Sea Cave "Spar Cave" on the Isle of Skye

Meereshöhle
Sea Cave "Spar Cave" on the Isle of Skye

Scotland. White limestone formations remind one of icy waterfalls. Stalactites hang from the cave ceiling and a pitch-black lake makes the mystical atmosphere even more mystical. A trip to this beautiful sea cave is a little adventure and awakens the desire for discovery. Here you can learn all about a visit to Spar Cave on the Isle of Skye.

Unassigned, unpaid advertising. The article contains affiliate links.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
Limestone formations at the bottom of the cave

Discover a sea cave with real dripstone formations on your own? Without marked out visitor paths and permanently installed artificial lighting? Sounds almost too good to be true. To visit Spar Cave on the Isle of Skye, you have to plan ahead because it is only accessible at low tide. But more about that later.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
The walls of the cave look like an icy waterfall.

Curious? Here you can enter the cave directly!

Don't forget your flashlights! A Head lampis the best choice, because you climb a steep sinter staircase in the cave. Also take at least one spare lamp with you.

Where is the Spar Cave?

Spar Cave is located near the charming village of Elgol, in the southwest of the Isle of Skye. From Broadfort you drive about half an hour to Elgol. A ride to enjoy - because with the view of the Cuillin Hills it is one of the most scenic routes on Skye.

From Elgol it's another 5 minutes drive to Glasnakille. You can park your car in front of the cattle grid just before the T-junction at Glasnakille. By the way: there is also a bus to Glasnakille.

How does one get to the Cave?

Trail from the Parking Lot to the Water

From the parking lot turn right at the T-junction. Behind a ruin of a stone building you will enter the field through a gate. From here a path leads down to the coast. Keep right and do not follow the path to the left. A steep descent leads you into a narrow bay. The ground is covered with large boulders, but they are easy to climb over.

Behind the ruin there is a gate in the fence - here the path begins

Over Rocks along the Coast

As soon as the water level is low enough, you can climb from the bay over the rocks to the left. This can sometimes be a bit slippery, because the rocks are covered with seaweed and algae in places. The lower the water level is, the easier it gets.

After the descent to the coast its time for climbing

Behind the headland follows another bay. But only the second bay is the entrance to Spar Cave. This gorge is about 10 meters wide and 70 meters long. The entrance to the cave is at the very end of the gorge and is framed by vertical rock walls up to 20 meters high.

Arrived - the gorge of Spar Cave. The cave entrance is located at the very end of the gorge.

Waiting for the Low Tide - the Access to Spar Cave

With dry Feet into the Cave

The access to the cave is only possible during low tide with dry feet. You have a time window of about 2 hours - one hour before the lowest water level and one after. You can check the tides here The time window of 2 hours is absolutely sufficient to visit the cave. The cave is about 100 meters deep and can be explored relatively quickly. You can't get lost in the cave because there are no branches.

The Entrance to the Cave

If it happens anyhow and the tide surprises you, you are not in danger or trapped in the cave. In front of the cave entrance there is enough space under the open sky. You only have to wait about 12 hours until the next low tide.

But there is another way:
(the water level must have sunk a bit before you can enter the first two bays)

Climbing

Are you fit in Climbing? Then you can climb a little earlier on the rock face towards the cave. The wall is vertical, but has many protrusions. I tried it, but I turned back with a little shaky knees. Others were more courageous and made it.

Our way there: The water was not yet low enough, so we climbed or waded through the water.

By the way: That afternoon we were not the only cave explorers who went to the Spar Cave of Skye. But the gorge and cave were by no means overcrowded. There was a really nice atmosphere in front of the entrance. Everybody helped the others with tips and tricks without appearing arrogant or know-it-all. Really nice!

Wading

We were down by the water in front of the cave before the recommended access time. Our curiosity was just too great and we didn't want to wait any longer. The climbing didn't work out, so shoes off and on through the water. We were able to walk barefoot (I know one shouldn't do that) quite well on the rocks, our Trekking poles gave us stability. But it was a pretty wet affair, the water went up to my knee at one point. Other visitors were better equipped and had waders with them.

On the way back we came back with dry feet and easy climbing. Maybe we should have just waited a few more minutes for the way there...

