Amboseli National Park - Safari with Elephant Guarantee

Amboseli Nationalpark - Safari mit Elefantengarantie
Amboseli National Park - Safari with Elephant Guarantee

Kenya. Amboseli National Park is one of the most popular parks in Kenya. It is known for its large herds of elephants and is also considered the best place to observe elephants. How about an elephant photo with Kilimanjaro in the background? Find out what you can see in Amboseli National Park and why it is so popular for safaris.


Unassigned, unpaid advertising. The article contains affiliate links*.


Highlights of a Safari in Amboseli National Park
Profile Amboseli National Park
Best Time for a Safari in Amboseli National Park
Dream View of the highest Mountain in Africa
Amboseli - the Home of the Elephants
Lions in Amboseli Park
The Swamp Enkong'u Narok - Bird Paradise and Bathtub


You want to see more safari photos?
Then have a look at my photo website.
Here you come to the gallery “Big Five & Co”.

Highlights of a Safari in Amboseli National Park

  • Dream views of snow-capped Kilimanjaro, the highest mountain in Africa.
  • One of the best places to see large herds of elephants up close.
  • Amboseli ist Heimat der “Big Five”.
  • The swamp Enkong'u Narok in the center of the park attracts 1000s of birds and other animals. Especially in the dry season there are best opportunities for wildlife watching.
  • "Observation Hill" with information boards and wide view over Enkong'u Narok swamp.
  • Wildlife is easy to find as much of the park is open savannah landscape.
  • With over 600 species of birds, Amboseli is also an El Dorado for amateur ornithologists.
  • Safaris in the golden morning and evening light are particularly rewarding.

What are the "Big Five"? The so-called "Big Five" are the large African animal species that are known to be dangerous and even deadly. They include lions, leopards, rhinos, elephants and buffalo. The term "Big Five" was introduced by big game hunters for the most difficult animals to hunt.


Profile Amboseli National Park

Location: On the border with Tanzania, 213 kilometers south of Nairobi.

Size: With 392 square kilometers one of the smallest national parks in Kenya.

Elevation: From 1,700 meters above sea level to the 2,760 meters high Ol Doinyo Orok

Name: Der Name Amboseli kommt von dem Maasai-Wort “Empusel”, was soviel wie salzig, Staub bedeutet.

Animals: About 80 species of mammals, including the "Big Five", wildebeests, giraffes, cheetahs, servals, baboons, monkeys, zebras, wild dogs, hyenas, dikdiks and small kudus. Over 600 species of birds, for example flamingos, pelicans, ostriches, African fish eagles, secretary eagles, South African crowned cranes and various species of kingfishers.

Entrance fee: Adults in high season $75; low season $60.

Tip: The park and the swamp are especially beautiful in the morning and evening light. It is best to choose a lodge near the swamp, for example Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge.


Best Time for a Safari in Amboseli National Park

Amboseli is a good destination all year round. Temperatures vary between 20-30 degrees Celsius. There is a rainy season in March and April, and in November and December. During the dry season the air is usually hazy from dust. You will have the clearest view of Kilimanjaro during the rainy season.

iVisa.com

You are still looking for a safari provider for Kenya? We were on the road for 17 days with Natural World Kenya Safaris and were more than happy.


Dream View of the highest Mountain in Africa

Surely you all know the photos of Kilimanjaro, where in the foreground an elephant walks through the picture. Sometimes it is a lion or a giraffe. These photos were taken right here in Amboseli National Park.

Early in the morning a safari in Amboseli Park is the most beautiful!

Kilimanjaro, at 5895 m above sea level, is the highest mountain massif in Africa. However, its snow-covered peak Kibo often hides behind clouds in the afternoon. But in the morning, the air is usually clear and the view of the mountain massif, which is only about 50 kilometers away, is the best. The perfect backdrop for great photos.

Sad facts: Kilimanjaro's ice cap has been severely affected by global warming. Compared to 1912, the ice cap has decreased by 85% by 2020. By 2030, the peak is expected to be free of ice.


Amboseli - the Home of the Elephants

In 1979, there were about 1.3 million elephants in Africa. In Kenya alone, the population declined from 130,000 in 1973 to less than 20,000 in 1989, a drop of 85%. The reason for this catastrophic loss was the ivory trade.Today, on the other hand, the growing population as well as the progressive loss of habitat pose a new threat to the elephants.

