Volcanic Crater Kerið - picturesque Lake at the "Golden Circle" in Iceland

Vulkankrater Kerið – malerischer Kratersee an Islands
Volcanic Crater Kerið - picturesque Lake at the "Golden Circle" in Iceland

Iceland. The volcanic crater Kerið in the southwest of Iceland is a picturesque crater with a bright blue crater lake in the middle. The steeply dropping slopes are made of red volcanic rock and are covered with lush green in some places. You can admire this color spectacle on a short round trip along the crater rim or down by the lake. A stopover is worthwhile. Here you can find out everything you need to know for your visit to Kerið Crater.

Unsolicited, unpaid advertising.

Where is the volcanic Crater Kerið located?

The volcanic crater Kerið is part of the extended "Golden Circle" in the southwest of Iceland. So it is not far away from Reykjavik. Shortly before the town of Selfoss the road to Haukadalur (35) branches off the ring road. After 13 kilometers you reach the volcanic crater Kerið. A visit to the crater can be integrated with the other highlights of the Golden Circle in a day trip from Reykjavik.

Vulkankrater Kerið Island
A staircase leads down to the crater lake

"Golden Circle" - What is that?

The "Golden Circle" is a popular route for a day trip from Reykjavik in southwest Iceland. It includes three of the most famous sights of the island in a round trip of about 300 kilometers. The pure driving time is about 4-5 hours. The sights are: the former Thing site Þingvellir in the national park of the same name, the geothermal area Haukadalur with the geysers and the name-giving "golden waterfall" Gullfoss. If you take Iceland's Golden Circle a little further, you will find the volcano crater Kerið, the hot springs around Laugarvatn and the former bishop's see Skálholt.

The viewpoint is just behind the entrance to the crater

The volcanic Crater Kerið in the Southwest of Iceland

Kerið is the easternmost of five craters in the Tjarnarhólar series. They all belong to the postglacial Grímsnes volcanic field and the eruption belt in the Reykjanes-Langjökull area. Between 5,000 and 6,500 years ago, the lava field Grímsneshraun with an area of 54 square kilometers was formed here from a total of 12 volcanoes. It is assumed that the lava under the solidified crater floor of Kerið flowed off after the eruptions. The crater floor then sank below the water table. Since the lake has no other inflow or outflow, the water level in the crater indicates the groundwater level.

Depth: 55 meters
Length and width: about 270 x 170 meters
Area: about 0.05 square kilometers
Water depth: between 7 and 14 meters

Vulkankrater Kerið Island
There is also a narrow path down by the lake.

Walk around the volcanic Crater Kerið

The entrance to the volcanic crater Kerið is 400 ISK (2,50 Euro). Parking is free of charge. After a few meters you will reach a viewpoint with a view to the blue crater lake. From here you can walk along the circular path at the crater rim, which is about 900 meters. To the left of the viewing platform there are stairs leading down to the lake. If you also walk the lower circular path around the lake, you will extend your walk to about 1.5 kilometers.

The parking lot and the access to the crater are open around the clock. I was there all alone at about 8 o'clock in the evening on a rainy day. Even the ticket booth was closed.

Next to the ticket office there are information boards with the rules and a short text about the formation of the crater.

Do you know the volcanic crater Kerið in Iceland? How did you like it? Do you have any questions or suggestions regarding my article? If so, please write me a comment!

Do you want to know when there are new articles on my blog? Then follow me on Facebook, Pinterest or Instagram. I would also be very happy if you share my article with your friends.

Vulkankrater Kerið Island

Recommendations for further Reading

Do you love the Scandinavian countries as much as I do? Then you might also be interested in my articles about the Kayak Tour in the Swedish Archipelago or a Trekking Tour to the Greenlandic Ice Sheet.

Kajaktour durch Schwedens Schären - die besten Tipps für eure Tourplanung

Hiking Tour vom Eqi-Gletscher zum grönländischen Inlandeis auf eigene Faust

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Vulkankrater Kerið – malerischer See am „Golden Circle“ in Island

Vulkankrater Kerið – malerischer Kratersee an Islands
Vulkankrater Kerið – malerischer Kratersee an Islands "Golden Circle"

Island. Der Vulkankrater Kerið im Südwesten von Island ist ein malerischer Krater mit einem leuchtend blauen Kratersee in der Mitte. Die steil abfallenden Hänge sind aus rotem Vulkangestein und stellenweise mit saftigem Grün bewachsen. Dieses Farbspektakel könnt ihr auf einer kleinen Rundwanderung am Kraterrand oder unten am See bewundern. Ein Zwischenstopp lohnt sich. Hier erfahrt ihr alles für euren Besuch des Kerið Kraters.

Unbeauftragte, unbezahlte Werbung.