Our way back: Now the water is lower. We were able to leave the canyon with dry feet and very easy climbing.

snorkeling

Snorkeling is certainly the coolest and most elegant way to visit a sea cave. Then you will be completely independent from the tides and also experience the great underwater world with the lush seaweed.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
I envied the snorkelers a little...

In the Spar Cave on the Isle of Skye

There are two cave entrances. The right one ends after about 20 meters, the left one is the entrance to Spar Cave. It is about 100 meters long and two to four meters wide with high vertical walls.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
At the entrance the ground is muddy and the walls are covered with green algae.

The further you penetrate into the cave, the more beautiful it becomes. The walls and floor are now covered with white flowstone formations of deposited calcium carbonate. Soon the cave floor rises and you are standing in front of a sinter staircaseabout 10 meters high. It reminds you of an icy waterfall and looks damn slippery. However, once again it offers a good grip and can be walked on.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
The sinter stairs lead up to a small plateau.

From its highest point you look down on a small cave lake. Pitch black it lies in front of us and is the end of the cave for us. Behind the lake, however, the passage continues a bit further until reaching a second lake. The water is really cold. So we were told by two snorkelers who fearlessly made their way to the end of the cave.

Two snorkelers explore the two cave lakes.

Above the lake, where they are unreachable, there are still some Stalactiteshanging. They are beautiful. Once there should have been much more. But former cave visitors took them home as trophies. Do not copy them!!! Respect the nature. Then many visitors after you can still enjoy the beauty of the cave and the centuries old stalactites.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
The last stalactites of the cave

Flowstones are cave formations made up of mineral deposits that are typically formed in limestone caves - so-called solution caves. The formations consist of layered deposits of calcite or other carbonate minerals. They are formed where water flows along the walls or floors of a cave. Stalactites on the other hand, are mineral deposits that hang down from the cave ceiling.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
The wet cave walls shine like ice.

back to the beginning

Spar Cave as Baby Hiding Place

Auf Gälisch heißt die Spar Cave “Sloched Altrimen” was soviel wie “Säuglingshöhle” The name has its origin in the time of the clans: The daughter of a clan leader had to hide her baby temporarily in the cave. Because it was from the son of an enemy clan chief.

By the way: not only a baby was hidden in a cave. Bonnie Prince Charlie was also hiding in different caves on the Isle of Skye, one of them is very close to Spar Cave. This cave is also only accessible at low tide.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
The bottom of the cave is covered with limestone formations that remind me of brain corals.

What is there near Spar Cave?

In the southwest of the Isle of Skye there are a few more places worth seeing besides Spar Cave. Here are a few tips for the road:

  • Photo stop at the Church of Kilchrist - a ruined church with a cemetery.
  • At Loch Slapin there are great opportunities for camping (watch out for midges).
  • From the pier in Elgol you have the best view of the Cuillins.
  • At the beach of Elgol you will find an extraordinary rock - the Bee Rock. It looks like a huge honeycomb.
  • In Elgol, boat trips start to Loch Coruisk in the heart of the Cuillin Hills. Besides the beautiful landscape you have the chance to observe wildlife: Seabirds, sea eagles, dolphins, giant sharks, minke whales and sometimes even orcas.
  • Do you like hiking? A nice day trip (about 22 km) through the Cuillins is the hike from Elgol or Kilmarie to Sligachan.

Book Recommendations for Scotland

You want to know where the journey goes? Then I recommend the following travel guides, which have proven themselves on my trip:


Do caves also fascinate you so much? Which is your favorite cave? Do you have any questions or suggestions about my article? If so, please write me a comment!

Do you want to know when there are new articles on my blog? Then follow me on Facebook, Pinterest or Instagram. I would also be very happy if you share my article with your friends.


Recommendations for further Reading

Attention cave fans! I would like to show you two very special caves. Both are located in Iceland. The first one is an Ice Cave at the Volcano Katla and the second one is the extinct Volcano Thrihnukagigur, which you can visit from inside.