The elephants in Amboseli National Park have been largely spared from poaching. The reason for this was the constant presence of researchers and tourists in the park as well as the support of the Maasai. Therefore, the population shows a natural age structure: from young calves to 60 year old elephant cows. Amboseli is known for its large herds of elephants. With around 1500 free-ranging elephants, the park is also considered the best place to observe elephants.

The best conditions for researching population dynamics and social structures in elephant families. But the studies with the Amboseli elephants have provided even more insights. Elephants communicate at a very sophisticated level and are also able to reason and solve problems. They celebrate births, maintain lifelong friendships and mourn the death of family members.

You want to know more about the elephants in Amboseli National Park? Then have a look at Amboseli Trust for Elephants .

Photo tip: In the morning and in the evening the elephant herds move from the surrounding forest areas to the central swamp and back again. They follow well-trodden paths and cross the tracks. 


Lions in Amboseli Park

Lions spend 20 to 21 hours lounging. They hunt in the early morning, evening and night. On our second early morning safari in Amboseli, we were lucky enough to see two lions feeding after a successful night hunt. How did we find them? We followed the vultures as several flew in exactly the same direction. When we arrived, a group of vultures as well as several jackals and hyenas were already waiting for their opportunity to steal a bite from the killed wildebeest.

Kenya's lion population is estimated to have dropped by half since 2004, and the decline is feared to continue. Lions have been hunted in much of Africa for a variety of reasons, most notably conflict with humans.

Do you have enough memory for your photos?

Better take another SD card as a spare, because there are countless motifs on a safari.

You can order the SD card at Amazon by clicking on the picture. If you buy a product via this affiliate link, I get a small commission and you help me to keep filling Fernweh-Motive with interesting content. The product will not be more expensive for you and you do me a huge favor.

Amboseli lions share a similar fate: the park is surrounded by ranches belonging to local Maasai communities. In the dry season, the Maasai are allowed to drive their cattle into the park to gain access to the water in the swamp area. As soon as a lion kills a cattle, the lions are chased.

The relationship between the pastoralists of Africa and the lion is complex. Lions are both a source of fear and a source of pride, as they represent strength and courage. Lion Guardians experts respond when lions attack livestock and tensions arise between animals and humans. In doing so, they help protect both the livelihoods of communities and the lives of lions.

Lions and other predators are critical to maintaining the balance in the Amboseli ecosystem. Without them, the population of herbivores would likely increase beyond the park's carrying capacity and destroy this fragile habitat.


The Swamp Enkong'u Narok - Bird Paradise and Bathtub

The landscape in Amboseli National Park is diverse and changes with the seasons. For example, Lake Amboseli can dry up completely during the dry season. The wetland, on the other hand, is fed by meltwater from the glacier on Kilimanjaro, which flows underground to here. This means that the animals always have fresh water to drink and take a cool bath, even in the dry season.

During the dry season, most of the animals and birds stay around the central swamp area Enkong'u Narok. Sometimes the animals seem stuck in the swamp, so deep do they dive into the cooling water. You can see how deep this is especially well with the elephants: their skin is light on top and dark underneath. The best view over the swamp you have from the "Observation Hill".

The species richness as well as the number of water birds is impressive. Most striking, however, are the countless flamingos, Egyptian geese and herons. The best observation possibilities are offered by the dam that leads through the swamp northwest of "Observation Hill". The king of the skies is the lesser spotted eagle. But the crown is worn by the beautiful South African Crowned Cranes, which you can recognize by the magnificent crown of yellow feathers on their heads.

Besides the lake and the swamp area, the park consists largely of dry savannah with short vegetation,making it easy to find and observe the animals.


Book recommendations for Kenya

You want to know where the journey goes? Then I can recommend these books* about Kenya.

You can order the books at Amazon by clicking on the pictures. If you buy a product through one of these affiliate links, I get a small commission and you help me to keep filling Fernweh-Motive with interesting articles. The product will not be more expensive for you and you do me a huge favor.


Which park is your favorite for a safari in Kenya - also the Amboseli? Do you have any questions or suggestions about my article? If yes, please write me a comment!

Do you want to know when there are new articles on my blog? Then follow me on Facebook, Pinterest or Instagram. I would also be very happy if you share my article with your friends.