Wo befindet sich der Vulkankrater Kerið?

Der Vulkankrater Kerið ist Teil des erweiterten „Golden Circle“ im Südwesten von Island. Er ist somit gar nicht weit weg von Reykjavik. Kurz vor dem Ort Selfoss zweigt die Straße ins Haukadalur (35) von der Ringstraße ab. Nach 13 Kilometern erreicht ihr den Vulkankrater Kerið. Ein Besuch des Kraters lässt sich super mit den anderen Highlights des Golden Circle in einen Tagesausflug von Reykjavik integrieren.

Vulkankrater Kerið Island
Eine Treppe führt hinab bis zum Kratersee

„Golden Circle“ – Was ist das?

Der „Golden Circle“ ist eine beliebte Route für einen Tagesausflug von Reykjavik im Südwesten von Island. Sie umfasst drei der bekanntesten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Insel in einer rund 300 Kilometer langen Rundfahrt. Die reine Fahrzeit beträgt etwa 4–5 Stunden. Die Sehenswürdigkeiten sind: die ehemalige Thing-Stätte Þingvellir im gleichnamigen Nationalpark, das Geothermalgebiet Haukadalur mit den Geysiren und der namensgebende „goldene Wasserfall“ Gullfoss. Wenn man Islands Golden Circle etwas weiter fasst, dann kommen der Vulkankrater Kerið, die heißen Quellen um Laugarvatn sowie der ehemalige Bischofssitz Skálholt dazu.

Der Aussichtspunkt liegt gleich hinter dem Eingang zum Krater

Der Vulkankrater Kerið im Südwesten von Island

Kerið ist der östlichste von fünf Kratern der Kraterreihe Tjarnarhólar. Sie alle gehören zum postglazialen Grímsnes-Vulkanfeld und zum Eruptionsgürtel im Reykjanes–Langjökull–Gebiet. Vor 5.000 bis 6.500 Jahren entstand hier aus insgesamt 12 Vulkanen das Lavafeld Grímsneshraun mit einer Fläche von 54 Quadratkilometern. Es wird angenommen, dass die Lava unter dem verfestigten Kraterboden des Kerið nach den Eruptionen abfloss. Der Kraterboden sank anschließend unter den Grundwasserspiegel ab. Da der See keinen anderen Zu- oder Abfluss hat, zeigt der Wasserstand im Krater den Grundwasserstand an.

Tiefe: 55 Meter
Länge und Breite: etwa 270 x 170 Meter
Fläche: etwa 0,05 Quadratkilometer
Wassertiefe: zwischen 7 und 14 Meter

Vulkankrater Kerið Island
Auch unten am See gibt es einen schmalen Pfad.

Spaziergang um den Vulkankrater Kerið

Der Eintritt zum Vulkankrater Kerið beträgt 400 ISK (2,50 Euro). Das Parken ist hingegen kostenlos. Nach ein paar Metern erreicht ihr einen Aussichtspunkt mit Blick auf den blauen Kratersee. Von hier könnt ihr den Rundweg am Kraterrand entlanglaufen, das sind etwa 900 Meter. Links von der Aussichtsplattform führt eine Treppe hinab zum See. Wenn ihr auch den unteren Rundweg um den See lauft, dann verlängert ihr euren Spaziergang auf etwa 1,5 Kilometer.

Der Parkplatz und der Zugang zum Krater sind rund um die Uhr geöffnet. Ich war an einem verregneten Tag gegen 8 Uhr abends ganz alleine dort. Selbst das Kassenhäuschen hatte geschlossen.

Neben dem Kassenhäuschen sind Informationstafeln mit den Spielregeln sowie zur Enstehung des Kraters aufgestellt.

Kennt ihr den Vulkankrater Kerið in Island? Wie hat er euch gefallen? Habt ihr noch Fragen oder Anregungen zu meinem Artikel? Wenn ja, dann schreibt mir doch einen Kommentar!

Wollt ihr wissen, wenn es neue Artikel auf meinem Blog gibt? Dann folgt mir doch auf Facebook, Pinterest oder Instagram. Ich freue mich auch riesig, wenn ihr meinen Artikel mit euren Freunden teilt.

Vulkankrater Kerið Island

Empfehlungen zum Weiterlesen

Liebt ihr die skandinavischen Länder auch so sehr wie ich? Dann interessieren euch vielleicht auch meine Artikel über eine Kajaktour in den schwedischen Schären oder eine Trekkingtour auf den Spuren der Polarforscher auf das Grönländische Inlandeis.

Kajaktour durch Schwedens Schären - die besten Tipps für eure Tourplanung

Hiking Tour vom Eqi-Gletscher zum grönländischen Inlandeis auf eigene Faust

2 KOMMENTARE

HINTERLASSEN SIE EINE ANTWORT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here