Katla-Eishöhle in Island – Eingang zu einer Märchenwelt
Katla Ice Cave in Iceland - Entrance to a Fairytale World
Reise zum Mittelpunkt der Erde - Islands Vulkan Thrihnukagigur von Innen
Journey to the Center of the Earth - Iceland's Volcano Thrihnukagigur from inside

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Meereshöhle „Spar Cave“ auf der Isle of Skye

Meereshöhle
Meereshöhle "Spar Cave" auf der Isle of Skye

Schottland. Weiße Kalkstein-Formationen erinnern an vereiste Wasserfälle. Von der Höhlendecke hängen Stalaktiten und ein pechschwarzer See lässt die mystische Atmosphäre noch ein bisschen mystischer werden. Ein Ausflug zu dieser wunderschönen Meereshöhle ist ein kleines Abenteuer und weckt den Entdeckerdrang. Hier erfahrt ihr alles über einen Besuch der Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye.

Unbeauftragte, unbezahlte Werbung.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
Kalksteinformationen am Boden der Höhle

Eine Meereshöhle mit echten Tropfsteinformationen auf eigene Faust entdecken? Ohne abgesteckte Besucherwege und fest installierte künstliche Beleuchtung? Klingt fast zu schön um wahr zu sein. Doch um die Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye zu besuchen, müsst ihr etwas vorausplanen, denn sie ist nur bei Niedrigwasser zugänglich. Aber dazu später mehr.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
Die Wände der Höhle sehen wie ein vereister Wasserfall aus.

Neugierig? Hier kommt ihr direkt in die Höhle!

Taschenlampen nicht vergessen! Am besten eignet sich eine Stirnlampe, da ihr in der Höhle eine steile Sintertreppe klettert. Nehmt auch mindestens noch eine Ersatzlampe mit.

Wo liegt die Meereshöhle Spar Cave?

Die Spar Cave befindet sich in der Nähe des beschaulichen Ortes Elgol, im Südwesten der Isle of Skye. Von Broadfort aus fahrt ihr etwa eine halbe Stunde bis Elgol. Eine Fahrt zum genießen – denn mit der Aussicht auf die Cuillin Hills ist es eine der landschaftlich schönsten Strecken auf Skye.

Von Elgol aus fahrt ihr weitere 5 Minuten bis nach Glasnakille. Euer Auto könnt ihr vor dem Viehgitter kurz vor der T-Kreuzung bei Glasnakille abstellen. Übrigens: es fährt auch ein Bus nach Glasnakille.

Wie kommt man zur Höhle?

Trampelpfad vom Parkplatz bis zum Wasser

Vom Parkplatz aus biegt ihr an der T-Kreuzung nach rechts ab. Hinter einer Ruine von einen Steingebäude gelangt ihr durch ein Tor auf das Feld. Von hier führt ein Trampelpfad hinab zur Küste. Haltet euch rechts und folgt nicht dem Pfad nach links. Ein steiler Abstieg führt euch in eine enge Bucht. Der Boden ist bedeckt mit großen Felsblöcken, die sich aber leicht überklettern lassen.

Hinter der Ruine ist ein Tor im Zaun – hier beginnt der Pfad

Über Felsen die Küste entlang

Sobald der Wasserstand niedrig genug ist, könnt ihr von der Bucht aus über die Felsen nach links klettern. Das kann manchmal etwas rutschig sein, denn die Steine sind stellenweise mit Seetang und Algen bewachsen. Je niedriger der Wasserstand ist, desto einfacher wird es.

Nach dem Abstieg zur Küste beginnt das Klettern

Hinter der Landzunge folgt eine weitere Bucht. Doch erst die zweite Bucht ist der Zugang zur Spar Cave. Diese Schlucht ist etwa 10 Meter breit und 70 Meter lang. Der Eingang zur Höhle liegt ganz am Ende der Schlucht und ist eingerahmt von senkrechten bis zu 20 Meter hohen Felswänden.

Angekommen – die Schlucht der Spar Cave. Der Höhleneingang befindet sich ganz am Ende der Schlucht.

Warten auf das Niedrigwasser – der Zugang zur Spar Cave

Mit trockenen Füßen in die Höhle

Der Zugang zur Höhle ist nur bei Niedrigwasser trockenen Fußes möglich. Ihr habt dafür ein Zeitfenster von etwa 2 Stunden – also eine Stunde vor dem niedrigsten Wasserstand und eine danach. Die Gezeiten könnt ihr hier nachsehen. Das Zeitfenster von 2 Stunden ist absolut ausreichend für einen Besuch der Höhle. Sie ist etwa 100 Meter lag und relativ schnell erkundet. Verlaufen könnt ihr euch in der Höhle nicht, da es keine Abzweigungen gibt.