Recommendations for further Reading

Do you love wildlife encounters as much as I do? Then you might also be interested in my articles about The Reindeer of the Cairngorms in Scotland or about Beluga Whales of the Solowezki Islands.

Wildlife in Schottland - die Rentiere der Cairngorms
Wildlife in Scotland - the Reindeer of the Cairngorms
Beluga Whales of the Solowezki Islands

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Amboseli Nationalpark – Safari mit Elefantengarantie

Amboseli Nationalpark - Safari mit Elefantengarantie
Amboseli Nationalpark - Safari mit Elefantengarantie

Kenia. Der Amboseli Nationalpark ist einer der beliebtesten Parks in Kenia. Er ist für seine große Elefantenherden bekannt und gilt zudem als der beste Ort, um Elefanten zu beobachten. Wie wäre es mit einem Elefanten-Foto und dem Kilimandscharo im Hintergrund? Hier erfahrt ihr, was ihr im Amboseli Nationalpark sehen könnt und warum der Park für Safaris so beliebt ist.


Unbeauftragte, unbezahlte Werbung.


Highlights einer Safari im Amboseli Nationalpark
Steckbrief Amboseli Nationalpark
Beste Reisezeit für eine Safari im Amboseli Nationalpark
Traumblick auf den höchsten Berg Afrikas
Amboseli – die Heimat der Elefanten
Die Löwen im Amboseli Park
Der Sumpf Enkong’u Narok – Vogelparadies und Badewanne


Highlights einer Safari im Amboseli Nationalpark

  • Traumblick auf den schneebedeckten Kilimandscharo, den höchsten Berg Afrikas.
  • Einer der besten Orte, um große Elefantenherden aus der Nähe zu beobachten.
  • Amboseli ist Heimat der „Big Five“.
  • Der Sumpf Enkong’u Narok im Zentrum des Parks zieht 1000e von Vögeln und anderen Tieren an. Insbesondere in der Trockenzeit gibt es hier beste Möglichkeiten zur Tierbeobachtung.
  • „Observation Hill“ mit Informationstafeln und weitem Blick über den Enkong’u Narok Sumpf.
  • Wildtiere sind einfach zu finden, da der Park zum großen Teil eine offene Savannenlandschaft ist.
  • Mit über 600 Vogelarten ist Amboseli zudem ein Eldorado für Hobby-Ornithologen.
  • Besonders lohnenswert sind Safaris im goldenen Morgen- und Abendlicht.

Was sind die „Big Five“? Die sogenannten „Big Five“ sind die großen afrikanischen Tierarten, die als gefährlich und sogar tödlich bekannt sind. Dazu gehören Löwen, Leoparden, Nashörner, Elefanten und Büffel. Der Begriff „Big Five“ wurde von den Großwildjägern für die am schwierigsten zu jagenden Tiere eingeführt.


Steckbrief Amboseli Nationalpark

Lage: An der Grenze zu Tansania, 213 Kilometer südlich von Nairobi.

Größe: Mit 392 Quadratkilometern einer der kleinsten Nationalparks Kenias.

Höhenlage: von 1.700 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel bis zum 2.760 Meter hohen Ol Doinyo Orok

Name: Der Name Amboseli kommt von dem Maasai-Wort „Empusel“, was soviel wie salzig, Staub bedeutet.

Tiere: Rund 80 Säugetierarten, darunter die „Big Five“, Gnus, Giraffen, Geparden, Servale, Paviane, Affen, Zebras, Wildhunde, Hyänen, Dikdiks und kleine Kudus. Über 600 Vogelarten, beispielsweise Flamingos, Pelikane, Strauße, Schreiseeadler, Sekretäre, Südafrika-Kronenkraniche sowie verschiedene Eisvogelarten.

Eintrittsgebühr: Erwachsene Hochsaison 75 US-Dollar; Nebensaison 60 US-Dollar

Tipp: Der Park und der Sumpf sind im Morgen und Abendlicht besonders schön. Am besten wählt ihr euch eine Lodge in der Nähe des Sumpfes, beispielsweise die Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge.


Beste Reisezeit für eine Safari im Amboseli Nationalpark

Der Amboseli ist ganzjährig ein gutes Reiseziel. Die Temperaturen schwanken zwischen 20-30 Grad Celsius. Es gibt eine Regenzeit im März und April, sowie in November und Dezember. Während der Trockenheit ist die Luft meist diesig vom Staub. Den klarsten Blick auf den Kilimandscharo habt ihr daher in der Regenzeit.

