleine Rast. Bevor es wieder hinunter geht ist noch Zeit für ein Gipfelfoto. Warum sieht man eigentlich immer so unglaublich fertig aus auf diesen Bildern?

Mit Seil fühlt es sich hier oben besser an. Foto: Cristian Rivera
Verschnaufpause mit Aussicht. Foto: Cristian Rivera
Geschafft! Was für ein tolles Gefühl! Foto: Cristian Rivera
Illiniza Norte und Illiniza Sur
Im Gegensatz zum Illiniza Norte ist der Illiniza Sur meist schneebedeckt.

Wer hoch geht muss auch wieder runter – der Abstieg

Wir müssen uns beeilen, denn es sieht nach Regen aus.  Am Horizont ziehen graue Wolken auf und unsere Aussicht wird immer wieder von Wolken eingehüllt. Wir klettern die Felsen erstaunlich schnell wieder hinab, an manchen Stellen geht es mit Abseilen weiter. Schließlich erreichen wir nach einer Weile die Bergflanke, die nur aus losem Geröll und Kies besteht. Hier rutschen wir fast hinab und haben in kürzester Zeit wieder Vegetation um uns herum. Ich staune immer wieder, wie mühsam und langsam man sich den Berg hinaufquält und wie schnell man dann wieder unten ist. Während unserer Rückfahrt im Auto fängt es an zu regnen.

Über den Geröllhang geht es wieder hinab.

Fazit: Lohnt sich die Besteigung des Illiniza Norte?

Ein klares Ja! Ich würde diese Bergtour jederzeit wieder machen. Landschaftlich sind die Gegend und die Aussicht auf die umliegenden Berge ein echtes Highlight. Und auch das Klettern über die Felsen war einfach großartig.

Für die Akklimatisation und zur Vorbereitung eines höheren Berges ist diese Tour bestens geeignet. Aber auch als einzelner Gipfel einer Ecuadorreise kann ich den Illiniza Norte sehr empfehlen.

Bei so einer Aussicht fällt es schwer, wieder hinab zu steigen.

Was brauch ich für die Tour?

Für die Besteigung solltet ihr auf jeden Fall einen zertifizierten Guide haben. Außerdem bracht ihr einen Klettergurt, Trekkingstöcke, Helm und Stirnlampe. Euer Guide hat darüber hinaus ein Seil und weitere Kleinteile, um erforderlichenfalls eine Sicherung einzurichten. Steigeisen oder Eispickel brauchten wir nicht, da nur wenig Schnee bzw. Eis lag und wir in dieses mit unseren Stiefeln einfach kleine Stufen treten konnten. Wir sind mit ganz normalen Trekkingstiefeln gelaufen, das hat in unserem Fall gereicht und war warm genug. Die Temperaturen lagen zwischen -2 und 5 Grad Celsius. Bei anderem Wetter kann das natürlich anders aussehen.

Trekkingstiefel, Hikingstöcke, Handschuhe und alles was ihr sonst noch für euren Aufstieg auf den Illiniza Norte in Ecuador gebrauchen könntet, findet ihr bei Bergzeit.

Der Aufstieg zum Gipfel erfolgt über diesen Kamm.

Büchertipps für Ecuador

Ihr wollt wissen, wo die Reise hingeht? Dann kann ich euch diese Bücher* empfehlen.

Die Reiseführer könnt ihr mit einem Klick auf die Bilder bei Amazon bestellen. Wenn ihr über einen Affiliate-Link ein Produkt kauft, dann bekomme ich dafür eine kleine Provision und ihr helft mir, Fernweh-Motive weiterhin mit interessanten Artikeln zu füllen. Das Produkt wird für euch dadurch nicht teurer und ihr tut mir damit einen riesen Gefallen.


Wart ihr selber schon mal in Ecuador, vielleicht sogar auf dem Vulkan Illiniza Norte? Wie hat es euch gefallen? Habt ihr noch Fragen zu meinem Artikel? Wenn ja, dann schreibt mir doch einen Kommentar!

Wollt ihr wissen, wenn es neue Artikel auf meinem Blog gibt? Dann folgt mir doch auf Facebook, Pinterest oder Instagram. Ich freue mich auch riesig, wenn ihr meinen Artikel mit euren Freunden teilt.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin


Empfehlungen zum Weiterlesen

Liebt ihr Südamerika genauso sehr wie ich? Dann interessieren euch vielleicht auch meine Artikel über eine Kajaktour in Patagonien oder über die einen Ausflug in den Feuerland Nationalpark in Argentinien.

Paddeln in Patagonien – die Highlights unserer 3-tägigen Kajaktour
Paddeln in Patagonien – die Highlights unserer 3-tägigen Kajaktour

Feuerland Nationalpark - Highlights einer Tagestour mit Zug und Bus
Feuerland Nationalpark – Highlights einer Tagestour mit Zug und Bus

Kommentieren Sie den Artikel

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Kommentar ein!
Bitte geben Sie hier Ihren Namen ein