Der Eingang zur Höhle

Wenn es trotzdem passiert und euch die Flut überrascht, seid ihr nicht in Gefahr oder in der Höhle gefangen. Vor dem Höhleneingang gibt es genug Platz unter freiem Himmel. Ihr müsst jetzt nur etwa 12 Stunden bis zum nächsten Niedrigwasser warten.

Es geht aber auch anders:
(der Wasserstand muss aber schon etwas gesunken sein, damit ihr die ersten beiden Buchten begehen könnt)

Klettern

Seid ihr fit im Klettern? Dann könnt ihr auch schon etwas früher an der Felswand in Richtung Höhle klettern. Die Wand ist senkrecht, hat aber viele Vorsprünge. Ich hab’s probiert, bin aber mit etwas zittrigen Knien wieder umgekehrt. Andere waren mutiger und haben es geschafft.

Unser Hinweg: Das Wasser war noch nicht niedrig genug, daher wird geklettert bzw. durch das Wasser gewatet.

So am Rande: Wir waren an dem Nachmittag nicht die einzigen Höhlenentdecker, die sich zu der Spar Cave von Skye aufgemacht haben. Überlaufen waren die Schlucht und Höhle jedoch keineswegs. Vor dem Eingang an der Kletterstelle und auch sonst war eine richtig nette Atmosphäre. Jeder stand den Anderen mit Tipps und Tricks zur Seite, ohne arrogant oder besserwisserisch zu wirken. Richtig nett!

Waten

Wir waren vor der empfohlenen Zugangs-Zeit unten am Wasser vor der Höhle. Die Neugier war einfach zu groß und wir wollten nicht länger warten. Das Klettern hat nicht geklappt, also Schuhe aus und ab durchs Wasser. Wir konnten barfuß (ich weiß, das sollte man nicht machen) ganz gut auf den Steinen laufen, unsere Trekkingstöcke gaben uns Stabilität. Doch es war eine ziemlich nasse Angelegenheit, das Wasser ging mir an einer Stelle bis zum Knie. Andere Besucher waren besser ausgerüstet und hatten Watschuhe dabei.

Auf dem Rückweg sind wir trockenen Fußes mit leichtem Klettern wieder zurück gekommen. Vielleicht hätten wir für den Hinweg einfach noch ein paar Minuten warten sollen…

Unser Rückweg: Jetzt ist das Wasser niedriger. Wir konnten trockenen Fußes mit ganz leichtem Klettern die Schlucht verlassen.

Schnorcheln

Schnorcheln ist sicherlich die coolste und eleganteste Methode, eine Meereshöhle zu besuchen. Dann seid ihr komplett unabhängig von den Gezeiten und erlebt zudem noch die tolle Unterwasserwelt mit dem üppigen Seetang.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
Ich hab die Schnorchler ein wenig beneidet…

In der Meereshöhle Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye

Es gibt zwei Höhleneingänge. Der rechte Gang endet jedoch bereits nach etwa 20 Metern, der linke ist der Eingang zur Spar Cave. Er ist etwa 100 Meter lang und zwei bis vier Meter breit mit hohen senkrechten Wänden.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
Am Eingang ist der Boden schlammig und die Wände mit grünen Algen bewachsen.

Je weiter ihr in die Höhle vordringt, umso schöner wird sie. Wände und Boden sind nun mit weißen Flowstone-Formationen aus abgelagertem Kalziumkarbonat bedeckt. Schon bald steigt der Höhlenboden an und ihr steht vor einer etwa 10 Meter hohen Sintertreppe. Sie erinnert an einen vereisten Wasserfall und sieht verdammt rutschig aus. Wieder Erwarten bietet sie jedoch guten Halt und kann begangen werden.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
Die Sintertreppe führt bis auf ein kleines Plateau.

Von ihrem obersten Punkt blickt man auf einen kleinen Höhlensee hinab. Pechschwarz liegt er vor uns und ist für uns das Ende der Höhle. Hinter dem See geht der Gang jedoch noch ein Stück weiter bis zu einem zweiten See. Das Wasser ist eiskalt. So berichteten uns zwei Schnorchler, die unerschrocken bis zum Ende der Höhle vorgedrungen sind.

Zwei Schnorchler erkunden die beiden Höhlenseen.