Ihr sucht noch einen Safari-Anbieter für Kenia? Wir waren 17 Tage lang mit Natural World Kenya Safaris unterwegs und mehr als happy.


Traumblick auf den höchsten Berg Afrikas

Sicher kennt ihr alle die Fotos vom Kilimandscharo, wo im Vordergrund ein Elefant durch das Bild läuft. Manchmal ist es auch ein Löwe oder eine Giraffe. Diese Fotos sind genau hier im Amboseli Nationalpark entstanden.

Früh am Morgen ist eine Safari im Amboseli Park am schönsten!

Der Kilimandscharo ist mit 5895 m Höhe über dem Meeresspiegel das höchste Bergmassiv Afrikas. Sein schneebedeckter Gipfel Kibo versteckt sich allerdings Nachmittags oft hinter Wolken. Doch morgens ist die Luft meist klar und die Sicht auf das nur etwa 50 Kilometer entfernte Bergmassiv am besten. Die perfekte Kulisse für tolle Fotos.

Traurige Fakten: Die Eiskappe des Kilimandscharo ist stark von der Klimaerwärmung betroffen. Im Vergleich zum Jahr 1912 hat sich die Eisschicht bis 2020 um 85% verringert. Bis 2030 wird der Gipfel voraussichtlich frei von Eis sein.


Amboseli – die Heimat der Elefanten

Im Jahr 1979 gab es in Afrika etwa 1,3 Millionen Elefanten. Doch zehn Jahre später waren es nur noch rund 600.000. Allein in Kenia ging die Population von 130.000 im Jahr 1973 auf weniger als 20.000 im Jahr 1989 zurück, also um ganze 85%. Grund für diesen katastrophalen Verlust war der Elfenbeinhandel. Heute stellt hingegen die wachsende Bevölkerung sowie der fortschreitende Lebensraumverlust für die Elefanten eine neue Bedrohung dar.

Die Elefanten im Amboseli Nationalpark sind von der Wilderei weitgehend verschont geblieben. Grund dafür war die ständige Anwesenheit von Forschern und Touristen im Park sowie die Unterstützung der Massai. Die Population zeigt daher eine natürliche Altersstruktur: von jungen Kälbern bis hin zu 60 Jahre alten Elefantenkühen. Amboseli ist für seine große Elefanten-Herden bekannt. Mit rund 1500 freilaufenden Elefanten gilt der Park zudem als der beste Ort, um Elefanten zu beobachten.

Beste Voraussetzungen, um die Populationsdynamik und Sozialstrukturen in Elefantenfamilien zu erforschen. Doch die Studien mit den Amboseli-Elefanten haben noch mehr Einblicke geliefert. Elefanten kommunizieren auf einem sehr hoch entwickelten Niveau und sind zudem in der Lage zu argumentieren und Probleme zu lösen. Sie feiern Geburten, pflegen lebenslange Freundschaften und trauern um den Tod von Familienmitgliedern.

Ihr wollt mehr über die Elefanten im Amboseli Nationalpark wissen? Dann schaut mal beim Amboseli Trust for Elephants vorbei.

Fototipp: Morgens und abends wandern die Elefantenherden aus den umliegenden Waldgebieten zum zentralen Sumpf bzw. wieder zurück. Sie folgen dabei ausgetretenen Pfaden und kreuzen dabei die Pisten. 


Die Löwen im Amboseli Park

Löwen verbringen 20 bis 21 Stunden mit Faulenzen. Sie jagen am frühen Morgen, am Abend und in der Nacht. Bei unserer zweiten Early Morning Safari im Amboseli hatten wir Glück und konnten zwei Löwen nach einer erfolgreichen nächtlichen Jagd beim Fressen beobachten. Wie wir sie gefunden haben? Wir sind den Geiern gefolgt, denn mehrere sind in exakt die gleiche Richtung geflogen. Als wir ankamen wartete bereits eine Gruppe von Geiern sowie mehrere Schakale und Hyänen auf ihre Gelegenheit, einen Bissen von dem erlegten Gnu stehlen zu können.