Über dem See, dort wo sie unerreichbar sind, hängen noch einige Stalaktiten. Sie sind wunderschön. Einst soll es noch viel mehr gegeben haben. Aber frühere Höhlenbesucher haben sie als Trophäe mit nach Hause genommen. Nicht nachmachen!!! Respektiert die Natur. Dann können sich noch viele Besucher nach euch an der Schönheit der Höhle und den Jahrhunderte alten Stalaktiten erfreuen.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
Die letzten Stalaktiten der Höhle

Flowstones sind Höhlenformationen aus Mineralablagerungen, die typischerweise in Kalksteinhöhlen – sogenannten Lösungshöhlen – entstehen. Die Formationen bestehen aus schichtförmigen Ablagerungen von Calcit oder anderen Carbonatmineralien. Sie entstehen dort, wo Wasser an den Wänden oder Böden einer Höhle fließt. Stalaktiten sind hingegen Mineralablagerungen, die von der Höhlendecke herabhängen.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
Die nassen Höhlenwände glänzen wie Eis.

zurück zum Anfang

Spar Cave als Baby-Versteck

Auf Gälisch heißt die Spar Cave „Sloched Altrimen“ was soviel wie „Säuglingshöhle“ bedeutet. Der Name hat seinen Ursprung in der Zeit der Clans: Die Tochter eines Clanoberhauptes musste ihr Baby vorübergehend in der Höhle verstecken. Denn es war von dem Sohn eines verfeindeten Clanoberhauptes.

Übrigens: es wurde nicht nur ein Baby in einer Höhle versteckt. Auch Bonnie Prince Charlie versteckte sich in verschiedenen Höhlen auf der Isle of Skye, eine davon liegt ganz in der Nähe der Spar Cave. Auch sie ist nur bei Niedrigwasser zugänglich.

Spar Cave auf der Isle of Skye
Der Boden der Höhle ist mit Kalksteinformationen überzogen, die mich an Hirnkorallen erinnern.

Was gibt es in der Nähe der Spar Cave?

Im Südwesten der Isle of Skye gibt es neben der Spar Cave noch ein paar weitere sehenswerte Ziele. Hier ein paar Tipps für unterwegs:

  • Fotostopp an der Church of Kilchrist – einer Kirchenruine mit Friedhof.
  • Am Loch Slapin gibt es tolle Möglichkeiten zum Campen (Achtung Midges).
  • Von der Mole in Elgol habt ihr die beste Aussicht auf die Cuillins.
  • Am Strand von Elgol findet ihr einen außergewöhnlichen Felsen – den Bee Rock. Er sieht aus wie eine riesige Bienenwabe.
  • In Elgol starten Bootstouren zu dem Loch Coruisk im Herzen der Cuillin-Hügel. Neben der schönen Landschaft habe ihr Chancen auf Wildlife-Beobachtungen: Seevögel, Seeadler, Delphine, Riesenhaie, Minkwale und manchmal sogar Orcas.
  • Wandert ihr gerne? Eine schöne Tagestour (ca. 22 km) durch die Cuillins ist die Wanderung von Elgol oder Kilmarie bis Sligachan.

Faszinieren euch Höhlen auch so sehr? Welches ist eure Lieblingshöhle? Habt ihr noch Fragen oder Anregungen zu meinem Artikel? Wenn ja, dann schreibt mir doch einen Kommentar!

Wollt ihr wissen, wenn es neue Artikel auf meinem Blog gibt? Dann folgt mir doch auf Facebook, Pinterest oder Instagram. Ich freue mich auch riesig, wenn ihr meinen Artikel mit euren Freunden teilt.


Empfehlungen zum Weiterlesen

Höhlenfans aufgepasst! Ich möchte euch zwei ganz besondere Höhlen vorstellen. Beide befinden sich in Island. Die erste ist eine Eishöhle an dem Vulkan Katla und die zweite ist der erloschene Vulkan Thrihnukagigur, den ihr von innen besichtigen könnt. Schaut mal rein.

Katla-Eishöhle in Island – Eingang zu einer Märchenwelt
Katla-Eishöhle in Island – Eingang zu einer Märchenwelt
Reise zum Mittelpunkt der Erde - Islands Vulkan Thrihnukagigur von Innen
Reise zum Mittelpunkt der Erde – Islands Vulkan Thrihnukagigur von Innen

HINTERLASSEN SIE EINE ANTWORT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here