Kenias Löwenpopulation ist seit 2004 schätzungsweise um die Hälfte zurückgegangen, und es wird befürchtet, dass sich der Rückgang fortsetzt. Löwen wurden in weiten Teilen Afrikas aus verschiedenen Gründen, vor allem wegen Konflikten mit Menschen gejagt.

Die Amboseli-Löwen teilen ein ähnliches Schicksal: Der Park ist von Ranches der lokalen Maasai-Gemeinden umgeben. In der Trockenzeit ist es den Massai erlaubt, ihr Vieh in den Park zu treiben, um Zugang zu dem Wasser im Sumpfgebiet zu erhalten. Sobald ein Löwe ein Vieh reißt, wird den Löwen nachgestellt.

Die Beziehung zwischen den Viehhirten Afrikas und dem Löwen ist komplex. Löwen sind sowohl eine Quelle der Angst, als auch eine Quelle des Stolzes, denn sie stehen für Stärke und Mut. Die Experten von Lion Guardians reagieren, wenn Löwen Vieh angreifen und Spannungen zwischen Tieren und Menschen auftreten. Sie helfen damit, sowohl die Lebensgrundlagen der Gemeinden als auch das Leben der Löwen zu schützen.

Löwen und andere Raubtiere sind entscheidend für die Aufrechterhaltung des Gleichgewichts im Ökosystem Amboseli. Ohne sie würde die Population der Pflanzenfresser wahrscheinlich über die Belastungsfähigkeit des Parks hinaus ansteigen und diesen empfindlichen Lebensraum zerstören.


Der Sumpf Enkong’u Narok – Vogelparadies und Badewanne

Die Landschaft im Amboseli Nationalpark ist vielfältig und ändert sich im Laufe der Jahreszeiten. Beispielsweise kann der Lake Amboseli zur Trockenzeit vollständig austrocknen. Das Sumpfgebiet hingegen wird vom Schmelzwassers des Gletschers am Kilimandscharo gespeist, das unterirdisch bis hierher fließt. Dadurch haben die Tiere auch zur Trockenzeit stets frisches Wasser zum Trinken und für ein kühles Bad.

Während der Trockenzeit halten sich die meisten Tiere und Vögel rund um das zentrale Sumpfgebiet Enkong’u Narok auf. Manchmal scheinen die Tiere im Sumpf festzustecken, so tief tauchen sie in das kühlende Wasser ein. Wie tief das ist, kann man besonders gut bei den Elefanten sehen: ihre Haut ist oben hell und unten dunkel. Den besten Blick über den Sumpf habt ihr von dem „Observation Hill“.

Der Artenreichtum sowie die Anzahl der Wasservögel ist beeindruckend. Am auffälligsten sind jedoch die unzähligen Flamingos, Nilgänse und Reiher. Die besten Beobachtungsmöglichkeiten bietet der Damm, der nordwestlich des „Observation Hill“ durch den Sumpf führt. Der König der Lüfte ist der Schreiseeadler. Doch die Krone tragen die wunderschönen Südafrika-Kronenkraniche, welche ihr an der prächtigen Krone aus gelben Federn am Kopf erkennen können.

Neben dem See und dem Sumpfgebiet besteht der Park großflächig aus trockener Savanne mit kurzem Bewuchs, wodurch die Tiere leicht zu finden und zu beobachten sind.


Welcher Park ist euer Favorit für eine Safari in Kenia – auch der Amboseli? Habt ihr noch Fragen oder Anregungen zu meinem Artikel? Wenn ja, dann schreibt mir doch einen Kommentar!

Wollt ihr wissen, wenn es neue Artikel auf meinem Blog gibt? Dann folgt mir doch auf Facebook, Pinterest oder Instagram. Ich freue mich auch riesig, wenn ihr meinen Artikel mit euren Freunden teilt.


Empfehlungen zum Weiterlesen

Liebt ihr Begegnungen mit Wildtieren auch so sehr wie ich? Dann interessieren euch vielleicht auch meine Artikel über die Rentiere in den Cairngorms, Schottland oder über die Beluga Wale der Solowezki-Inseln.

Wildlife in Schottland - die Rentiere der Cairngorms
Wildlife in Schottland – die Rentiere der Cairngorms
Beluga Wale der Solowezki-Inseln

HINTERLASSEN SIE EINE ANTWORT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here